Thursday, February 26, 2009

New blog on the horizon...

Check out my new blog...

its called:

"@mazing / Interesting / Funny / Weird / Wonderful"

http://islamification.blogspot.com/

jazak Allah khair..

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Glycerin why is it haram?? (or not..)

WHAT IS GLYCERIN? CHEMISTRY & REGULATORY INFORMATION
Glycerine is a clear, thick, slippery substance used as a thickener, low-calorie sweetener, and emulsifier in foods and medications as well as an humectant (moisturizer) in health and beauty products. The source of glycerine may be animal fat, vegetable oil or the toxic petro-chemical epichlorohydrin. The processes used to produce glycerine may be either saponification (soap-making), or transesterification (the catalytic reaction of an oil with an alcohol [methanol or ethanol]).

Until recently, much of the world's glycerine was produced from the chemical 'epichlorohydrin' which is derived from petroleum (crude oil), not from animals. Today, however, most of the world's glycerin is produced as a by-product of biodiesel fuel production. The production of bio diesel entails collecting large amounts of animal and vegetable fat waste from restaurants and putting it through the transesterification process. Glycerin is a 10% waste-product of the bio diesel production process. Large scale production of biodiesel, especially in the European Union, has led to an excess of crude glycerin in the market, making the epichlorohydrin process no longer economical.[4]

The current published food import regulations of the countries of Qatar[5] and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia[6] permit glycerin in food products imported into their countries. It is uncertain as to whether these regulations will be reviewed or modified, given the recent shift away from petro-chemical sources and towards restaurant waste fats, the raw form of which contain some degree of pig fat.


AMNA RECOMMENDS

It is very possible that recent changes to glycerine production methods may impact its allowability in foods imported into Saudi Arabia and Qatar. For this reason, AMNA places glycerin into the "doubtful" category.


Source

Oreo Cookies Halal? (Updated)


Spotlight Halal: Oreo™ Cookies

WHAT IS IT?
Oreos™ are brand of snack cookies produced by Nabisco. The classic Oreo is made of two rich, near black chocolate wafers separated by a white creamy filling. They are the best-selling cookie in the U.S. In fact, over 362 billion Oreos have been sold since the cookie was first introduced in 1912, making it the best selling cookie of the 20th century. For the first 85 years of their manufacture, Oreo™ Cookies were made with animal fat.


oreos

The rich chocolate flavor of Oreos is so popular that it is found in recipes for milkshakes, cheesecakes, ice cream sundaes, pie crusts, pudding, breakfast bars, cakes and all types of chocolaty sweets.

Join our FB Group

HOW IS IT MADE?
For the first 85 years of its manufacture, Oreos were made with animal fat. That started changing in the late 1980's and early 1990's when Nabisco began reformulating its recipe to use vegetable shortening.

In the year 1998, Oreo cookies in the U.S. became certified as not containing fat from pigs or other animals. Oreos are made with the artificial flavoring 'vanillin' and not with 'vanilla extract.' Vanilla extract contains alcohol (ethanol) which counters Islamic dietary requirements. Vegetable shortening and vanillin are used in all varieties of Oreo cookies.

Oreos contain: Sugar, Flour, Vegetable Oil, Cocoa Powder, Corn Syrup, Baking Soda, Cornstarch, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Vanillin and Chocolate.

WARNING LEVEL: NONE

This issue of "Spotlight Halal" was written upon the request of a reader who asked us to research Oreo cookies -- and for good reason.


UPDATE APR-07-2009 click here for further clarification as to why oreo cookies are halal...Click here



Source

Shellac = Insect candies yummy....

Spotlight Halal: Shellac Pharmaceutical Glaze (Beetlejuice, E904)

Shellac, used as a coating on aspirin and candies alike, is made from crushed insect cocoons.
Yummy.....



shrimp scampi
Left: Cocoons and larvae of the lac bug.
Right: Mature lac bug


WHAT IS IT?
Shellac is a resinous compound secreted by the female lac bug (also known as: kerria lacca, laccifer lacca, carteria lacca and tachardia lacca) to form its cocoon. Shellac is used as a coating on medicines and candies.

Shellac ranges in color from very light blond to very dark brown, with all shades of brown and yellow and orange and red in between. The color is influenced by the sap of the tree the lac bug is living on, as well as the time of harvest.

