Pages

Friday, January 29, 2010

Tim hortons soups for vegetarians?? halal or haram>>

The following chart outlines the type of animal content in each of our soups.  Please check for updates periodically as this information is subject to change.  For allergen information or a list of ingredients, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616.
SOUP
TYPE OF ANIMAL CONTENT
Baked Beans (Quebec Only)
Pork
Cauliflower & Cheese
Milk
Chicken Noodle
Chicken, Egg, Milk
Chicken Vegetable Rice
Chicken, Milk
Chili
Beef
Clam Chowder
Fish and Shellfish, Milk
Cream Of Asparagus
Milk
Cream Of Broccoli
Milk
Creamy Field Mushroom
Milk
Hearty Mixed Vegetable
No animal content
Italian Florentine
Chicken, Beef, Milk
Minestrone
Pork/Beef (flavor), Milk
Potato Bacon
Pork (Bacon), Milk
Split Pea With Ham
Chicken, Pork (Ham), Milk
Tomato Parmesan
Milk
Turkey & Wild Rice
Turkey, Chicken, Milk, Egg, Gelatin (Pork), Beef
Vegetable Beef & Barley
Beef























Source

Tim hortons for Lacto Vegetarians

Lacto Vegetarian: A person following a Lacto-Vegetarian diet does not eat meat or egg products but can consume dairy products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of ingredient transfer.
A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:
  • Yeast Donuts (Apple Fritter, Blueberry Fritter, Boston Cream, Canadian Maple, Dutchies, Powdered Filled Donuts, Chocolate Dip, Honey Dip, Maple Dip and Vanilla Dip)
  • Cinnamon Rolls 
  • Oatcakes (cookie)
  • Low Fat Muffins (Cranberry, Blueberry)
  • Bagels 
  • Sandwich Buns
  • Soup Rolls
  • Tea Biscuits (excluding Ham and Cheese)
Source

Tim Hortons products for Vegans

Vegan: A person following a Vegan diet will not eat meat of any kind and will not consume any dairy or egg products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of ingredient transfer. A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:

. Bagels
. Sandwich Buns
. Soup Rolls
. Oatcakes (cookie)

Source

What is in Tim Hortons coffee?

Tim Hortons coffee is a premium blend of 100% Arabica coffee beans, with absolutely no additives. The "Always Fresh" policy of brewing fresh coffee every 20 minutes guarantees our customers coffee with the best flavor and aroma possible.
Source

Seems like it is as it sounds... nothing else added except water  and coffee...  Only thing to check is if in the processing of the coffee itself they use anything.. while some people might scoff at this notion.. others; specially those with a food sciences background will definitely understand food flavouring is an industry where the consumer will be amazed to find the amount of procedures an ingredient(s) has to go through before it comes in the form of a finished product in front of you...

Tim Hortons - baked goods produced without use of animal by-products or fats

(Tim horton's Website checked for reference on Jan/29/09)









 

From the Tim Hortons corporate web site:
http://www.timhortons.com/ca/en/menu/menu_info.html
The following Tim Hortons baked goods have been produced without the use of animal fats and by-products (including gelatin and rennet). Please note these products may contain milk or egg.
. Donuts & Timbits
. Danishes & Croissants (excluding Cheese)
. Muffins
. Tea biscuits (excluding Ham & cheese)
. Cookies
. Bagels
In addition:
. All donuts are cooked in 100% vegetable based fats
. All donut glaze is completely vegetable based
. All L-cysteine is from a synthetic source
. The mono- and diglycerides of all Tim Hortons products are vegetable based.
If you require any further nutrition or allergen information, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616 (Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time).

