Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Haagen Dazs Ice Cream halal / Haram?

Haagen Dazs Ice Cream

The only Haagen Dazs ice cream which are not permissible to eat, are any with marshmallows, also Bailey's Irish Cream and Rum Raisin contain alcohol.


Here is the email that was sent to me:

Dear XYZ,

Thank you for your email requesting nutritional information on HÄAGEN-DAZS® Ice Cream. In an increasingly health-conscious society, I am always pleased to respond to our consumers' questions regarding our products.

Milk and egg are animal derived. However, aside from the gelatin in the marshmallows and marshmallow variegates, we have no other ingredients which are animal derived. Please be advised, there may also be eggs in some inclusions, like cookie dough.

HÄAGEN-DAZS® Bailey's ® Irish Cream contains a small amount of alcohol as a flavor -- approximately 0.5% weight of alcohol per serving. The amount of alcohol in the Rum Raisin is less than 1 gram per serving

We hope that this information is useful to you and we appreciate your taking the time to contact our company to share your concerns.

Sincerely,
"NM"
Consumer Response Representative

3 comments:

aedos said...

its name rum = alchohol. still haram even just a spill. or to little. but still haram.

Anonymous said...

my name is ? i am not a muslim - u should never eat anything that is haram so why do so many of us ignore it

Anonymous said...

many of the other flavours that contain 'natural' or 'other flavours' also contain alcohol as alcohol is a base in the flavourings.

Post a Comment