Thursday, February 19, 2009

Oreo Cookies Halal? (Updated)


Spotlight Halal: Oreo™ Cookies

WHAT IS IT?
Oreos™ are brand of snack cookies produced by Nabisco. The classic Oreo is made of two rich, near black chocolate wafers separated by a white creamy filling. They are the best-selling cookie in the U.S. In fact, over 362 billion Oreos have been sold since the cookie was first introduced in 1912, making it the best selling cookie of the 20th century. For the first 85 years of their manufacture, Oreo™ Cookies were made with animal fat.


oreos

The rich chocolate flavor of Oreos is so popular that it is found in recipes for milkshakes, cheesecakes, ice cream sundaes, pie crusts, pudding, breakfast bars, cakes and all types of chocolaty sweets.

Join our FB Group

HOW IS IT MADE?
For the first 85 years of its manufacture, Oreos were made with animal fat. That started changing in the late 1980's and early 1990's when Nabisco began reformulating its recipe to use vegetable shortening.

In the year 1998, Oreo cookies in the U.S. became certified as not containing fat from pigs or other animals. Oreos are made with the artificial flavoring 'vanillin' and not with 'vanilla extract.' Vanilla extract contains alcohol (ethanol) which counters Islamic dietary requirements. Vegetable shortening and vanillin are used in all varieties of Oreo cookies.

Oreos contain: Sugar, Flour, Vegetable Oil, Cocoa Powder, Corn Syrup, Baking Soda, Cornstarch, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Vanillin and Chocolate.

WARNING LEVEL: NONE

This issue of "Spotlight Halal" was written upon the request of a reader who asked us to research Oreo cookies -- and for good reason.


UPDATE APR-07-2009 click here for further clarification as to why oreo cookies are halal...Click here



Source

7 comments:

Anonymous said...

who even wrote this? some of the oreos are still haram, i called and asked them they said the reduced fat one is haram

Islam Etc said...

jazak Allah khair..


next time you have an update please let us know when.. (date) you called..

which exact product... which country...

makes sorting / distinguishind between different information / opinions easier...

Jazak Allah

Islam Etc said...

Click here for updated information regarding this article and why the authors still deem the information to be correct.. Click here

ManBM said...

I'm still in doubt as I also found this:
http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39826

Hope you may clarify. Thanks.

Anonymous said...

These are still haraam...i have received a recent email from the company email them at UKConsumerCare@krafteurope.com for more information.

Anonymous said...

oreos defo haraam. look on oreo website, although silly people, incredibly misleading, as if you only read under the heading "is oreo halal?" it says oreo is suitable for muslim diet as has no pork derivatives or alcohol... however, if you read under heading "is oreo suitable for vegetarians?" it clearly states that oreo is not suitable for vegetarians... you do the math!! ps. this is due to whey powder, as we know the source of which is suspected... some products contain whey powder yet are suitable for vegetarians, this product obviously is not...
shame, as my daughter n i loved them... oh well, may allah forgive us for past mistakes, and grant us something much much tastier than oreos in jannah! ameen!!

Abu Ibrahim said...

Salam alykoom, Due to all the questionable/doubtful answers and comments, the easiest thing/way for a Muslim is just to avoid the Oreo cookie name/brand... i by something similar from a local ALL HALAL STORE... it tastes even better knowing that its halal... and for anything that creates doubt, it is better for the believer to refrain/avoid it.. and may Allah guide us all upon the rite path..and forgive us for our ignorance..

Post a Comment