HMA Certified Halal meat store - AlMadina Halal Meat Packers

AlMadina Halal Meat Packers (in Bombay Bazar - Lawrence -  Toronto - Canada)

Monitored & Certified Products
All Fresh Beef, Veal, Lamb, Sheep, Goat and Chicken only

NOTE: Frozen Meats are NOT certified by HMA 
Address:
Almadina Halal Meat Packers (in Bombay Bazar)
2875 Lawrence Ave. E
Scarborough, ON,  M1P 2S8
Tel: 416 266-2197, 416 893-3002

Source

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

The Kebob (Mississauga Location) HMA HALAL Certified

The Kebob (Mississauga Location) (3650 Views)

Monitoried & Certifed Products
All dishes and menu items prepared  with fresh chicken, beef, veal, lamb and goat
Address:
3417 Derry Road East,
Mississauga, ON
L4T 1A8
Tel: 905 678 2324
Fax: 905 678 2647
This location only

Source

Sources of Sauces Halal or Haram??

Sauces are one of the most versatile innovations in man's love affair with food.
Very few foods indeed are eaten without some kind of sauce, be it a tomato sauce with a burger, as soya sauce with stir fry, chutney and relishes with chicken tikka and kebaabs, a base or topping sauce of a pizza, a basting sauce or marinade for a braai, mayonnaise and vinegar as salad dressing and caramel sauce for dessert.
The function of a sauce is to enhance flavour and act as a binder or thickener to prevent separation and increase the appeal of the dish. Its versatility makes it a firm favourite with cooks as it is available in powder, paste and liquid; in thick, medium or thin textures. It can be cooked separately or utilized as a cook-in-sauce.
More than three thousand substances are intentionally added to foods and drinks to produce a desirable effect.

LEAF UK 2010 - Awaiting updated info

LEAF UK 2010 - Awaiting updated info

Views: 425247 Last Updated: 10/01/2010
Question
 
Please do not refer to the following list.
The following are Halaal
Chewits - Strawberry Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Blackcurrant Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Fruit Salad Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Orange Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Lemon Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Lime Flavoured Stickpack
Vimto Flavour Chews Stickpack
Chewits - Xtreme Apple Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Xtreme Lemon Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Xtreme Tutti Frutti Flavour Stickpack
Chewits TwistWrap Bag 250g
Chewits Multipack  5stick
Chewits Multipack 7 stick
Vimto Chews Multipack 7 stick
Chewits Citrus Multipack 5 stick
Chewits Chunky Chews Bag
Chewits Ministick Bag 330g
Chewits Fruit Multipack 5+2 free
Chewits Citrus Multipack 5+2 free
Chewits Mixed Chunky Chew Bag
Chewits Strawberry & Vimto Multipack
Chewits Minis Mix Bag 250g
Chewits Strawberry Laces Bag 250g
Chewits Strawberry Whips x60
Chewits Apple Whips x 60
Chewits Cola Whips x 60
Chewits Orange Whips x 60
Chewits Skipping Ropes x 30
Chewits Strawberry Laces Bag x100g
Chewits Vampire Teeth 200g
Chewits Strawberry Twisters 120g

Company Statement about alcohol flavourings:
" Please note that some flavourings (an ingredient in Chewits) do contain alcohol as a carrier/solvent. However flavouring is only a small percentage of the recipe and       
due to the temperature of the product when flavour is added, the alcohol will 'flash off' thus leaving the product alcohol free."      

They have not told us which products contain the alcohol flavouring, so we cannnot advise any further you in that respect, if you wish to refrain.  However, our ruling is below.
Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
 
Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.
 

Mars 2010 (list of halal and haram) UK

Last Updated: 25/01/2010
These are Haraam
M&Ms Peanut- E120
M&Ms Chocolate- E120
M&Ms Crispy- E120
 
ALL THE FOLLOWING ARE HALAAL 
 

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Exemptions to mandatory nutrition labelling. (Health Canada)

 Are there any exemptions to mandatory nutrition labelling?
Do exempted foods ever have Nutrition Facts information?
Is there nutrition information for foods that are not prepackaged?

Click below for answers to these questions.. From the Health Canada Website..

