Monday, February 25, 2008

Possible Ciggarete Ingredients (Full article)

The list of 599 additives approved by the US Government for use in the manufacture of cigarettes is something every smoker should see. Submitted by the five major American cigarette companies to the Dept. of Health and Human Services in April of 1994, this list of ingredients had long been kept a secret.

Tobacco companies reporting this information were:
  • American Tobacco Company
  • Brown and Williamson
  • Liggett Group, Inc.
  • Philip Morris Inc.
  • R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

While these ingredients are approved as additives for foods, they were not tested by burning them, and it is the burning of many of these substances which changes their properties, often for the worse. Over 4000 chemical compounds are created by burning a cigarette, many of which are toxic and/or carcinogenic. Carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, hydrogen cyanide and ammonia are all present in cigarette smoke. Forty-three known carcinogens are in mainstream smoke, sidestream smoke, or both.

It's chilling to think about not only how smokers poison themselves, but what others are exposed to by breathing in the secondhand smoke. The next time you're missing your old buddy, the cigarette, take a good long look at this list and see them for what they are: a delivery system for toxic chemicals and carcinogens.

Cigarettes offer people only a multitude of smoking-related diseases and ultimately death.
  1. Acetanisole
  2. Acetic Acid
  3. Acetoin
  4. Acetophenone
  5. 6-Acetoxydihydrotheaspirane
  6. 2-Acetyl-3- Ethylpyrazine
  7. 2-Acetyl-5-Methylfuran
  8. Acetylpyrazine
  9. 2-Acetylpyridine
  10. 3-Acetylpyridine
  11. 2-Acetylthiazole
  12. Aconitic Acid
  13. dl-Alanine
  14. Alfalfa Extract
  15. Allspice Extract,Oleoresin, and Oil
  16. Allyl Hexanoate
  17. Allyl Ionone
  18. Almond Bitter Oil
  19. Ambergris Tincture
  20. Ammonia
  21. Ammonium Bicarbonate
  22. Ammonium Hydroxide
  23. Ammonium Phosphate Dibasic
  24. Ammonium Sulfide
  25. Amyl Alcohol
  26. Amyl Butyrate
  27. Amyl Formate
  28. Amyl Octanoate
  29. alpha-Amylcinnamaldehyde
  30. Amyris Oil
  31. trans-Anethole
  32. Angelica Root Extract, Oil and Seed Oil
  33. Anise
  34. Anise Star, Extract and Oils
  35. Anisyl Acetate
  36. Anisyl Alcohol
  37. Anisyl Formate
  38. Anisyl Phenylacetate
  39. Apple Juice Concentrate, Extract, and Skins
  40. Apricot Extract and Juice Concentrate
  41. 1-Arginine
  42. Asafetida Fluid Extract And Oil
  43. Ascorbic Acid
  44. 1-Asparagine Monohydrate
  45. 1-Aspartic Acid
  46. Balsam Peru and Oil
  47. Basil Oil
  48. Bay Leaf, Oil and Sweet Oil
  49. Beeswax White
  50. Beet Juice Concentrate
  51. Benzaldehyde
  52. Benzaldehyde Glyceryl Acetal
  53. Benzoic Acid, Benzoin
  54. Benzoin Resin
  55. Benzophenone
  56. Benzyl Alcohol
  57. Benzyl Benzoate
  58. Benzyl Butyrate
  59. Benzyl Cinnamate
  60. Benzyl Propionate
  61. Benzyl Salicylate
  62. Bergamot Oil
  63. Bisabolene
  64. Black Currant Buds Absolute
  65. Borneol
  66. Bornyl Acetate
  67. Buchu Leaf Oil
  68. 1,3-Butanediol
  69. 2,3-Butanedione
  70. 1-Butanol
  71. 2-Butanone
  72. 4(2-Butenylidene)-3,5,5-Trimethyl-2-Cyclohexen-1-One
  73. Butter, Butter Esters, and Butter Oil
  74. Butyl Acetate
  75. Butyl Butyrate
  76. Butyl Butyryl Lactate
  77. Butyl Isovalerate
  78. Butyl Phenylacetate
  79. Butyl Undecylenate
  80. 3-Butylidenephthalide
  81. Butyric Acid]
  82. Cadinene
  83. Caffeine
  84. Calcium Carbonate
  85. Camphene
  86. Cananga Oil
  87. Capsicum Oleoresin
  88. Caramel Color
  89. Caraway Oil
  90. Carbon Dioxide
  91. Cardamom Oleoresin, Extract, Seed Oil, and Powder
  92. Carob Bean and Extract
  93. beta-Carotene
  94. Carrot Oil
  95. Carvacrol
  96. 4-Carvomenthenol
  97. 1-Carvone
  98. beta-Caryophyllene
  99. beta-Caryophyllene Oxide
  100. Cascarilla Oil and Bark Extract
  101. Cassia Bark Oil
  102. Cassie Absolute and Oil
  103. Castoreum Extract, Tincture and Absolute
  104. Cedar Leaf Oil
  105. Cedarwood Oil Terpenes and Virginiana
  106. Cedrol
  107. Celery Seed Extract, Solid, Oil, And Oleoresin
  108. Cellulose Fiber
  109. Chamomile Flower Oil And Extract
  110. Chicory Extract
  111. Chocolate
  112. Cinnamaldehyde
  113. Cinnamic Acid
  114. Cinnamon Leaf Oil, Bark Oil, and Extract
  115. Cinnamyl Acetate
  116. Cinnamyl Alcohol
  117. Cinnamyl Cinnamate
  118. Cinnamyl Isovalerate
  119. Cinnamyl Propionate
  120. Citral
  121. Citric Acid
  122. Citronella Oil
  123. dl-Citronellol
  124. Citronellyl Butyrate
  125. itronellyl Isobutyrate
  126. Civet Absolute
  127. Clary Oil
  128. Clover Tops, Red Solid Extract
  129. Cocoa
  130. Cocoa Shells, Extract, Distillate And Powder
  131. Coconut Oil
  132. Coffee
  133. Cognac White and Green Oil
  134. Copaiba Oil
  135. Coriander Extract and Oil
  136. Corn Oil
  137. Corn Silk
  138. Costus Root Oil
  139. Cubeb Oil
  140. Cuminaldehyde
  141. para-Cymene
  142. 1-Cysteine
  143. Dandelion Root Solid Extract
  144. Davana Oil
  145. 2-trans, 4-trans-Decadienal
  146. delta-Decalactone
  147. gamma-Decalactone
  148. Decanal
  149. Decanoic Acid
  150. 1-Decanol
  151. 2-Decenal
  152. Dehydromenthofurolactone
  153. Diethyl Malonate
  154. Diethyl Sebacate
  155. 2,3-Diethylpyrazine
  156. Dihydro Anethole
  157. 5,7-Dihydro-2-Methylthieno(3,4-D) Pyrimidine
  158. Dill Seed Oil and Extract
  159. meta-Dimethoxybenzene
  160. para-Dimethoxybenzene
  161. 2,6-Dimethoxyphenol
  162. Dimethyl Succinate
  163. 3,4-Dimethyl-1,2 Cyclopentanedione
  164. 3,5- Dimethyl-1,2-Cyclopentanedione
  165. 3,7-Dimethyl-1,3,6-Octatriene
  166. 4,5-Dimethyl-3-Hydroxy-2,5-Dihydrofuran-2-One
  167. 6,10-Dimethyl-5,9-Undecadien-2-One
  168. 3,7-Dimethyl-6-Octenoic Acid
  169. 2,4 Dimethylacetophenone