Because it is contains crushed insects, another name for shellac is beetlejuice. However, because of the negative connotation associated with these names, on drug and nutritional supplement (vitamin) product labeling, shellac may be generically referred to as either enteric coating, pharmaceutical glaze, confectioner's glaze, resinous glaze, pure food glaze or natural glaze. In the European Union, shellac is known by the E Number E904.

facebook logo

HOW IS IT MADE?

Shellac is scraped from the bark of the trees where the female lac bug deposits it to provide a sticky hold on the trunk. In the process of harvesting shellac, the insect may be crushed into the shellac resin.

Raw shellac, which contains bark shavings and lac bug parts, is heated over a fire causing it to liquify. The thick sticky shellac is then dried into flat sheets, broken up into flakes, bagged and sold. Flakes are dissolved in denatured alcohol to make liquid shellac.

It takes about 100,000 lac bugs to make 1 lb. of shellac flakes.


IN WHAT PRODUCTS IS THIS INGREDIENT FOUND?

Although commonly thought of as a wood stain and protectant, shellac is also used as a glazing agent on pills and candies. Glazing agents are food additives that provide a shiny appearance and protective coating to foods guarding against unwanted changes to color, smell, or appearance.

Skittles® candies sold in the UK (United Kingdom) contain shellac as a glazing agent. [Skittles® sold in the U.S. do not contain shellac, but do contain gelatin. In both countries, certain flavors contain the red food coloring cochineal (carmine, E120), derived from the crushed shells of the insect of the same name.] Shellac is sometimes used to replace the natural wax on apples which is removed during the cleaning process. In the pharmaceutical industry, shellac is used as an enteric coating on time-release medications, allowing the medicine to be absorbed in the intestinal tract, instead of in the stomach. It is used on safety coated aspirin products to prevent stomach irritation.


WARNING LEVEL: HIGH

Many of us don’t give it a second thought when we buy medicine for ourselves or for our children. A recent trip to the pharmacy drove home what a minefield the pharmacy is for the Muslim consumer. While shopping for supplements, we found that out of 30 products we found only ONE that neither contained alcohol (ethanol, ethyl alcohol), shellac nor gelatin.


AMNA RECOMMENDS

Read the Inactive Ingredients panel on drug and nutritional supplement product packaging, where the FDA requires shellac, alcohol and gelatin to be listed. Instead, choose medications and vitamin supplements made with the following vegetarian ingredients:

  • Carnauba Wax, a natural wax coating derived from the leaves of the carnauba palm tree of Brazil.
  • Cellulose-derived pharmaceutical coatings such as ethyl cellulose (E462), hypromellose (INN), and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC, E464), all derived from the cell walls of green plants.
  • Vegetarian pharmaceutical thickeners and binders such as: methyl cellulose (or methylcellulose); hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC, E463); carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC, E466); cellulose acetate; microcrystalline cellulose (E460i), and powdered cellulose (E460ii).

Spotlight Halal is a newsletter and article series providing North American Muslims with practical information about food choices. Weekly, we tackle a problem food such as Clam Chowder, Lobster Bisque or Teriyaki Sauce. Spotlight Halal is published by the creators of IsItHaram.com and AMNA Muslim Food Advisor, a service rating more than 3,000 foods according to their likelihood of containing haram substances such as alcohol, pork, blood, vermin, toxins and the meats of predatory animals and donkey.

Source

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Haram List/Ingredients of concern..... (updated)

All ingredients in "all" products should be checked on a regular basis...

having said that... these ingredients are to be looked out for... (list will be modified pending on further research). Some of these ingredients maybe Halal based on the source or depending on the madhab you follow and the amount of these ingredients being used.

Acetic Acid

Alanine

Albumin

Alpha Amylase

Ambergris

Amylase

Amylopectin (Polysaccherides)

Animal Shortening

Bacon

Beta Carotene

Bile Salts

Biotin

Butter fat Lipolyzed

Buttermilk Solids

Calcium Lactate

Calcium Mesoinositol Hexaphosphate

Calcium Stearate

Calcium Stearol Lactylate

Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate

Carmine (Cochineal)

Carminic Acid

Casein

Caseinates (Sodium & Calcium)

Catalase

Cheese Powder

Chelate

Choletsorol

Cholic Acid

Choline Bitartrate

Chymotrypsin

Cider (Hard) (Alcohol)

