Monday, March 17, 2008

DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN USA & CANADA?

WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN USA & CANADA

Lot of Muslims calls Frito Lay Company to find out the Halal status of Doritos and Cheetos products. The 800 personnel are trained by the company to tell consumers that their cheeses are made with microbial rennet enzyme. But many Muslims are not aware that the rennet is not only thing, which decide the Halal status of a cheese.

There are other things which has to be Halal if used during manufacture of a cheese such as Mother Culture Media, Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures), other Enzymes such as Lipase and finally dairy flavors containing Enzymes, if the rennet is from microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer’s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.


We explained to Frito Lay Nutritionist supervisor Ms. Nina Ferguson about the requirements for Halal cheese and other ingredients. She is not aware of what are Halal and its requirements for Doritos and Cheetos products. We offered our help to educate them about Halal status of their products.

Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal because of the following reasons:

1. The ingredients they used are not Halal or kosher certified.

2. The products are made on the same line where animal derived ingredients (including pork) containing products are manufactured.

3. Cheese used in Doritos and Cheetos products is not Halal or kosher certified. So cheese in Doritos and Cheetos is not Halal.

4. Dairy ingredients used in Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal or kosher certified. So Doritos and Cheetos products are not made with Halal dairy ingredients.

5. Natural and Artificial flavors used are not Halal or kosher certified. These flavors may have contained animal derived ingredients and alcohol as a solvent.

6. Artificial Liquid colors used are Halal or kosher certified (Pork glycerin can be used as a solvent in FD&C liquid colors).

7. Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal or kosher certified, so there is no protection for Muslim consumers. The source of ingredients can be change at any time without informing Muslim consumers.

Muslim Consumer Group does not recommend Muslims to consume Doritos and Cheetose products because of the above facts.

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

12 comments:

Anonymous said...

so if the 'milk' is not certified, it in itself is haraam?

Anonymous said...

AsSalamAlykum, I recently bought Cheetos from Saudi Arabia, I am not sure if they are halal or not but I guess they should be but it doesnt look like they were manufactured in saudia as i dont see nay arabic stuff on the pack..what to do?

Anonymous said...

assalam wailakum, first thing thank you for informing us and shame on fritos company and if they made it halal than they would have double the counsmers and costumers for ther products. anyway are the chips halal in Pakistan

Anonymous said...

since when do we have to zabiha cheese?? it's halal stupidds!!

Anonymous said...

Salaaz.. i want ask that are all the lays chips Halal in Canada > if nt which of them are halal??

Anonymous said...

umm y wud they lie? about "kosher certified"? government checks if they really r telling the turth bout their ingredients or not....!

Trusted Creation said...

what are you reffering to??

"lying about kosher certified"..

who said anything about lying??

Anonymous said...

THIS IS A LIE, I WORK FOR FRITO LAY AND THEY DO NOT MAKE ANY PORK PRODUCT OR HAVE ANY PRODUCT WITH PORK INGREDIENT. CHEETOS, DORITOS, RUFFLE, LAYS, FUNYUNS ARE HALAL. THE ONLY PRODUCT THAT FRITO LAY SELLS AND THAT COMES FROM 3RD PARTY IS BAKENETS AND THAT IS NOT HALAL. DONT KNOW ANYTHING....RESEARCH BEFORE POST ANYTHING

Trusted Creation said...

You need to get some magnifying glasses and read the date of that post...

it's a four year old article that you are getting worked up over.

telling me to research..get a life..!

Anonymous said...

by the way are starburst haram

Anonymous said...

wat otherthingsare haram

Anonymous said...

So are hot Cheetos from Dubai and Pakistan halal???

Post a Comment