  170. alpha,para-Dimethylbenzyl Alcohol
  171. alpha,alpha-Dimethylphenethyl Acetate
  172. alpha,alpha Dimethylphenethyl Butyrate
  173. 2,3-Dimethylpyrazine
  174. 2,5-Dimethylpyrazine
  175. 2,6-Dimethylpyrazine
  176. Dimethyltetrahydrobenzofuranone
  177. delta-Dodecalactone
  178. gamma-Dodecalactone
  179. para-Ethoxybenzaldehyde
  180. Ethyl 10-Undecenoate
  181. Ethyl 2-Methylbutyrate
  182. Ethyl Acetate
  183. Ethyl Acetoacetate
  184. Ethyl Alcohol
  185. Ethyl Benzoate
  186. Ethyl Butyrate
  187. Ethyl Cinnamate
  188. Ethyl Decanoate
  189. Ethyl Fenchol
  190. Ethyl Furoate
  191. Ethyl Heptanoate
  192. Ethyl Hexanoate
  193. Ethyl Isovalerate
  194. Ethyl Lactate
  195. Ethyl Laurate
  196. Ethyl Levulinate
  197. Ethyl Maltol
  198. Ethyl Methyl Phenylglycidate
  199. Ethyl Myristate
  200. Ethyl Nonanoate
  201. Ethyl Octadecanoate
  202. Ethyl Octanoate
  203. Ethyl Oleate
  204. Ethyl Palmitate
  205. Ethyl Phenylacetate
  206. Ethyl Propionate
  207. Ethyl Salicylate
  208. Ethyl trans-2-Butenoate
  209. Ethyl Valerate
  210. Ethyl Vanillin
  211. 2-Ethyl (or Methyl)-(3,5 and 6)-Methoxypyrazine
  212. 2-Ethyl-1-Hexanol, 3-Ethyl -2 -Hydroxy-2-Cyclopenten-1-One
  213. 2-Ethyl-3, (5 or 6)-Dimethylpyrazine
  214. 5-Ethyl-3-Hydroxy-4-Methyl-2(5H)-Furanone
  215. 2-Ethyl-3-Methylpyrazine
  216. 4-Ethylbenzaldehyde
  217. 4-Ethylguaiacol
  218. para-Ethylphenol
  219. 3-Ethylpyridine
  220. Eucalyptol
  221. Farnesol
  222. D-Fenchone
  223. Fennel Sweet Oil
  224. Fenugreek, Extract, Resin, and Absolute
  225. Fig Juice Concentrate
  226. Food Starch Modified
  227. Furfuryl Mercaptan
  228. 4-(2-Furyl)-3-Buten-2-One
  229. Galbanum Oil
  230. Genet Absolute
  231. Gentian Root Extract
  232. Geraniol
  233. Geranium Rose Oil
  234. Geranyl Acetate
  235. Geranyl Butyrate
  236. Geranyl Formate
  237. Geranyl Isovalerate
  238. Geranyl Phenylacetate
  239. Ginger Oil and Oleoresin
  240. 1-Glutamic Acid
  241. 1-Glutamine
  242. Glycerol
  243. Glycyrrhizin Ammoniated
  244. Grape Juice Concentrate
  245. Guaiac Wood Oil
  246. Guaiacol
  247. Guar Gum
  248. 2,4-Heptadienal
  249. gamma-Heptalactone
  250. Heptanoic Acid
  251. 2-Heptanone
  252. 3-Hepten-2-One
  253. 2-Hepten-4-One
  254. 4-Heptenal
  255. trans -2-Heptenal
  256. Heptyl Acetate
  257. omega-6-Hexadecenlactone
  258. gamma-Hexalactone
  259. Hexanal
  260. Hexanoic Acid
  261. 2-Hexen-1-Ol
  262. 3-Hexen-1-Ol
  263. cis-3-Hexen-1-Yl Acetate
  264. 2-Hexenal
  265. 3-Hexenoic Acid
  266. trans-2-Hexenoic Acid
  267. cis-3-Hexenyl Formate
  268. Hexyl 2-Methylbutyrate
  269. Hexyl Acetate
  270. Hexyl Alcohol
  271. Hexyl Phenylacetate
  272. 1-Histidine
  273. Honey
  274. Hops Oil
  275. Hydrolyzed Milk Solids
  276. Hydrolyzed Plant Proteins
  277. 5-Hydroxy-2,4-Decadienoic Acid delta- Lactone
  278. 4-Hydroxy-2,5-Dimethyl-3(2H)-Furanone
  279. 2-Hydroxy-3,5,5-Trimethyl-2-Cyclohexen-1-One
  280. 4-Hydroxy -3-Pentenoic Acid Lactone
  281. 2-Hydroxy-4-Methylbenzaldehyde
  282. 4-Hydroxybutanoic Acid Lactone
  283. Hydroxycitronellal
  284. 6-Hydroxydihydrotheaspirane
  285. 4-(para-Hydroxyphenyl)-2-Butanone
  286. Hyssop Oil
  287. Immortelle Absolute and Extract
  288. alpha-Ionone
  289. beta-Ionone
  290. alpha-Irone
  291. Isoamyl Acetate
  292. Isoamyl Benzoate
  293. Isoamyl Butyrate
  294. Isoamyl Cinnamate
  295. Isoamyl Formate, Isoamyl Hexanoate
  296. Isoamyl Isovalerate
  297. Isoamyl Octanoate
  298. Isoamyl Phenylacetate
  299. Isobornyl Acetate
  300. Isobutyl Acetate
  301. Isobutyl Alcohol
  302. Isobutyl Cinnamate
  303. Isobutyl Phenylacetate
  304. Isobutyl Salicylate
  305. 2-Isobutyl-3-Methoxypyrazine
  306. alpha-Isobutylphenethyl Alcohol
  307. Isobutyraldehyde
  308. Isobutyric Acid
  309. d,l-Isoleucine
  310. alpha-Isomethylionone
  311. 2-Isopropylphenol
  312. Isovaleric Acid
  313. Jasmine Absolute, Concrete and Oil
  314. Kola Nut Extract
  315. Labdanum Absolute and Oleoresin
  316. Lactic Acid
  317. Lauric Acid
  318. Lauric Aldehyde
  319. Lavandin Oil
  320. Lavender Oil
  321. Lemon Oil and Extract
  322. Lemongrass Oil
  323. 1-Leucine
  324. Levulinic Acid
  325. Licorice Root, Fluid, Extract and Powder
  326. Lime Oil
  327. Linalool
  328. Linalool Oxide
  329. Linalyl Acetate
  330. Linden Flowers
  331. Lovage Oil And Extract
  332. 1-Lysine]
  333. Mace Powder, Extract and Oil
  334. Magnesium Carbonate
  335. Malic Acid
  336. Malt and Malt Extract
  337. Maltodextrin
  338. Maltol
  339. Maltyl Isobutyrate
  340. Mandarin Oil
  341. Maple Syrup and Concentrate
  342. Mate Leaf, Absolute and Oil
  343. para-Mentha-8-Thiol-3-One
  344. Menthol
  345. Menthone
  346. Menthyl Acetate
  347. dl-Methionine
  348. Methoprene
  349. 2-Methoxy-4-Methylphenol
  350. 2-Methoxy-4-Vinylphenol
  351. para-Methoxybenzaldehyde
  352. 1-(para-Methoxyphenyl)-1-Penten-3-One
  353. 4-(para-Methoxyphenyl)-2-Butanone
  354. 1-(para-Methoxyphenyl)-2-Propanone
  355. Methoxypyrazine
  356. Methyl 2-Furoate
  357. Methyl 2-Octynoate
  358. Methyl 2-Pyrrolyl Ketone
  359. Methyl Anisate
  360. Methyl Anthranilate
  361. Methyl Benzoate
  362. Methyl Cinnamate
  363. Methyl Dihydrojasmonate
  364. Methyl Ester of Rosin, Partially Hydrogenated
  365. Methyl Isovalerate
  366. Methyl Linoleate (48%)
  367. Methyl Linolenate (52%) Mixture
  368. Methyl Naphthyl Ketone
  369. Methyl Nicotinate
  370. Methyl Phenylacetate
  371. Methyl Salicylate
  372. Methyl Sulfide
  373. 3-Methyl-1-Cyclopentadecanone
  374. 4-Methyl-1-Phenyl-2-Pentanone
  375. 5-Methyl-2-Phenyl-2-Hexenal
  376. 5-Methyl-2-Thiophenecarboxaldehyde
  377. 6-Methyl-3,-5-Heptadien-2-One
  378. 2-Methyl-3-(para-Isopropylphenyl) Propionaldehyde
  379. 5-Methyl-3-Hexen-2-One
  380. 1-Methyl-3Methoxy-4-Isopropylbenzene
  381. 4-Methyl-3-Pentene-2-One
  382. 2-Methyl-4-Phenylbutyraldehyde
  383. 6-Methyl-5-Hepten-2-One