Civet, Absolute

CobalamineDisodium Inosinate

Cocaine

Cochineal

Codeine

Collagen

Colour

Confectioner's glaze

Cream Of Tartar (Tartaric Acid)

Cultured Cream Lipolyzed

Cultured Milk

Cysteine.L

D.E.S (sex Hormones)

DATEM, Diglyceride

Diglyceride

Disodium Guanilate

Dough Conditioners

Emulsifier Of Fat

Emulsifiers

Enrichement

Enteric coating

Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides

Ethyl Vanillin

Ethylene Oxide

Fats

Fatty Acids

Fermented Malt

Folic Acid

Gelatin

Glutamic Acid

Glycerides

Glycerine

Glycerol

Glycerol Ester

Glycerol Monostearate

Glycine

Glycogen (Polysaccherides)

Gum Tragacanth

Ham (Hog)

Histamine

Hormones

Hydrolysed Vegetable Protein (Hvp)

Hydroxylated Lecithin

Inositol

Insulin (Porcine)

Invertase (Invertin)

Keratin

Lactose

Lard/Lard Shortening

Lecithin

Limit Dextrin

Lipids

Lysine, L And Dl Forms

Margarine

Mono And Diglycerides

Monoglycerides

Natural glaze

Natural Flavors (if any ingredient from pork fat)

Niacin

Oleic Acid

Ox Bile

Oxysterins

Para Amino Benzoic Acid

Pepsin

Pharmaceutical glaze

Phenyl Alanine

Phospholipid

Polyglycerol Esters Of Fatty Acids

Polyoxythylene Sorbitan Monostearate

Polysorbate

Polysorbate 60

Polysorbate 65

Polysorbate 80

Polyunsaturated

Pork

Potassium Caseinate

Propionic Acid

Propyl Gallate

Propylene Glycol Monostearate

Protease

Pure food glaze

Reduced Mineral Whey

Release Agents

Rennet Casein

Rennet Or Listed As Enzyme

Rennin (Rennet)

Resinous Glaze

Shellac

Shortenings

Sodium Caseinate

Sodium Propionate

Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate

Softeners

Sorbitan Monostearate

Sour Cream Solids (also with pork gelatin)

Soy Sauce

Sperm Oil

Spermaceti

Stearic Acid

Tartaric Acid

Thiamin

Tocopherol

Trypsin

Uric Acid

Vanilin

Vanilla Extract (Alcohol)

Vanilla Or Any Flavouring

Vegetable Shortening

Vinegar

Vitamin D3, B-12

Vitamin: Capsules (A,E,K)

Whey Protein Concentrate

Wine (Alcohol)

Yeast

Yeast (Brewer's Beer)

These ingredients may not always be haram or from Haram sources but research / investigating is required on the part of the consumer if the product containes / is processed with / extracted with / treated with / etc with any of these ingredients...

(Update Feb/18/09)

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

This is for all those "Halal is inhumane" idiots...

Halal is the perfect way for animal slaughter (Otherwise stick to your veggies)



These are excerpts taken from a study by Wilhelm Schultze and Dr. Hazim at the School of veterinary Medicine, Hanover University, Germany published early June 1977 to test out which is more humane.. the Muslim Halal way or the western captive bolt stunning...


The link for the full article is on the bottom this is just part of the findings of the study.. and some the conclusions... (don't buy into the "halal is inhumane" B.S)



HALAL vs Captive Bolt Stunning Report


Experiments for measuring the heart frequency and brain activity during slaughter conditions were carried out on 23 sheep and 15 calves. After implanting permanent electrodes into the Os frontale the cerebral cortex impulses were measured for 17 sheep and 10 calves during ritual slaughter and for 6 sheep and 5 calves during captive bolt application with subsequent bloodletting. Some sheep were additionally subjected to thermal pain stimuli after the ritual cut.


The investigations had the following results:


Slaughter by ritual cut (the halal humane way):


1. After the bloodletting cut the EEG initially is the same as the EEG before the cut (NO PAIN!). There is a high probability that the loss of reaction took place within 4 – 6 seconds for sheep and within 10 seconds for calves. (no pain and very quick death)


2. The zero line in the EEG was recorded no later than after 13 seconds for 17 sheep and no later than 23 seconds for 7 calves.