Monday, January 18, 2010

Islamic Law Regarding Gelatin (JuCanada.org) Shaykh yusuf badat


Islamic Law Regarding Gelatine
 
If the source of Gelatine is derived from a Halaal source then its usage is permissible, whilst if the source is Haraam or Mashqook [doubtful] then it will be considered Haraam. The hide matrix or gelatine protein is basically a piece of skin, which is hydrollised, washed, melted and extracted, purified, evaporated, sterilised, chilled, dried and granulated for further shelf life and easy use. Alkaline treatment tends to remove amide groups present on certain amino acid residues on the collagen protein chains resulting in a lowering of the isoelectric point and consequently an alteration not a transformation of the chemical and physical properties of the protein occurs. Despite the above method of changing a raw product into gelatine under tremendous chemical pressure still retains much of its chemical equation. The collagen triple helix structure is lost during this procedure but the resultant Gelatine product retains the original coil structure. The aspect of Tabdeel-e-Mahiyyat does not take place.
 
Muslims should avoid choosing Haraam and doubtful ingredients. If a comparable medication is available in tablet or liquid form it would be advisable to ask for them instead of taking capsules. In the area of food we have such a vast selection of products whereby foregoing a certain brand containing Gelatine should pose no problem. In the UK it is a legal requirement to list ingredients in products and a reference to this guide will indicate what can be consumed or not. Muslim countries as well as local associations should provide finances to initiate and promote research to develop alternate forms to Gelatine to overcome this problem.
 
And Allah Knows Best
Shaykh Yusuf Badat
Darul Iftaa of CCMT

Monday, January 11, 2010

Toronto - Downtown HMA Certified Halal Meat Stores

List of HMA Certified Halal Meat stores in Downtown Toronto
  • Iqbal Halal Foods
  • Sarker Foods 
  • Marhaba Super Market (Danforth St.)
  • Marhaba Super Market (Parliament St.)

HMA certified meat store - Kabul Bazaar (Scarborough - canada)

Monitored & Certified Products
All Fresh Beef, Veal, Lamb, Goat and Chicken only
 
NOTE: Frozen Meats are NOT certified by HMA 
Address:
Kabul Bazaar
2683 Lawrence Ave. E.
(next to Jami Abu-Bakr Masjid)
Scarborough
416-757-5225

Hma Certified Meat store - Makkah Halal Meat (Scarborough-Toronto)

Makka Halal Meat & Grocery
5650 Sheppard Avenue East, 
Scarborough, ON M1B 5P6
 (416) 412-7215

Link for Directions / map (GOOGLE)



Monitored & Certified Products
All Fresh Beef, Veal, Lamb, Sheep, Goat and Chicken only
 
NOTE: Frozen Meats are NOT certified by HMA 


(This is current valid on the date of posting.. JAN/11/2010)

please keep updating / checking periodically... this blog and the Hma website..

HMA TORONTO WEBSITE
SOURCE




Sunday, January 10, 2010

Joseph Dobson & Sons Ltd 2010 (halam /haram)



Last Updated: 19/12/2010 J Dobson's Statement: "All our products are animal free (suitable for vegetarians) and we add no alcohol."
All Joseph Dobson Products in this case are permissible according to the information provided.  List follows below.
 SOURCE


Joseph Dobson & Sons LTD.


Boiled sweets

Pepsi Tango Robinsons (Britvic) 2010


1. PEPSICO
The following PEPSICO products are Halaal:
Pepsi Cola
Diet Pepsi Cola
Pepsi Max
Pepsi Twist
7Up
7Up Light

Pepsi Raw
7 Up,
7 Up Free,
Gatorade
and V Water

All Pepsico products are suitable for vegetarians and contain no added alcohol

2. BRITVIC
The  following are Haraam:
Robinsons High Juice Blood Orange Soft Drink(E120)


Alcohol Statement - Britvic Products


"All products that contain any level of ethanol as a solvent have been declared as 'carrier', even if this level is extremely low.  The level present in all the products using ethanol as a carrier will not be significant - it is comparable with the level of ethanol that may naturally be found in fruit juice.