  384. 4-Methyl-5-Thiazoleethanol
  385. 4-Methyl-5-Vinylthiazole
  386. Methyl-alpha-Ionone
  387. Methyl-trans-2-Butenoic Acid
  388. 4-Methylacetophenone
  389. para-Methylanisole
  390. alpha-Methylbenzyl Acetate
  391. alpha-Methylbenzyl Alcohol
  392. 2-Methylbutyraldehyde
  393. 3-Methylbutyraldehyde
  394. 2-Methylbutyric Acid
  395. alpha-Methylcinnamaldehyde
  396. Methylcyclopentenolone
  397. 2-Methylheptanoic Acid
  398. 2-Methylhexanoic Acid
  399. 3-Methylpentanoic Acid
  400. 4-Methylpentanoic Acid
  401. 2-Methylpyrazine
  402. 5-Methylquinoxaline
  403. 2-Methyltetrahydrofuran-3-One
  404. (Methylthio)Methylpyrazine (Mixture Of Isomers)
  405. 3-Methylthiopropionaldehyde
  406. Methyl 3-Methylthiopropionate
  407. 2-Methylvaleric Acid
  408. Mimosa Absolute and Extract
  409. Molasses Extract and Tincture
  410. Mountain Maple Solid Extract
  411. Mullein Flowers
  412. Myristaldehyde
  413. Myristic Acid
  414. Myrrh Oil
  415. beta-Napthyl Ethyl Ether
  416. Nerol
  417. Neroli Bigarde Oil
  418. Nerolidol
  419. Nona-2-trans,6-cis-Dienal
  420. 2,6-Nonadien-1-Ol
  421. gamma-Nonalactone
  422. Nonanal
  423. Nonanoic Acid
  424. Nonanone
  425. trans-2-Nonen-1-Ol
  426. 2-Nonenal
  427. Nonyl Acetate
  428. Nutmeg Powder and Oil
  429. Oak Chips Extract and Oil
  430. Oak Moss Absolute
  431. 9,12-Octadecadienoic Acid (48%) And 9,12,15-Octadecatrienoic Acid (52%)
  432. delta-Octalactone
  433. gamma-Octalactone
  434. Octanal
  435. Octanoic Acid
  436. 1-Octanol
  437. 2-Octanone
  438. 3-Octen-2-One
  439. 1-Octen-3-Ol
  440. 1-Octen-3-Yl Acetate
  441. 2-Octenal
  442. Octyl Isobutyrate
  443. Oleic Acid
  444. Olibanum Oil
  445. Opoponax Oil And Gum
  446. Orange Blossoms Water, Absolute, and Leaf Absolute
  447. Orange Oil and Extract
  448. Origanum Oil
  449. Orris Concrete Oil and Root Extract
  450. Palmarosa Oil
  451. Palmitic Acid
  452. Parsley Seed Oil
  453. Patchouli Oil
  454. omega-Pentadecalactone
  455. 2,3-Pentanedione
  456. 2-Pentanone
  457. 4-Pentenoic Acid
  458. 2-Pentylpyridine
  459. Pepper Oil, Black And White
  460. Peppermint Oil
  461. Peruvian (Bois De Rose) Oil
  462. Petitgrain Absolute, Mandarin Oil and Terpeneless Oil
  463. alpha-Phellandrene
  464. 2-Phenenthyl Acetate
  465. Phenenthyl Alcohol
  466. Phenethyl Butyrate
  467. Phenethyl Cinnamate
  468. Phenethyl Isobutyrate
  469. Phenethyl Isovalerate
  470. Phenethyl Phenylacetate
  471. Phenethyl Salicylate
  472. 1-Phenyl-1-Propanol
  473. 3-Phenyl-1-Propanol
  474. 2-Phenyl-2-Butenal
  475. 4-Phenyl-3-Buten-2-Ol
  476. 4-Phenyl-3-Buten-2-One
  477. Phenylacetaldehyde
  478. Phenylacetic Acid
  479. 1-Phenylalanine
  480. 3-Phenylpropionaldehyde
  481. 3-Phenylpropionic Acid
  482. 3-Phenylpropyl Acetate
  483. 3-Phenylpropyl Cinnamate
  484. 2-(3-Phenylpropyl)Tetrahydrofuran
  485. Phosphoric Acid
  486. Pimenta Leaf Oil
  487. Pine Needle Oil, Pine Oil, Scotch
  488. Pineapple Juice Concentrate
  489. alpha-Pinene, beta-Pinene
  490. D-Piperitone
  491. Piperonal
  492. Pipsissewa Leaf Extract
  493. Plum Juice
  494. Potassium Sorbate
  495. 1-Proline
  496. Propenylguaethol
  497. Propionic Acid
  498. Propyl Acetate
  499. Propyl para-Hydroxybenzoate
  500. Propylene Glycol
  501. 3-Propylidenephthalide
  502. Prune Juice and Concentrate
  503. Pyridine
  504. Pyroligneous Acid And Extract
  505. Pyrrole
  506. Pyruvic Acid
  507. Raisin Juice Concentrate
  508. Rhodinol
  509. Rose Absolute and Oil
  510. Rosemary Oil
  511. Rum
  512. Rum Ether
  513. Rye Extract
  514. Sage, Sage Oil, and Sage Oleoresin
  515. Salicylaldehyde
  516. Sandalwood Oil, Yellow
  517. Sclareolide
  518. Skatole
  519. Smoke Flavor
  520. Snakeroot Oil
  521. Sodium Acetate
  522. Sodium Benzoate
  523. Sodium Bicarbonate
  524. Sodium Carbonate
  525. Sodium Chloride
  526. Sodium Citrate
  527. Sodium Hydroxide
  528. Solanone
  529. Spearmint Oil
  530. Styrax Extract, Gum and Oil
  531. Sucrose Octaacetate
  532. Sugar Alcohols
  533. Sugars
  534. Tagetes Oil
  535. Tannic Acid
  536. Tartaric Acid
  537. Tea Leaf and Absolute
  538. alpha-Terpineol
  539. Terpinolene
  540. Terpinyl Acetate
  541. 5,6,7,8-Tetrahydroquinoxaline
  542. 1,5,5,9-Tetramethyl-13-Oxatricyclo(,9))Tridecane
  543. 2,3,4,5, and 3,4,5,6-Tetramethylethyl-Cyclohexanone
  544. 2,3,5,6-Tetramethylpyrazine
  545. Thiamine Hydrochloride
  546. Thiazole
  547. 1-Threonine
  548. Thyme Oil, White and Red
  549. Thymol
  550. Tobacco Extracts
  551. Tochopherols (mixed)
  552. Tolu Balsam Gum and Extract
  553. Tolualdehydes
  554. para-Tolyl 3-Methylbutyrate
  555. para-Tolyl Acetaldehyde
  556. para-Tolyl Acetate
  557. para-Tolyl Isobutyrate
  558. para-Tolyl Phenylacetate
  559. Triacetin
  560. 2-Tridecanone
  561. 2-Tridecenal
  562. Triethyl Citrate
  563. 3,5,5-Trimethyl -1-Hexanol
  564. para,alpha,alpha-Trimethylbenzyl Alcohol
  565. 4-(2,6,6-Trimethylcyclohex-1-Enyl)But-2-En-4-One
  566. 2,6,6-Trimethylcyclohex-2-Ene-1,4-Dione
  567. 2,6,6-Trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-Dienyl Methan
  568. 4-(2,6,6-Trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-Dienyl)But-2-En-4-One
  569. 2,2,6-Trimethylcyclohexanone
  570. 2,3,5-Trimethylpyrazine
  571. 1-Tyrosine
  572. delta-Undercalactone
  573. gamma-Undecalactone
  574. Undecanal
  575. 2-Undecanone, 1
  576. 0-Undecenal
  577. Urea
  578. Valencene
  579. Valeraldehyde
  580. Valerian Root Extract, Oil and Powder
  581. Valeric Acid
  582. gamma-Valerolactone
  583. Valine
  584. Vanilla Extract And Oleoresin
  585. Vanillin
  586. Veratraldehyde
  587. Vetiver Oil
  588. Vinegar
  589. Violet Leaf Absolute
  590. Walnut Hull Extract
  591. Water
  592. Wheat Extract And Flour
  593. Wild Cherry Bark Extract
  594. Wine and Wine Sherry
  595. Xanthan Gum
  596. 3,4-Xylenol
  597. Yeast