3. Thermal pain stimuli did not cause an increase in activity. (Even if you inflict pain externally it does not affect the animal anymore)


4. After the cut the heart frequency rose for calves within 40 seconds to 240 heart actions per minute and for sheep within 40 seconds to 280 heart actions per minute. (more heart beats = more bloodletting = cleaner / safer / tastier meat..)


In summary the following conclusions are possible:


Calves (Ritual / islamic cut)

After the bloodletting cut loss of reaction (loss of consciousness) occurred with high probability within 10 seconds. A clear reaction to the cut could not be detected in any animal. For 7 animals a zero EEG was recorded no later than after 23 seconds. Cramps occurred in the animals regularly only after the brain currents had stopped.


Sheep

After the bloodletting cut loss of reaction (loss of consciousness) occurred after 10 seconds the latest. A clear reaction to the cut could not be detected in any animal. The zero line was recorded no later than 14 seconds after the cut. Cramps only occurred after the zero line had been detected and were much shorter than after captive bolt stunning.

The slaughter in the form of ritual cut is, if carried out properly, painless in sheep and calves according to the EEG recordings and the missing defensive actions.


Slaughter after captive bolt application: (Inhumane western way)

1. After captive bolt stunning all animals displayed most severe general disturbances (waves of 1-2 Hz) in the EEG, which almost with certainty eliminates a sense of pain. (MORE PAINFUL!!)


2. The zero line in the EEG was reached for 4 calves after 28 seconds. (Painful elongated death)


3. For two sheep the cerebral cortex activity only stopped in one half of the brain, whilst it continued in the other in the –region (up to 3.5 Hz) until the bloodletting cut. (oouch!!)


4. The bloodletting cut resulted for all animals in a brain activity (e and d waves). (Extra pain!)


5. Thermal pain stimuli caused an increase in activity in one sheep.


6. The heart frequency rose directly after stunning to values above 300 actions per minute.




In summary the following conclusions are possible:


Calves (Inhumane western way)

After captive bolt stunning most severe general disturbances (waves of 1-2 Hz) occurred in the EEG, which almost with certainty eliminates a sense of pain.


Sheep (Inhumane western way)

Similar disturbances were also seen in sheep, but besides the somewhat higher frequency there are still clearly superimposed waves. For one animal waves could be recorded after pain stimuli until after the 200th second. Apparent cramps were registered for all sheep with the exception of one animal.



--------



Don't be fooled by propaganda... Halal is the only way..

full article

Other links

Halal is better
Halal is Cleaner / Safer

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Halal subway celeberates first birthday...

Halal Subway celebrates 1st birthday


9/ 1/2009

A SUBWAY store, which went halal a year ago, says business couldn’t be better after a 20 per cent increase in sales.

The store based at Texaco on Manchester Road, Hollinwood is even accredited by the Islamic Foundation of Ireland where the halal meat comes from.

Store Owner Mike Williams said they took the decision to turn their subway store halal very seriously by serving exclusively halal meats and banning pork products in line with Muslim dietary rules

This also meant disposing some kitchen equipment including cutlery, knives, containers, chopping boards and replacing them with new ones.

Staff even had to get new sets of uniforms.

The store was closed for a week before re-opening as halal.

Said Mike: "That was a year ago and I'm really glad we made the decision to go halal.

"Given the demographics of the area where we had a large number of Asian clients I thought it was necessary to cater for everybody’s needs and reflect the community we serve.

"In the beginning our Muslim clients didn’t have much on offer preferring tuna or vegetable on their sandwiches but as soon as halal meat was introduced, the whole menu was avaialble to them. One of the favourites now is meatball sub - which previously wouldn't have been allowed.

"To replace ham we use turkey ham which is halal and we use turkey rashers to replace bacon.

"There is still come scepticism from people when we tell them that we're 100 per cent halal, but once I explain the procedure we have gone through and the fact that there are no haram ingredients including pork available at the store, they feel assured."

He added: "When we decided to do this we decided to do it properly. Some of our competitors offer halal products but if your selling a halal meat sandwich and there’s a pork sandwich sat right next to it, it’s not halal anymore."

The store will be celebrating its first anniversary of going halal next month and to commemorate this, it's offering a 'buy one get one free offer' on its 6ins sub sandwiches.

To claim your offer just print out this page and take into the store.

  • Offer ends on 20 January and is only available at the Hollinwood store.

Protestors boycott halal subway

20/ 1/2009

PROTESTORS have launched an internet campaign asking people to boycott a sandwich retailer for only stocking Halal meat in two of its stores in Manchester.

