Sunday, June 28, 2009

Tropicana Pure Premium drinks, Orange Juice Halal or Haram?

This refers only to Tropicana Pure Premium drinks which can be found on this page


To make matters clear - some of their flavors contain cochineal/carmine, the insect coloring

Their orange juices containing Omega - 3 contains fish oil and fish gelatin which is permissible for us, alhamdulillah.

XYZ:

We'd be delighted to answer your questions about Tropicana Orange Juice.

With regards to animal derived ingredients being included, most of Tropicana's juice products are vegetarian/vegan. There are a few juices which contain cochineal/carmine (which will be listed in the ingredients if contained in a product) and Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice containing Omega-3.

We began listing carmine, a natural color, several years ago on the ingredient labels of those juices containing this ingredient. Primarily, carmine is used in our non-refrigerated juices. However, Tropicana's packaging is clearly labeled and complies with current government regulations.

The source of Omega-3's used in Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice is called MEG-3 (fish oil and fish gelatin). It contains tilapia, sardine and anchovy.

We hope this information is helpful, Lazeena. Thank you for your business and interest in our products.

"M"
Tropicana Consumer Relations

The website does not contain an ingredients list for each flavor, so you'll have to check at the supermarket, here is a list of the Tropicana Pure varieties to check for the dye in them:
  • Pulp Free
  • Some Pulp
  • High Pulp
  • Pulp Free Calcium + Vitamin D
  • High Pulp + Calcium
  • Healthy Kids
  • Antioxidant Advantage
  • Healthy Heart With Omega-3
  • Low Acid
  • Golden Grapefruit
  • Ruby Red Grapefruit
  • Ruby Red Grapefruit With Calcium
  • Orange Strawberry Banana
  • Orange Tangerine
  • Orange Pineapple
  • Grape
  • Cranberry Juice Cocktail
  • Orchard Style Apple

Source

No comments:

Post a Comment