Source of information

Saturday, February 23, 2008

Blog Listed on blogcatalog

This blog is listed on
be sure to check it out...

Animal Feed

Animal feed in USA is regulated by FDA?s Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM)

A feed ingredient is a component part or constituent or any combination/mixture added to and comprising of the feed. Feed ingredients might include grains, milling byproducts, added vitamins, minerals, fats/oils, and other nutritional and energy sources. Animal feeds provide a practical outlet for plant and animal byproducts not suitable for human consumption.

We are putting lot of emphasis on animal feed because of its Halal status and USDA has identified the first BSE case in a Washington state dairy cow in December 2003.

Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE) is common name for mad cow disease. Although the main cause of disease is not known but it is due to the infectious form of protein, prions found in BSE infected cows. It is a fetal disease affecting the nervous system of adult cows. This disease could be transfer to other cows if the animal feed is made from the infected part of the animals. Since 1997, FDA has banned the use of animal brain and spinal cord material in animal feed giving to cattle, sheep and goats. FDA is considering this ban to chicken feed and is outlawing the use of cattle blood in livestock feed, use of cow brain, other part in dietary supplements. It is now considering new restrictions of downer cattle or mechanically separated beef in canned soups and frozen pizza.

Among FDA's actions are new rules for cattle feed that:

  • Prohibit mammalian blood and blood products from being fed to cattle or other ruminant animals.
  • Ban chicken waste from livestock feed.
  • Ban the use of uneaten meat and other scraps from large restaurants from being recycled into cattle feed.
  • Require factories that make both livestock feed and feed for other animals that use bovine ingredients to have separate production lines to guard against accidental contamination.

Cattle and Sheep Feed composition:

  • The feed for cattle & sheep varies in composition. Fresh feeds are the feeds that are grazed or fed as fresh cut.

A typical animal feed is made of the following:

Feed names:

  • Dry matter,

  • Crude Protein

  • Crude, Acid Detergent and Neutral Detergent Fibers

  • Minerals

  • Vitamins

  • Energy

A typical composition of feeds for cattle and sheep obtained from the following materials:

Alfalfa, Ammonium sulfate, Barley, Been, Blood meal, Beet, Bone meal, Brewer Grain both wet & dry, Brewer yeast dried (byproduct of beer making), Broom Grass, Carrot, Cattle Manure dried, Clover, Coffee dried, Corn, Defluorinated phosphate, Dicalcium phosphate, Distiller Grains, Fat from Poultry, Fathered Meal Hydrolyzed, Garbage Municipal cooked, Grains, Grape, Hominy feed, Hop leaves, Hops spent, Limestone Ground, Meat Meal, Minerals, Molasses, Oats, Peanuts, Potato, Poultry Litter dried, Poultry Manure dried, Rape meal, Rye, Safflower, Sorghum, Soybean, Sunflower Meal, Timothy Hay, Triticale, Urea 46%N, Different wheat products and different types of Hays.