Campaigners have set up a group on social networking website Facebook asking users to support them in pressurising the Subway restaurant chain to "offer all its customers the freedom to choose" whether they eat ritually prepared or traditionally prepared meat.

The stores, in Cheetham Hill and Levenshulme, stock only certified Halal meats, which are prepared for consumption according to Muslim religious practice.

"We believe this discriminates against non-Muslim customers," wrote one of the group's administrators. "Our intention is not to deprive the Muslim customers the right to Halal products, but we must be free to decide."

The group hope to encourage supporters to avoid buying Subway products, send a letter of concern to the company and also to sign their petition, which they intend to present to the company's chief executive.

A spokesman for Subway said: "The Subway chain has over 70 stores in the Manchester and Greater Manchester area, of which several serve a range of certified Halal meats.

"The Halal stores reflect an increased demand from the local Muslim community for Halal certified products.

"Subway stores aim to cater for the whole community, by offering subs that everyone can enjoy, and should customers wish to eat non-Halal meats at a Subway store in Manchester, there are many others to choose from."

Cheetham councillor Afzal Khan, a former lead member for race equality, said: "The company's decision to serve Halal meat in these two areas seems to me to be a commercial decision.

"If they have stopped providing non-Halal meat, then the management must have concluded that there are not many meat eaters who object to eating it.

"Through this policy they can make their business viable and more profitable. I would support any action which provides service to many diverse groups living in our vibrant city."


source

deodorant halal?? axe/brute/lynx etc

Last Updated: 10/02/2009
Bismihi Ta'aalaa
We have removed the paragraph from this Fatwa:
"Further, it is mentioned in Muslim Food Guide (1420/200 edition) that Ethanol (ethyl alcohol) is also impermissible as it is generated from the fermentation of sugars from cane, forming the intoxicating element of all fermented liquors. (A-20) "
The reason for doing this is quite simple. The Fatwa posted relates to the jurisprudence of alcohol use in products for topical (external) use. This quote from the MFG refers to alcohols being impermissible for ingestion (consumption), when it is added to a product as an ingredient, regardless of the source of alcohol, whether it be sourced from sugars from cane or otherwise. The description is quite correct, but this Ruling does not apply to external use of alcohols. They are permissible, as long as they are not sourced from dates and grapes.
To conclude, such ethyl alcohols are permissible for topical use, hence the reason why this quote is being removed from this answer. Please note we are not in anyway suggesting that Mufti Yusuf Sacha has erred, but rather the quote in this answer was not applicable.
Where such alcohols are used for flavourings, they are permissible. For more details on our Fatwa on Alcoholic Flavourings, please see:
Mufti Abdullah Patel
Bismiha-Ta'ala
The general rule on the use of alcohol based perfumes/deodrants, etc is that if the alcohol has been extracted from grapes or dates their use will be forbidden since this is Najis (impure) and will thus make the body and clothes impure.

If the deodrants/perfume is made from synthetic/chemical alcohol, extracted and manufactured from items besides grapes or dates, then the use of such products is permissible.

Hazrat Mufti M. Taqi Usmani Saheb, (A leading contemporary scholar of Pakistan) writes in his commentary of Sahih Muslim, "The majority of alcohol used in medication and perfumes is not manufactured from grapes and dates, it is extracted from grains, peels or petroleum etc." (Takmilah Fathul-Mulhim Vol. 3 Page. 608)

Before using such products, it is advisable from the Shar'ee point of view to check with the manufacturers on the type of alcohol used. (i.e. whether natural or synthetic based).

Allah SWT Knows Best.

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/qna/viewquestion.php?QuestionID=3&TopicID=10

Now, halal, Sikh and Hindu diet for UK troops in Afghanistan

London, Feb.6 (ANI): A new ration system for British troopers with 20 different menus, plus six new ones for vegetarians, aimed at meeting Halal, Sikh and Hindu dietary requirements, will place the usual fare of corned beef hash firmly into the history books and museums.

Bully beef, the cornerstone of the British Army for more than a century, is to be replaced by mushroom pasta and halal dishes. A new varied menu will be designed to counter the boiling temperatures of Helmand and a more multi-cultural military, reports The Telegraph.

While some hardened veterans may shed a tear at the passing of their beloved bully beef (apparently out-voted by their juniors) all will welcome the long overdue decision to throw out chocolate.

