Monday, March 17, 2008

Foam Cups not to be used?

DART CONTAINER CORPORATION

Dart Container Corporation is using pork/beef fat Zink Stearate as a lubricant on the molds to make their foam cups. Please avoid Dart Container Corporation's Styrofoam cups.


Contact Information for Dart Container Corportaion:

United States
Ph: 800-248-5960
Fax: 517-676-3883

Canada
Ph: 800-527-3004
Fax: 517-676-3883

List Of Dart Container Manufactured Product UPC Codes

Dart Container "Contact us" page

(Please comment if you have any updates regarding this issue)

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

3 comments:

Steve said...

This is unfortunate. There is at least one global supplier, Baerlocher, of zinc stearate wherein the stearic acid is derived from Palm Oil...and the zinc stearate can be Halal certified. If only DART would consider the options.

Syed said...

Salaam. Please see the below entry from Fatwa Center of America for an alternate view of a Mufti along with the basis of his reasoning.

Was-salaam.

==================================

Are Dart cups and plates halaal? Answered By: Mufti Ikram ul Haq - Fatwa Center of America

Question:
Asalamu alaikum mufti sahib Dart company uses zinc stearate in their products which is derived from animal fat . However, according to them it is denatured in the process of making plates etc. Can you verify if it is permissible to use their products? Their statement on the issue is here: http://www.dart.biz/web/environ.nsf/pages/enff04.html Jazakallahu khair

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

الجواب حامداومصليا

During the manufacturing process the original ingredient goes through an extensive chemical change and after the process is complete it becomes a new thing. Therefore, it will not retain the same ruling as before.

The zinc used in manufacturing of cups and plates by Dart company does not remain Najis after such chemical process. Hence it is permissible to use such products as they are considered pure.

This is known as "Istihala" in terms of Fiqh when something totally changes from one nature to another. For example the Fuqaha have mentioned that if a donkey died in a salt mine and after some time the body of donkey decomposed and turned into salt as well then it will be permissible to make use of such salt and the fact that it was the body of a donkey sometime will be ineffective.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Ikram ul Haq

Fatwa Center of America

19 Sha'ban 1432/ July 21 2011

==================================

From: http://www.askamufti.com/Answers/ViewQuestion.aspx?QuestionId=1882&CategoryId=32&CategoryName=Food%20and%20Nourishment%20%28%D8%A7%D8%AD%D9%83%D8%A7%D9%85%20%D8%A7%D9%84%D8%B7%D8%B9%D8%A7%D9%85%29

Halal Gelatin said...

Gelatin is a natural protein that is derived from the partial hydrolysis of collagen, which exists in the skin and bones of animals. Gelatin is intended for human consumption and mainly used as a gelling agent, a clarifying agent (drink), binding agent for light sensitive silver halides and a thickening agent as well. Commercially available Gelatin is a natural foodstuff and chemically, Gelatin is a pure protein.

Halal Gelatin

Post a Comment