All products that contain a significant level of ethanol, due to this being deliberately present from an ingredient, are declared as 'Added'."


Products which use a carrier are permissable.  Alcohol used as carriers are common food industry techniques and are permissible due to necessity on condition that they do not intoxicate i.e. negligible (trace) amounts of alcohol are present.
Please refer to full product list below to ascertain Halaal according to the Added (HARAAM) and Carrier (Halaal).
  
Added Alcohol Products
All Products with Added in the alcohol status are expressly forbidden thus: 

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft
Drink With Beer 2 L PET Bottle



added

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft 
Drink With Beer 275 ml Glass Bottle
added

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft 
Drink With Beer 330 ml Can
added

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft 
Drink With Beer 330 ml Glass Bottle
added



Alcohol Statement - Britvic Products
All products that contain any level of ethanol as a solvent have been declared as 'carrier', even if this level is extremely low.  The level
present in all the products using ethanol as a carrier will not be significant - it is comparable with the level of ethanol that may naturally be found in fruit juice.

All products that contain a significant level of ethanol, due to this being deliberately present from an ingredient, are declared as 'Added'.

To conclude, all Products with Added in the alcohol status are expressly forbidden.  Products which use a carrier are permissable.  Alcohol used as carriers are common food industry techniques and are permissible due to necessity on condition that they do not intoxicate i.e. negligible (trace) amounts of alcohol are present.
Please refer to full product list below to ascertain Halaal according to the Added (HARAAM) and Carrier (Halaal).


Thursday, December 31, 2009

Sanha South africa.. (Contact us information)

KwaZulu-Natal
Durban Office:

Tel: +27 [0]31 207 5768
Fax: +27 [0]31 207 5793
e-mail:sanha-kzn@sanha.org.za
Gauteng
Johannesburg Office:

Tel: +27 [0]11 870 8000
Fax: +27 [0]11 870 8020
e-mail:sanha-gp@sanha.org.za
Western Cape
Cape Town Office:

Tel: +27 [0]21 633 4145
Fax: +27 [0]21 633 4148
e-mail:sanha-cpt@sanha.org.za
National Halaal Helpline
National Halaal Helpline:

Tel: 0861 786 111 (from within SA only)
e-mail:helpline@sanha.org.za

Source

Thursday, December 24, 2009

HMA Certified Meat Stores (TORONTO / CANADA) November 2009

Certified Meat Stores

The below mentioned is a list of HMA certified meat stores.
Click on the outlet names for complete details.


Ontario

Brampton

Title
Date Posted
Nu Makkah Halal Meat & Grocers
10/15/2007 9:18 am
Brampton Halal Meats
9/25/2009 11:25 am

Mississauga


Title
Date Posted
Zam Zam Supermarket
6/16/2008 11:25 am
Al Ikhwan Halal Meat & Groceries
1/19/2009 7:49 pm
Mississauga Halal Meat & Groceries
10/5/2009 9:10 am
Watto Supermarket
11/17/2009 10:35 am

Toronto

Ti
Date Posted
Marhaba Super Market (Parliament
10/15/2007 10:58 am
Marhaba Super Market (Danforth St.)
10/15/2007 10:54 am
Sarker Foods
10/21/2008 10:41 pm
Iqbal Halal Foods
10/15/2007 9:35 am

Scarborough


Title
Date Posted
Kabul Bazaar
9/15/2008 2:19 pm
Makkah Halal Meat
10/10/2009 4:42 pm
AlMadina Halal Meat Packers
(in Bombay Bazar - Lawrence)
10/27/2009 10:12 pm
Bismillah Supermarket (near Masjid Bilal)
11/9/2009 8:24 am







Source

HMA Certification Canceled / Withdrawn: (TORONTO / CANADA) November 2009

Certification Canceled / Withdrawn:
  
The below mentioned is a list of outlets recently revoked or canceled for HMA certification. Please exercise caution:
 
Click on the list for more information
 

Friday, December 18, 2009

PANDAPOPS VIMTO 2010 (UK)

According to the information provided, we deem the range of Panda Pops www.pandapops.com as Halaal. 