Poultry Feed:

Poultry feeds are designed to contain all protein, Energy, Vitamins and other nutrients. Poultry feed is also available with several type of medications to prevent diseases. A typical poultry feed consists of following ingredients:

  • Ground Yellow Corn
  • Wheat middling
  • Soy (44% CP)
  • Corn Gluten Meal
  • Barley
  • Oats
  • Wheat
  • Meat & Bone (50% CP)
  • Alfalfa meal (dehydrated)
  • Fat

There are a lot of different labels applied to beef these days, so let's go through what they mean under rules set by the US Department of Agriculture.

  • Organic: The organic label does apply to beef and has the backing of a legal standard and a certification system. In the case of beef, organic means that the animal (1) has undergone no genetic modification; (2) was fed grain that was not genetically modified and was free of chemical pesticides, fertilizers, animal byproducts and other adulterants; (3) was not treated with antibiotics, growth hormones, or chemical pesticides. Animals raised for organic meat must also have access to the outdoors, though that doesn't necessarily mean that they spend the majority of their time roaming the open grasslands.
  • Free Range: This label is still mostly ungoverned by a legal standard and shouldn't be relied on to determine whether the cow actually spent most of its time on the open plains eating grass or that it ate any particular type of feed. "Free Range" is sometimes also called "free roaming."
  • Natural This is another mostly meaningless term. As the USDA puts it: "All fresh meat qualifies as natural." Meat labeled "natural" (1) cannot contain any artificial flavor or flavoring, coloring ingredient, chemical preservative, or any other artificial or synthetic ingredient; and (2) can only be minimally processed (ground, for example). The USDA requires that meat packages labeled "natural" also include a statement clarifying the use of the term (such as "no added coloring"). In any event, animal byproducts are not specifically prohibited in the feed of cows raised for "natural" beef (though some beef labeled natural may indeed be free of animal byproducts).
  • Grass Fed: You'd think that any package of beef labeled "Grass Fed" would mean that the cow ate only grass. But given that all cows eat grass at least in the early stages of their lives, shady dealers could legally apply the "Grass Fed" label to beef from normal feed-lot cattle. This makes it necessary for you to ensure the label says "100% Grass Fed," "Grass Fed Only" or something similar that does not leave any loopholes. Beef raised only on grass may be slightly less tender than "normal" beef, but it has less overall fat, less saturated fat, higher vitamin A content, and more of the omega-3 fatty acids that help maintain healthy cells in your body. Beef that is 100% grass-fed may or may not be organic?all requirements under the organic standard would still have to be met for "100% grass fed" beef to be labeled organic.

  • No Antibiotics/No Hormones ? Beef with either of these labels must be from a cow that was raised without the use of antibiotics or synthetic hormones over its entire lifetime. While both of these characteristics are desirable in your package of beef, neither has any bearing on BSE.

  • No Animal Byproducts ? The regulations behind this label are not as strong as for the organic standard, but it's reasonable to assume that the label means what it says, that no animal byproducts were used in the feed of the cow(s).

  • Irradiation ? Meat that has been irradiated to reduce bacteria levels must be labeled "Treated by Irradiation" or "Treated with Radiation." However, the irradiation levels used on beef do not deactivate the BSE disease agent.

  • Prime, Choice, and Select ? These USDA grades are a subjective measure of quality and imply nothing about how the cow was raised or whether it's free of BSE (Grinning Planet).

Halal animal Feed:

The first step in the Halal animal feed is that the cattle, goats, sheep and poultry were not treated with growth hormones. The animals and poultry have been feed only vegetarian feed, organic feed (if it is made with plant based ingredients) and Amish feed (if it is made with plant derived ingredients).

Although certified organic feeds consist of no animal derived ingredients but some organic feeds are made of fish meal and crab meal. Crab meal is not acceptable to Hanafi Muslims because it is not as fish.

The problem with Amish feed is there is no regulation and no supervision of the Amish feeds but the main thing is that it should be made with vegetable based ingredients.

Looking at the above composition of cattle, sheep and poultry feeds, Muslims in the Zabiha meat and the Halal certification business should pay more attention to animal feeds



It is necessary to familiarize the chemistry of wine making before discussing the chemistry of wine vinegar. Wine making started about 3000-4000 B.C and is mostly made from fermented grapes, but wine is also made from other fruits, and grain such as rice. Influence of raw material in wine making is very important because it needs high sugar content of 10-24% and low acidity of 0.5 to 1.5% as Tartaric acid. Higher acidity inhibits the yeast fermentation. Alcoholic fermentation occurs through enzymes produced by yeast Saccharomyces cerevisia on the sugar of the Must (Must refers to crushed grapes including juice, seeds and skin) and this alcoholic fermentation ( proceeds with 20 enzyme protein, 3 to 8 organic cofactors and several inorganic cofactors) results in:

Ethyl Alcohol, Carbon Dioxide, Polyphenols, Organic Flavor compounds, Odors compounds

The yeast fermentation is followed by lactic acid fermentation of malic acid, present in grape. This is called Malolactic fermentation in which malic acid is converted by lactic acid bacteria into:
Lactic Acid, Carbon Dioxide

The lactic acid bacteria also change the fruit flavor of wine and add some flavor compound from their metabolism. But majority of wine flavor comes from alcoholic fermentation and wine flavor is continued to change during storage.

A typical wine consists of:
Water, Ethyl Alcohol, Tannins Acids, Polyphenols, Flavor compounds and color if from red grapes

Polyphenols contribute the bitter taste of the wine and astringent mouth feel of wine, characteristic aromas are related to wine maturation. Wine is the raw material for wine vinegar.

Presently Vinegar is produced from a wide variety of substances but the basic requirement is that, those substances should have sufficient amount of alcohol and a satisfactory level of flavoring. The conversion of alcohol to acetic acid by acetobacter bacteria is as follows:

The acetobacter bacteria act only on alcohol content of wine, not on other components of wine according to literature. Organic chemistry of wine vinegar and other literature indicate that the coloring and flavoring of wine vinegar are the characteristic of the wine from which the particular wine vinegar is made. From this we can derive the following equation for wine vinegar:

So the Acetobacter bacteria do not act on wine flavors and wine colors during the production of wine vinegar. The same flavors and colors are present in wine vinegar and they are not subjected to any chemical reactions during the process. So chemically they remain the same in wine vinegar. There is no research or literature found to suggest that the wine flavors and wine color are subject to Tabdeele Mahaya (chemical change to new products) in wine vinegar production.