Since the 2003 invasion of Iraq, troops have been bemused by the decision to continue packing their 24 hour ration packs with bars of chocolate that regularly melt and explode inside the pack's cardboard box leaving a sticky mess that coats other rations.

Instead the bland tasting chocolate has been replaced by goodies such as Oreo cookies, chocolate chip cake and energy bars.

British troops will now be able to boast Shrewsbury and Ginger biscuits, muesli and dried fruits when they swap food with American or Danish counterparts in Helmand.

Quentin Davies, the Minister for Defence Equipment and Support, said: "One of the most important requirements is to provide increased variety to troops operating for long periods on rations, which will help reduce menu fatigue. These new menus have been developed to meet the needs of service personnel operating in the extreme climates of Afghanistan and Iraq, providing them with a wider range of nutritionally balanced meals." (ANI)

Source

Halal-standard slaughtering doesn't need animals awake??

11:00 03 December 2006 by

"He has only forbidden you dead meat and blood, and the flesh of swine and that on which any other name has been invoked besides that of God." (The Koran, 2:173)

Muslim religious law requires, among other things, that an animal must be drained of blood before it is halal - permissible for consumption. Ritual slaughter according to Jewish dietary law - shechita - has the same prescription. Most Muslim slaughterers believe that drainage will only be complete if the throat of the animal is slit without stunning it first, but now Haluk Anil of the University of Bristol, UK, and colleagues have shown that the amount of blood drained from the animal, and the rate of blood loss, is the same regardless of whether or not it is stunned first.

Anil's team have already shown that stunning does not affect "bleed-out" in sheep. Now they have done the same thing in cattle. They measured the bleed-out in 13 cattle killed by the tradition Muslim method, and 13 killed in the same way, but having first been stunned by a captive-bolt-pistol blow to the head (Animal Welfare, vol 15, p 325).

"Stunning does not impede blood loss, therefore this objection cannot be used any more," says Anil, who is coordinating a European Union project to examine legislation and welfare issues related to religious slaughter, both shechita and halal.


Source

Domino's Pizza in hot water over Halal

12th February 2009, 12:14pm

A branch of Domino's Pizza in Birmingham is telling customers they can not have pork on their pizza, according to the Daily Telegraph.

The mixed-race area of Hall Green is home to many people who can only eat Halal options.

One customer was told he couldn't have a 'Meteor' pizza which has pepperoni, sausage, meatballs, ground beef and smoky bacon.

He told the Daily Telegraph: "It's a disgrace, I can appreciate them having it as an option but to have it completely Halal is just not on. I'm all for racial and religious tolerance but if anything this is intolerant to my beliefs and discriminatory against me.

"Instead I had to travel two miles out of my way to another branch – I was appalled. Hall Green is a mixed race area and should therefore cater to its multicultural make-up. In a society that promotes racial and religious integration, this sort of things only isolates people."

A worker at the store added: "The store wasn't doing very well so we had to do something – we needed people who weren't getting Halal options to come to us. It's been like this for four weeks and business has picked up a little."

A spokesman for Domino's said: "In that particular area of Birmingham there are a large number of Muslims so there is naturally more of a demand for Halal based products. We appreciate we cannot please everybody but there are alternatives, such as turkey ham, and we have thought long and hard about this decision and we are sure it is the right one."

source




Domino's defends 'halal-only' pizza outlet in Birmingham

UK Farming Minister Kennedy launches animal slaughter consultation

UK FARMING Minister Jane Kennedy has launched a consultation on proposed new rules on the welfare of animals at slaughter. The rules follow an EU proposal and will see measures introduced for all animals including poultry to ensure animals are slaughtered by a method that leads to instant death or death after stunning. She also confirmed exemptions would be available for slaughter in accordance with religious rites, such as for Halal and Kosher meat.

Halal Meat in Solution for School in the UK

Dale Primary School in Derby, England is to have only Halal meat on the school menu for certain days of the week. The reason being, that if the meat being served on the day is not totally Halal, there could be cross contamination with non Halal meat, especially pork. As the majority of the 550 pupils at this school are Muslim they have opted out of the local council school meals system.

full article/source

Kuwait 'Awash' With Fake Halal Meat

The swell in demand for halal products has given rise to fraud, where companies and exporters are labeling foods as halal, when, in fact, this is not the case. Up until recently, there was no centralized body defining the standards of halal and accrediting certification organizations. The International Halal Integrity Alliance (IHI) aims to counter halal deception and standardize regulations.