Vimto Original Cordial
Vimto NAS Cordial
Vimto Standard 330ml can
Vimto Standard 150ml can
Vimto NAS 330ml can
Vimto Standard 500ml bottle
Vimto Standard 2ltr bottle
Vimto NAS 330ml bottle



All of the following products contain alcoholic traces from manufacturing processes and Halaal. 

Panda Still Blackcurrant 330ml bottle
Panda Still Orange 330ml bottle
Panda Still Raspberry 330ml bottle
Panda Spring Apple 330ml bottle
Panda Spring Orange & Pineapple 330ml bottle
Panda Spring Blackcurrant 330ml bottle
Panda Pops Cola 330ml bottle
Panda Pops Orange 330ml bottle
Panda Pops Cherry 330ml bottle
Panda Pops Lemonade 330ml bottle
Sunkist Orange 330ml can
Sunkist Orange 2ltr bottle
Sunkist Diet Orange 330ml can
Sunkist Lemon 330ml can
Sunkist Tropical 330ml can


Vimto Still 500ml bottle
Vimto NAS Still 500ml bottle
Vimto 250ml tetrapak
Vimto 250ml pouch


Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:

Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

Read the full article here:

Correspondence from Panda Pops:
Thank you very much for your e-mail.
In answer to your questions, none of our Popzone products contain animal derived products or use animal derived processing aids.
Most of the range contain alcohol at less than 0.1 %. The alcohol, ethanol, is used as a solvent for the flavourings to preserve freshness and make them soluble. This is a legal requirement.
Thank you for your interest.
Kind Regards
Marketing Executive - Soft Drinks

Boundaries of Waswasa and Mashbooh

Views: 1108177
Last Updated: 07/12/2009
Question
 
There is a danger of cross-contamination with just about everything
we eat in the WEST; where do we draw the line?

I am NOT trying to debate; but trying to understand the doundaries
between MASHBOOH & WASWASA




Answer

 
Last Updated: 07/12/2009 23/ February 2005:

Jazakallah for your query on the subject of Mashbooh and Waswasa.  In these days especially, it is a valid issue that needs to be addressed.  Notwithstanding a pinch of common sense and taking the middle way will ensure safety without having to compromise.

What is Mashbooh? -The status of a product is ..

Pringles (2010) UK-Based

Please Avoid:
PRINGLES Regular Smoked Bacon

The following are Halaal
PRINGLES
Regular Original
Regular Cheese & Onion
Regular Cheese
Regular Hot & Spicy   *
Regular Paprika
Regular Prawn Cocktail
Regular Salt & Vinegar
Regular Sour Cream & Onion  *
Regular Texas Barbecue

Rice Infusions Barbecue
Rice Infusions Cheese & Onion
Rice Infusions Classic
Rice Infustions Hot & Spicy
Rice Infusions Paprika
Rice Infusions Salt & Vinegar
Rice Infusions Sour Cream & Onion *
Rice Infusions Sweet & Sour
Rice Infusions Thai Chilli & Lime *

Select Italian Cheese & Garlic (Animal Rennet)
Select Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar
Select Sundried  Tomato   *
Select Szechuan Barbecue
Select Thai Sweet Chili

Extreme Exploding Cheese & Chilli
Extreme Flamin' Chilli Sauce
Extreme Wasabi    *


HARAAM-

Regular Oven Roasted Chicken - cooked chicken meat
Regular Roast Beef - Beef powder
Rice Infusions Peking Duck with Hoisin Sauce - beef / pork/
Rice Infusions Sweet Beef Chili - beef powder
Select Paprika - bacon extract (pork)
Extreme Smokin'Ribs - pork and beef

*  Alcoholic Flavouring carrier (trace)
Products which use a carrier are permissable.  Alcohol used as carriers are common food industry techniques and are permissible due to necessity on condition that they do not intoxicate i.e. negligible (trace) amounts of alcohol are present.