It means some part of Haram wine is present in wine vinegar. Besides the above, the processing of wine to wine vinegar is not 100%. Some minute amount of wine is also left over in wine vinegar. According to a Hadith small portion of intoxicant is also Haram as large portion. Wine vinegar is not Halal according to Imam Shafi but it is considered clean according Imam Abu Hanifa (according to Sahee Muslim). According to Anus Bin Malik RA, Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum did not give permission to make vinegar from wine (Hadith from Sahee Muslim).

We recommend Muslim consumers to avoid using any wine vinegar based on the above Hadith and scientific facts.

Wine (Ethyl Alcohol + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors + Oxygen) --- > Acetic Acid + Water + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors
2 CH3CH2OH + 2 O2 --- > 2 CH3COOH + 2 H2O
Alcohol + Oxygen ----> Acetic Acid + Water

tylenol Haram? (updated formatting)

Subject tylenol
Name saba
Feedback Date 05-10-2007
Feedback Category
Comments i had contacted tylenol and this is the response they gave me i do not have your email address so i will just cut and paste their email

Dear Safya,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding TYLENOL* products.

Both the glycerin and magnesium stearate in our TYLENOL* products are derived from bovine tallow. Any gelatin is derived from beef or pork. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our Marketing Team.

Should you require further information, please e-mail us again or call the Information Centre at: 1 800 265-7323.



McNeil Consumer Healthcare Division of McNeil PDI Inc.

Reference number:

SR #1-29191056

-----Original Message-----
Sent: 04/14/2007 20:56:09
Subject: Question/Comment

Consumer stated: I heard news that all the Tylenol products have pork or beef derivitives. For religious reason I am not allowed to eat pork or beef. Since Tylenol is the pain reliever I use the most I was wondering if it was possible to tell me if there are any pork or beef derivitives in any of the Tylenol products.

Note: Keep in mind this is an old email.. try emailing them again yourself.. their answer might be different now..

Mars starts using animal products

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.

Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part.

The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible"

'Extremely disappointed'

Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October.

Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step
Vegetarian Society

Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey.

It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

"If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods.

The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed".

"At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement.

"Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.

Halal certified ice cream and yogurt now in Alberta and BC

(July 28, 2002) Happy Days Goat Dairy of Salmon Arm, British Columbia, is bringing its Halal certified products to the Alberta and BC markets. The following products manufactured by the company have been certified Halal by the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA):

  • Goat Milk Yogurt, 500 g container (plain)
  • Goat Milk Yogurt, 500 g container (strawberry)
  • Light Goat Milk Ice Cream, 1 liter container (vanilla)
  • Light Goat Milk Ice Cream, 1 liter container (strawberry)
The above-mentioned products display the IFANCA Halal symbol (a crescent with the letter 'M') on the labels. The Halal yogurt and ice cream products are available at Overwaitea/SaveOn Foods (in the health food section), Choices, and Caper's. These products are among the first Halal certified non-meat products to be manufactured and sold in Canada. (Web posted 07.28.02 @ 6.21 pm)
>> Happy Days Goat Dairy: (250) 832-0209 | Web:
>> IFANCA: (773) 283-3708 | Web:

L-cysteine in No Name English Muffins

(July 21, 2002) has learned that most No Name brand English Muffins contain l-cysteine. As reported earlier, l-cysteine is Haram if it is derived from human hair. is currently looking into the matter and for the time being, it is suggested that the product be avoided. L-cysteine is often used in bakery products and could be made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. No Name products are sold exclusively at supermarkets owned by grocery giant Loblaw Companies Limited.
>> No Name Customer Service: (800) 296-2332 | Web:

Colgate Dental Gum found to contain gelatin

(July 14, 2002) has discovered that Colgate Dental Gum contains gelatin. The presence of gealtin is listed on the package, however, it is often easily overlooked due to small print. Other brands of dental gum were found to be free of gelatin. Dental gums are available in most pharmacies. (Web posted 07.14.02 @ 5.45 pm)
>> Colgate-Palmolive Canada: (800) 268-6757 | Web:

Information on McDonald's new McVeggie Burger™

(July 7, 2002) McDonald's new McVeggie Burger™ in Canada is free of wine and animal ingredients. According to a McDonald's representative, the burgers are cooked on the same grill as other meat products, however, the meat and vegetarian burgers are cooked in separate batches and the grill is cleaned between batches. But McDonald's is quick to point out that during preparation, the McVeggie Burger™ may come in contact with meat and/or chicken products. Also, the new Fruit'n Yogurt Parfait™ at McDonald's Canada contains gelatin, and should be avoided by Muslims. (Web posted 07.07.02 @ 4.05 pm)
>> McDonald's Canada: (416) 446-3932 | Web:

Whey in Campbell's cream soups contains animal rennet

(June 30, 2002) has come to know from a concerned Muslim that Campbell's cream soups contain whey. When asked about the source of the rennet used in the production of the whey, a Campbell's Soup spokesperson said that it was from an animal source. For this reason, Muslims in Canada are advised to avoid Campbell's cream soups. (Web posted 06.30.02 @ 4.27 pm)
>> Campbell's Soup Canada: (800) 410-7687 | Web:

Little Caesars cheese, dough, and sauce Halal

(June 23, 2002) has learned that the dough, sauce, and cheese used in Little Caesars pizzas are Halal. No animal ingredients are used and the dough does not contain L-cysteine. However, please note that we strongly discourage Muslims from eating at non-Muslim restaurants, due to the high risk of contamination by dirty utensils, unwashed hands/gloves, mishandling, and human error. (Web posted 06.23.02 @ 4.27 pm)
>> Little Caesars: (800) 7-CAESAR | Web:

No wine in Canadian BK Veggie Burger - for now

(June 16, 2002) Burger King Canada has told that unlike its American counterpart, the Canadian BK Veggie Burger does not contain wine or any other alcohol-related ingredient. However, this is expected to change in the next little while. According to the company, the wine-free BK Veggie Burger sold in Canada will be replaced by the wine-containing BK Veggie Burger within the next couple of months. (Web posted 06.16.02 @ 3.24 pm)
>> Burger King Canada: (877) 271 0493
>> Burger King US: (305) 378-3535 | Web:

Chee-tos Crunchits may contain animal rennet and pepsin

(June 9, 2002) has learned that Chee-tos Crunchits cheese snack could contain animal rennet and pepsin. As a result, the product should be avoided. Other types of Chee-tos cheese snacks are reportedly free of animal-derived ingredients. According to the information on the manufacturer's web site (, Chee-tos Crunchits are available only in Atlantic Canada. The manufacturer, Hostess Frito-Lay, may be reached at (800) 376-2257.

Coke and Raw Pork = Worms

No hidden pork-derived ingredients in products:

Kellogg's Canada

(June 3, 2002) On April 29, 2002, the Gulf News reported that Kellogg's products were recently pulled off the shelves of some supermarkets in the U.A.E. The decision was made after lab tests were done on the products and it was discovered that the products contained pork elements. Kellogg's Canada representatives have reassured that there are no hidden pork ingredients in their Canadian products. Gelatin from pork and beef is used in some of their products, but its presence is clearly stated in the ingredients declaration. Kellogg's Canada may be contacted at (888) 876-3750.