Full article/source

lead free kohl (kuhl)/surma??

Just recently, in my quest to find a halal eyeliner, I stumbled across some kohl brands which were banned in various countries due to their high lead content, however the same brands are currently still being sold in other countries such as the UK, and this is extremely worrying. There are many consumers who choose to wear kohl thinking it is natural product and therefore, is a halal product, yet unfortunately this very product is doing them much damage and they no little of it. Therefore when purchasing a certain brand of kohl, we must research into whether it is safe for human consumption.

Sarah

(need someone to research and confirm this..jazak Allah khair)


source

Thursday, February 12, 2009

THIS EMAIL/ARTICLE IS LABELLED AS PROBABLY BEING INACCURATE!!!!

By Dr. M. Amjad Khan (Supposedly)


In near
ly all the western countries including Europe, the PRIMARY choice for meat is PIG. There are a lot of farms in these countries to A breed this animal. In France alone, Pig Farms account for more than 42,000.

PIGS have the highest quantity of FAT in their body than any other animal. But Europeans and Americans try to avoid fats.

Thus, where does the FAT from these PIGS go? All pigs are cut
i
n slaughter houses under the control of the department of food and it was the headache of the department of food to dispose of the fat removed from these pigs.

Formally, it was burnt (about 60 years ago). Then they thought of utilizing it. First, they experimented it in the making of SOAPS and it worked.

Then, a full network was formed and this FAT was chemically Processed,Packed and Marketed, while the other manufacturing companies bought it. In the meantime, all European States made it a rule that every Food, Medical and Personal Hygiene product should have the ingredients listed on its cover. so, this ingredient was listed as PIG FAT.

Those who are living in Europe for the past 40 years know about this. But, these products came under a ban by the ISLAMIC COUNTRIES at that time, which resulted in a trade deficit.

Going back in time, if you are somehow related to South East Asia, you might know about the provoking factors of the 1857 CIVIL WAR. At that time, Rifle Bullets were made in Europe and transported to the sub-continent through the Sea.It took months to reach there and the gun powder in it was ruined due to the exposure to sea.

Then, they got the idea of coating the Bullets with fat, which was PIG FAT. The fat layer had to be scratched by teeth before using them.
When the word spread, the soldiers, mostly Muslim and some Vegetarians, refused to fight.Which eventually lead to the Civil War.

The Europeans recognized these facts, and instead of writing PIG FAT, they started writing ANIMAL FAT.All those living in Europe since 1970's know this fact. When the companies were asked by authorities from the MUSLIM COUNTRIES, what animal fat is it, they were told it was COW and SHEEP Fat. Here again a question raised, if it was COW or SHEEP Fat, still it is HARAM to MUSLIMS, as these animal were not SLAUGHTERED as per the ISLAMIC LAW. Thus, they were again banned.

Now, these multinational companies were again facing a severe drought of money as 75% of their income comes from selling their goods to Muslim Countries, and these earn BILLIONS OF DOLLARS of Profit from their exports to the MUSLIM WORLD.

Finally they decided to start a coding language, so that only their Departments of Food Administration should know what they are using, and the common man is left lurking in the dark.Thus, they started E-CODES. These


E-INGREDIENTS are present in a majority of products of
multinational firms including, but not limited to
-

TOOTH PASTE,
SHAVING CREAM
CHEWING GUM,
CHOCOLATE,
SWEETS,
BISCUITS,
CORN FLAKES, TOFFEES,
CANNED FOODS,
FRUIT TINS,

Some medication Multi-Vitamins Since these goods are being used in all MUSLIM Countries indiscriminately, our society is facing problems like shamelessness, rudeness and sexual promiscuity.


So, I request all MUSLIMS or non pork eaters to check the ingredients of the ITEMS of daily use and match it with the following list of E-CODES.
If any of the ingredients listed below is found, try to avoid it, as it has got PIG FAT ;

E100, E110, E120, E140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252, E270, E280, E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337, E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E471, E472, E473, E474, E475, E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493, E494, E495, E542,E570, E572, E631, E635, E904.

(Probably/possibly as commented by some reader(s) if anyone has researched all the ingredients and dont just say it is some food colour.. who told you what the source of the colour is??..)