Read the full article here:
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=200
Is Whey Rennet Haraam?  (no!)
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20


SOURCE

Soda/Pop & How Intoxicants are Haraam

Filed under: FIQH, Islam and Food, Q & A — alfaida @ 11:55 pm
Soda/Pop & How Intoxicants are Haraam
QUESTION:
On the question of soft drinks containing alcohol, some Ulama are of the view that alcohol which is not grape extract is permissible. The Ulama who hold this view contend that:
• If the alcohol is neither from dates nor grapes it is permissible.
• Imaam Muhammad’s view of prohibition does not apply to soft drinks because the factors found in intoxicants are not in soft drinks.
The claim that non-grape and non-date alcohols are permissible has come as a great surprise to many who have read the fatwa issued by the Ulama who hold that soft drinks are permissible. The categoric fatwa proclaiming non-grape and non-date alcohol permissible has far reaching consequences and repercussions which I as a layman can foresee. Whiskey, vodka, champagne, all beers and most varieties of wines and liquors contain ethanol or non-grape and non-date alcohol. on the basis of the fatwa of permissibility of ethanol, it follows that all forms of wines if taken in small quantities which do not intoxicate will be permissible. Please comment and clarify the confusion caused by this fatwa of permissibility of ethanol.

ANSWER:
RASULULLAH (SALLALLAHU ALAYHI WASALLAM) said that as Qiyaamah draws near, liquor will be made lawful by dubbing it with fancy names. The initial stage for such legalization of liquor has already commenced. And this process, sad to say, has been initiated by the Ulama of this time. Whereas in former times Ulama closed the slightest avenue from which haraam and corruption could enter, in these times in proximity to Qiyaamah, some Ulama have adopted a diametrically opposite stand. Instead of closing avenues of haraam and corruption, they not only open such avenues, but actively foster and defend such processes which constitute the introductory steps to haraam.
Every Muslim with a little intelligence will understand the purport of the following Hadith: “Every intoxicant is haraam.”
And, every clear-thinking Muslim who has no vested interest or axe to grind or who has no allegiance to an organization other that the Shariah or who is unbiased will readily understand the meaning of the following Hadith: “Whatever of a great quantity intoxicates, a lesser quantity of that substance is (also) haraam.”
Ethanol (the non-grape and non-date alcohol) is the intoxicating agent in all liquors which contain this substance. Take away the alcohol, and the whiskey, champagne, etc. will cease to be liquor. All contain ethanol. All these drinks have been converted into wine/liquor by ethanol. on the basis of the ‘fatwa’ of permissibility it will follow that a few drops of whiskey added to a glass of water or any other lawful drink will not render that drink haraam because the whiskey contains ethanol, not grape alcohol and not date alcohol.