Beef stock in Doritos Extreme Cheddar and Sour Cream flavour

(May 26, 2002) It has been brought to our attention by a concerned Muslim that the new Doritos brand Extreme Cheddar and Sour Cream tortilla chips contain beef stock. The beef stock is an ingredient in the seasoning which is contained in the product. Since the beef stock is from non-Zabihah animals, the product should be avoided by Muslims. Hostess Frito-Lay, the manufacturer of the product, may be reached at (800) 376-2257.

No animal derived ingredients in dough, sauce, cheese at 241 Pizza

(May 19, 2002) 241 Pizza has told that the dough, sauce, and cheese used at the pizza chain are free of animal derived ingredients. The dough reportedly also does not contain any L-cysteine. Please note that we do not recommend that Muslims eat out in non-Muslim eateries, because of the possibility of contamination with Haram ingredients and dirty utensils. 241 Pizza is one of Canada's largest pizza chain with 165 stores, and can be contacted at 1-877-241-0241

Beware of gelatin in some Lactantia yogurts

(May 12, 2002) has discovered that some Lactantia brand yogurts contain gelatin. The yogurts are available in different flavours, including plain and various fruit flavours. Some of them contain gelatin while some don't. For this reason, we'd like Muslim shoppers to be careful when purchasing Lactantia yogurts. Gelatin is an odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals. There is no problem with consuming gelatin if it is from a Halal, Zabihah animal

L-cysteine in Famosa pizza crust from human hair

(May 5, 2002) Molinaro's Fine Italian Food has told that the L-cysteine in their Famosa pizza crust is from human hair. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram. For this reason, the above mentioned product should be avoided by Muslims. Molinaro's Fine Italian Food may be reached at (800) 268-4959.

'Most of our flavorings contain alcohol': Krispy Kreme

(April 28, 2002) On January 27, 2002, reported that although Krispy Kreme had told us that their doughnuts do not contain any animal ingredients, they wouldn't tell us if the flavourings contained alcohol or not. At the time, our sources told us that it was probable that the flavourings contained alcohol. Now, has received an e-mail that was sent by Krispy Kreme in response to a question by a concerned Muslim. In the e-mail, Krispy Kreme admits that "most of our flavorings contain alcohol". For this reason, we advise Muslims to avoid Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Krispy Kreme operates 221 stores in the United States, and recently opened its first Canadian location in Mississauga, Ontario. The company may be contacted through its web site at

No animal ingredients in most Pfizer gums in Canada

(April 21, 2002) Pfizer Canada has told that their Trident, Maxair, Certs, and Clorets brands of gums in Canada are free of animal ingredients. The above-mentioned products are also reportedly free of alcohol-based flavourings. The company also manufactures Bubblicious and Chiclets, but no information was given regarding these products. Pfizer Canada may be contacted at (800) 661-4659.

Beware of L-cysteine from human hair

(April 14, 2002) would like to warn Muslim consumers about L-cysteine. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and must always be avoided. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed. has also learned that some Canadian Pizza Hut items contain L-cysteine from duck feathers. Domino's pizza dough also contain L-cysteine, but the source is unknown. Pizza Hut may be contacted at (800) 363-1601 and Domino's may be reached at (888) DOMINOS.

Information regarding Cadbury and Hershey chocolate bars

(April 7, 2002) Cadbury Trebor Allan and Hershey Canada have told that most of their chocolate bars are free of animal ingredients. The only Cadbury Trebor Allan product which contains animal ingredients is Neilson Malted Milk. It contains gelatin and this was reported in our update dated March 17, 2002. All other Cadbury chocolates (including Neilson brand chocolates) are free of animal ingredients and alcohol in flavourings. Some Hershey chocolates in Canada contain gelatin, and this is listed in the ingredients declaration. No other animal ingredients or alcohol-based flavourings are used in Hershey chocolates in Canada. Cadbury Trebor Allen may be reached at (800) 268-1624 and Hershey Canada can be contacted at (800) 468-1714.

Beware of animal ingredients in sauces and gravies

(March 31, 2002) would like to warn Muslim consumers of the fact that many sauces and gravies contain animal ingredients. Many brands of canned, liquid sauces and gravies (such as Hamburger Sauce, Poutine Gravy, Sandwich Sauce, Steak Sauce, etc.) were found to contain ingredients such as chicken broth, chicken fat, beef fat, and so on. Some sauce and gravy mixes were also found to contain these types of ingredients. For this reason, we advise Muslims to pay special attention to the ingredients when buying sauces and gravies.

KFC chicken, Pizza Hut in Muslim countries Halal

(March 24, 2002) After contacting Tricon Restaurants International, has learned that all chickens served at KFC outlets in Muslim countries are Zabihah, and all Pizza Hut pizzas in Muslim markets are Halal. All KFC chickens labeled "certified Halal" in Muslim countries are slaughtered by Muslims by reciting Bismillah-Allah-hu-Akbar during the process. Birds are slaughtered manually and not mechanically. Concerns have been raised in the past regarding KFC chickens in Muslim countries, and hopefully this information will put those concerns to rest. Tricon Restaurants International can be reached at (972) 338-8100.

Neilson Malted Milk contains gelatin

(March 17, 2002) would like to advise all Muslims of the fact that Neilson Malted Milk contains gelatin, and should therefore be avoided. Gelatin is an odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals. Gelatin from Haram and non-Zabihah animals should always be avoided by Muslims.

Alcohol in flavourings of most Chapman's products

(March 9, 2002) David Chapman's Ice Cream has told that the flavourings in most of their products contain alcohol. All Chapman's Ice Cream products contain alcohol in their flavourings except for the following products:
  • Orange Pineapple (2L Square)
  • Tiger Tail (2L Square)
  • Grape Nut (2L Square)
  • Rainbow (2L and 4L Square)
  • Raspberry Frozen Yogurt (2L Round)
  • Mixed Berry Frozen Yogurt (2L Round)
  • Orange Sorbet (2L Round)
For this reason, all Chapman's Ice Cream products, except for the ones listed above, should be avoided by Muslims. Chapman's can be contacted at (519) 986-3131

Almost all Wrigley gums in Canada free of animal ingredients (UPDATE)

(February 26, 2002) The Consumer Affairs Administrator at Wrigley Canada has confirmed to that almost all Wrigley gums sold in Canada are free of animal ingredients. Only Extra Polar Ice (not to be confused with Excel Polar Ice) contains gelatin and should be avoided. All other Wrigley gums in Canada are free of animal ingredients. Wrigley Canada manufactures many brands (including Juicy Fruit, Big Red, and Freedent) and can be contacted at (416) 449-8600.