Courtesy

Dr. M. Amjad Khan
Medical Research Institute
United States


Dr M Liaqat (PhD Food Biochemistry)
MA CONSULTING
UK

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Vimto Products Halal or haram?

Products Suitable for Vegetarians/Gelatine Free

Product

Suitable for Vegetarians/ Gelatine Free

Not suitable for vegetarians

Wham (all chew bar versions)

ü


Irn Bru (all chew bar versions)

ü


Vimto (all chew bar versions)


ü Contains E120 colouring

Cola (all chew bar versions)

ü


Lippy Chick (all chew bar versions)

ü


Blue Rave 10p

ü


Dan Bar (all chew bar versions)

ü


Roy of the Rovers

(all chew bar versions)

ü


Highland Toffee (all toffee bars)

ü


Choc. Highland Toffee 10p

ü


Black & Red 10p


ü Contains E120 colouring

Fizzy Lizzy 10p


ü Contains E120 colouring & gelatine.

Lanky Larry’s & Wizard Wandz


ü Contains gelatine

Tangy Banana 5p


ü Contains gelatine

Wham Itty Bitty’s

ü


Party Bags

ü (excluding Vimto)

ü Vimto contains E120 colouring

Traditional Highland Toffee & Fudge

ü


Bon Bons


ü Contains gelatine & some flavours E120 colouring





Last Updated: 27/04/2007

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

We regard the Vimto products as permissible. We have attached the Mc Cowans factsheet for more information:

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/files/mccowans.doc

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk

Many thanks for visiting the Vimto website and for your enquiry about whether Vimto has alcohol or animal derived ingredients.

All Vimto drinks are suitable for vegetarians. Additionally all Vimto branded confectionery with the exception of Vimto Bon Bons are also suitable for vegetarians.

Vimto does contain a very small amount of alcohol used as a carrier for the flavour.

Vimto does not contain any animal gelatine, animal fats or rennet. The flavourings used in soft drinks manufacture typically do contain alcohol however. This is used as the solvent to extract the flavouring substances from the fruits. Given the level of alcohol in the flavouring and the amount of flavouring used the level of alcohol therefore present in the final drink is extremely low.

We often receive enquiries of this nature in relation to Vimto’s suitability as Halaal. Strictly speaking, the drink is not Halaal however at least one soft drink manufacturer has presented a case to the Moslem council and had their products accepted for consumption despite containing the small amount of alcohol noted. We have not pursued this route ourselves but I have no reason to doubt that our products would receive the same acceptance.

Again thank you for taking the trouble to write to us. We very much appreciate hearing from Vimto consumers.

Kind regards

The Vimto Team


Source

Pringles haram or Pringles Halal?

Last Updated: 06/01/2009

Please Avoid:
PRINGLES Regular Smoked Bacon

The following are Halaal
PRINGLES
Regular Original
Regular Cheese & Onion
Regular Cheese
Regular Hot & Spicy *
Regular Paprika
Regular Prawn Cocktail
Regular Salt & Vinegar
Regular Sour Cream & Onion *
Regular Texas Barbecue
Light Original
Light Sour Cream & Onion *
Light Aromas Greek Style Cheese & Avocado Oil *
Light Aromas Mediterranean Salsa & Oregano Oil
Light Aromas Red Pepper & Olive Extract
Light Aromas Spicy Thai & Coconut Oil *
Rice Infusions Barbecue
Rice Infusions Cheese & Onion
Rice Infusions Classic
Rice Infustions Hot & Spicy
Rice Infusions Paprika
Rice Infusions Salt & Vinegar
Rice Infusions Sour Cream & Onion *
Rice Infusions Sweet & Sour *
Rice Infusions Thai Chilli & Lime
Select Italian Cheese & Garlic
Select Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar
Select Sundried Tomato *
Select Szechuan Barbecue
Select Thai Sweet Chili

HARAAM-
Regular Oven Roasted Chicken
Regular Roast Beef
Rice Infusions Peking Duck with Hoisin Sauce
Rice Infusions Sweet Beef Chili
Select Paprika

*carrier (trace)
Products which use a carrier are permissable. Alcohol used as carriers are common food industry techniques and are permissible due to necessity on condition that they do not intoxicate i.e. negligible (trace) amounts of alcohol are present.


Read the full article here:
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=200


Source