Some beers contain the same minute percentage of ethanol alcohol as soft drinks, yet thus far none of those who say ethanol is permissible has ventured to say that beer is halaal although that time is not far off when beer and wines will be openly declared ‘halaal’ based o¬n the ethanol permissibility fatwa. If a few drops of beer or vodka or whisky will render water or any syrup or drink haraam, there is no logical reason for claiming that any drink besides known beers, which contain ethyl alcohol is halaal. By the same token if a soft drink with a small quantity of ethyl alcohol can be halaal then a beer with a small quantity of ethyl alcohol will also be halaal. The issue is not whether soft drinks intoxicate or not. Beer like Barbican and others do not intoxicate and cannot intoxicate o¬n account of the minute quantity of ethanol it contains. Regardless of the quantity, intoxicants are haraam. Whether the intoxicant is in beer or soft drinks (Barbican too is a soft drink) it is haraam and will render the drink haraam.
The claim regarding Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh) is very misleading. The illustrious Hanafi Fuqahaa of the past 13 centuries were all aware of all the arguments of Imaam Abu Hanifa, Imaam Abu Yusuf and Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayhim). Inspite of their thorough knowledge of the arguments of these Fuqahaa, the fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab for the past 13 hundred years has been on the ruling of Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh). Why do these Ulama in this belated age seek to override the Fatwa or the 13 century old Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab for the sake of Coke? And, in the process of trying to abrogate this Fatwa they are opening a wide door of fitnah and corruption by providing ‘proofs’ for the permissibility of alcohol – liquor and beer.
The Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab remains valid and in full force even today and so it will remain until the end of earthly time. No o¬ne has the authority to override this 13 hundred year old Fatwa by attempting to water it down with the assertion that it is Imaam Muhammad’s ruling/view in conflict with the view of Imaam Abu Hanifah. People of Ilm should understand the operation of the principles of the Math-hab. They should not attempt to detract from the gravity and importance of the Fatwa of the hurmat (prohibition) of all types of alcohol by simply attributing the prohibition to Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh). In so doing they are rendering a great disservice to the Deen and are unconsciously constituting the category of men who come within the scope of the Hadith which predicts the legalization of liquor.
It should be noted that the scope for the permissibility of using non-grape and non-date alcohol applies to medicines and non-edibles. In view of the difference of opinion among the Fuqahaa regarding the types of alcohol, the latitude in its use is restricted to essentials. The permissibility cannot be extended to non-essential consumables which in fact are harmful for the health. There is thus no scope whatever for proclaiming soft drinks permissible o¬n the basis of the ikhtilaaf (difference) of opinion. It is indeed the height of folly, to say the least, to upset the Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab, viz. Imaam Muhammand’s view for a physically ruinous substance such as coke. It is extremely irresponsible to reject the 13 century Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab and open a wide doorway for future ‘legalization’ of liquor purely for the sake of consuming a drinks which wrecks the physical health. o¬ne small bottle of soft drink contains 12 teaspoons of sugar. Wisdom and responsibility demand that in so far as coke and soft drinks in general are concerned, o¬nly the view of Imaam Muhammad be entertained.
[The Majlisul Haqq]