Article UPDATED!!! Click here

Beef tallow may be present in McCain Superquick fries

(February 20, 2002) would like to alert all Muslims in Canada of the fact that McCain Superquick fries may contain beef tallow. The fries, which are manufactured by McCain Foods (Canada) of Florenceville, New Brunswick, are available at the freezer section of most Canadian supermarkets. The beef tallow used in the fries comes from animals which are not slaughtered according to Islamic Law, and as a result, the product should be avoided by all Muslims. McCain Foods (Canada) can be contacted through

Flavourings in Laura Secord ice creams free of alcohol

(February 11, 2002) was asked to look into Laura Secord ice creams to find out whether or not any alcohol is being used in the flavourings. Laura Secord told that the flavourings used in their ice creams do not contain any alcohol. Laura Secord has over 100 locations across Canada and can be reached at (800) 268-6353

Swiss Knight, Gerber cheeses contain animal rennet

(February 3, 2002) A concerned Muslim in Beijing, China, tipped off about the fact that cheeses manufactured by Swiss cheese maker Gerber Cheese Co. contain animal rennet. Gerber Cheese sells cheese under the 'Swiss Knight' and 'Gerber' brands. These products should be avoided by Muslims everywhere. Gerber Cheese Co. can be contacted at +41 (0)33 227 55 55

No animal ingredients in Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, may contain alcohol in flavourings

(January 27, 2002) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts has told that their doughnuts do not contain any animal ingredients. However, Krispy Kreme wouldn't tell us if the flavourings contained any alcohol or not. Sources have told that it is probable that the flavourings do contain alcohol. For this reason, we suggest that Krispy Kreme Doughnuts be avoided. Krispy Kreme Doughnuts recently opened its first location in Canada and can be contacted through its web site at

A separate investigation by revealed that alcohol is infact used during the cooking process, the quantity told to us was around 0.5 or 0.05% very small indeed, but as the saying goes if there a drop of urine in your glass of milk would you drink it? it's less then 0.05% of the entire milk but nonetheless the milk is undrinkable.

Most cheeses at Pizza Pizza now Haram

(January 19, 2002) Pizza Pizza has informed that most of their cheeses now contain animal ingredients. The Feta and Parmesan cheeses, along with the X-treme cheese topping, all contain animal ingredients. Feta and Parmesan cheeses are used on the gourmet pizzas. The only cheese which does not contain animal ingredients is the mozzarella cheese. Mozzarella cheese is the only cheese which is used on the cheese pizzas. Pizza Pizza can be contacted at (416) 236-1894

Some Second Cup items may be Haram

(January 13, 2002) has discovered that some items at Second Cup may contain gelatin, lard, and other Haram ingredients. We suggest that Muslims avoid eating products at Second Cup for the time being, until we get further information. The investigation continues.

McDonald's Filet-o-Fish now fried in separate oil

(January 5, 2002) has learned that the fish in the Filet-o-Fish at McDonald's Canada is now fried in its separate oil. It used to be fried in the same oil in which Chicken McNuggets were fried. Since the McNuggets - which are from chickens that are not slaughtered according to Islamic Law - were fried in the oil, the oil was considered contaminated. But since that is not the case anymore, there seems to be no problem with the fish in the Filet-o-Fish sandwiches. However, the cheese must still be avoided, because it may contain animal ingredients. The Filet-o-Fish may be ordered without the cheese. Please note that we strongly advise that Muslims avoid eating food from non-Muslim restaurants, due to the high risk of contamination by dirty utensils, unwashed hands/gloves, mishandling, and human error. McDonald's Canada may be contacted at (416) 446 3932

L-cysteine in No Name english muffins Haram

(August 4, 2002) An investigation into No Name english muffins has found that the l-cysteine in the product is from human hair. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and therefore the product should be avoided. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, feathers (from chickens and ducks) and synthetic materials. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed

Rennet in Sara Lee cheesecakes not from animals

(August 11, 2002) recently discovered that Sara Lee cheesecakes contain rennet. When contacted, a Sara Lee spokeperson said that the rennet was from a non-animal source. She also stated that all Kosher certified Sara Lee cheesecakes and layer cakes are free of animal ingredients. The products carry the KVH Kosher symbol (a K, V, and H in a rectangle). Sara Lee cakes are available in the freezer section of most supermarkets

Better to avoid Harvey's poutine

(August 17, 2002) Harvey's has told that their poutine has two different ingredients: one for Harvey's restaurants in Quebec and one for Harvey's restaurants outside of Quebec. The cheese used in the poutine in sold Quebec contains rennet and its source is currently being investigated. The gravy in the poutine sold outside of Quebec contains beef fat, and should therefore be avoided. Poutine is a French-Canadian concoction comprised of french fries, gravy, and cheese curds

Friday, February 22, 2008

L - cysteine

What is Cysteine/cystine? (E910, E920 and E921)

Also known as l-cystine, our research indicates that the source of cysteine is human hair. Cystine is an amino acid needed by humans, which can be produced by the human body. A very small quantity is used in less than 5% of all bread products. Often the hair of third world women is used.


Dietary sources

Although classified as a non-essential amino acid, in rare cases, cysteine may be essential for infants, the elderly, and individuals with certain metabolic disease or who suffer from malabsorption syndromes. Cysteine can usually be synthesized by the human body under normal physiological conditions if a sufficient quantity of methionine is available. Cysteine is potentially toxic and is catabolized in the gastrointestinal tract and blood plasma. In contrast, cysteine is absorbed during digestion as cystine, which is more stable in the gastrointestinal tract. Cystine travels safely through the GI tract and blood plasma, and is promptly reduced to the two cysteine molecules upon cell entry.

Cysteine is found in most high-protein foods, including:

  • Animal sources: eggs, milk, whey protein, ricotta, cottage cheese, yogurt, pork, sausage meat, chicken, turkey, duck, luncheon meat
  • Vegetarian sources: red peppers, garlic, onions, broccoli, brussel sprouts, oats, granola, wheat germ.

Industrial sources

See also Food safety in China#Soy sauce made from human hair.

At the present time, the cheapest source of material from which food-grade L-cysteine may be purified in high yield is by hydrolysis of human hair. Other sources include feathers and pig bristles. The companies producing cysteine by hydrolysis are located mainly in China. There is some debate as to whether or not consuming L-cysteine derived from human hair constitutes cannibalism. Although many other amino acids were accessible via fermentation for some years, L-cysteine was unavailable until 2001 when German company Wacker Chemie introduced a production route via fermentation (non-human, non-animal origin).

Ingredient: L-CYSTINE (E910, E920 and E921)

How the chemical is regulated: Flavor, Direct food additive; chemical is used as: FLAVOR ENHANCER, FLAVORING AGENT OR ADJUVANT, NUTRIENT SUPPLEMENT, DOUGH STRENGTHENER;


According to the researh by Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed, 99% of L-Cystine in the US is obtained from HUMAN HAIR. It is used in Pizza crusts, hard rools and crooissants. It is Kosher certified ingredient even if it is from Human hair. It is suggested check the source of L-Cystine even if the product is certified Kosher