SOURCE 



Tales from South africa.. MJC... Sanha,,(Halal/Haram) Disgusting....

The Evil Halaal Certificate Trade 

Filed under: Islam and Business, Islam and Food, Naseehat, SANHA — alfaida @ 12:15 am
The Evil Halaal Certificate Trade

A LETTER FROM MAULANA YUNUS PATEL TO THE CHAIRMAN OF THE MUSLIM JUDICAL COUNCIL HALAAL TRUST CAPE TOWN
Dear Shaikh As-Salaamu alaikum wa-Rahmatullah
Hoping you are well.
I feel compelled to bring to your notice that having heard the representatives of SANHA and MJC at the meeting on Saturday (24th of August 2002) in Cape Town, I come to the following conclusions:
1.) Although, as mentioned by your chairman, the evidence was not tested, it was clear as daylight sun that gross discrepancies had been discovered by SANHA at some of the plants and companies certified by the MJC.
2.) When these serious grievances were brought to the attention of your Halaal Trust, much of it was totally ignored. SANHA provided documentary evidence, in a very comprehensive report, tabled at the meeting. The response to other letters was either, a threat of action against SANHA or some justification for the error.
3.) To any person studying the report or listening with an open, unbiased, unprejudiced mind, to the representatives of SANHA and MJC at the Hearing, the following would emerge:
(a.) The only complaint of MJC Halaal Trust seems to have been the unethical, un-Islamic practice of SANHA’s “interference” in its certification.
(b.) SANHA considering “Shaafi” Mazhab as inferior.
(c.) SANHA considering MJC’s standards as inferior.
I have had an excellent working relationship with MJC for decades. We have always co-operated on many projects and respected each others views and differences on matters, as long as they were based on the Qur’aan and Sunnah. The Jamiat always considered MJC as a Halaal Certifying body and accepted its certified products. Nay, even consumed some of them over the years.
So it is not a question of “prejudice” that I state the following:
Almost everyone that was present there, including some MJC members, whom I contacted later, agreed that there were serious flaws and major discrepancies that had to be addressed; as a matter of urgency. .
That the myth that it was a “Hanafi / Shaafi ” issue was not true.
That SANHA was not witch-hunting but merely informing the public of their findings, when MJC fails to respond to their queries and complaints.
Wallah, my stomach churned and heart seemed to skip a beat when I read the comprehensive report submitted by SANHA. I honestly believe and share the tears of Shaikh Omar Khabir at the meeting that a great injustice has been done to the Ummah. Amongst many other discrepancies, the following were recorded:
Well documented evidence was presented of severing just one vein (rendering chicken totally Haraam according to all Mazhabs). .
Products containing pork fat, blood plasma, white wine flavour, bacon flavour, blood powder, etc. were marketed with the MJC label. .
Confirmed slaughtering by non-Muslim slaughterers.
Non-Muslim inspector and staff. .
Contamination in fridges of Halaal and Haraam items. .
Non-Muslim wholesaler with no Muslim staff, supplying MJC certified Halaal meat. .
Haraam or absolutely doubtful imports from Brazil, China, etc., certified Halaal and the list goes on.
I repent, that although the evidence was not tested, I, for o¬ne, am certain that if it had been arbitration, more shocking disclosures would have surfaced.
I am always one for conciliation and settlement of disputes. However having read the report and listened carefully to both sides I am of the opinion that if the discrepancies had not been brought to the attention of the MJC, it would have been “un-Islamic and unethical “.
My concern now is that just concluding with a working committee is not enough. When the report was read by members of the Jamiat Natal, they were shocked beyond belief that for monetary gain, the MJC Halaal Trust could have allowed so much of Haraam to be consumed by innocent Muslims. It makes us shudder on how we will answer Allah Ta’ala, when all those who consumed Haraam on our guarantee that it was Halaal, will catch our garments on the Day of Qiyaamah. May Allah Ta’ala protect us from His Azaab.
My suggestion is that the MJC should immediately look at all its certified plants and companies:
Implement the most stringent standards.
That it should allow the take over of operations outside the Cape Province by SANHA or Regional bodies. The MJC cannot do justice to National and International certification. .
The MJC should work in co-operation with SANHA towards a national certifying body. Monetary gain or commercial interests should never be the criteria of Ulama bodies. .
A senior member of MJC stated openly at a meeting: “We need the money. We run our projects with it. .”
If the MJC is unable to maintain and control standards at certain plants, then it must withdraw its Halaal certificate and announce this in the Press. It should never, never, allow, at any cost, Haraam and doubtful products to be consumed.
The comprehensive report should not be shelved away. It should be studied by all MJC Halaal Trust members. Thousands of Rands and valuable man hours must have gone in its preparation.
I do agree that there could be aspects of it which could be “rebutted” as Shaikh Yaaseen mentioned. However, even if just 20% of it is true, it is cause for major concern.
I, for one, who used to openly declare all products certified by MJC as Halaal for many years and even consume some at times, am truly and deeply disturbed.
How can I guarantee them anymore?
Please forgive me for this letter. My conscience weighed heavily on me.
Do read the letter with an open mind and in its right context. We are all human. No one or no organization is perfect. We must have the humility to acknowledge and accept our mistakes, and rectify.
The MJC has kept Islam alive in the Cape through its Imaams and projects. May Allah Ta’ala strengthen it and may it continue to serve the community at large, with sincerity.
Was-Salaam
Yunus Patel (Maulana)
(President of Jamiatul Ulama, KwaZulu, Natal)

“The Majlis” Vol.15 No.6
This article is from TheMajlis.net
http://themajlis.net/

Source