Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Nutella Hazelnut Spread - Halal or Haram??

Nutella Ingredients






















      

 Over 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz. Ja
 Contains No Artificial Colors
 Contains No Artificial Preservatives

ingredients: sugar, modified palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skim milk, reduced minerals whey (from milk), soy lecithin: an emulsifier, vanillin: an artificial flavor.

I just received an Email from Nutella (canada) confirming they whey in their ingredients is not from any animal source but rather from vegetarian source.According to the consumer affairs spokesperson they have contacted their suppliers and have been told that the rennet is free from animal products / by products.

Also that their product is certified OU / Kosher in canada, this can be seen on their website as well:

Is Nutella® kosher?
Yes, Nutella® is kosher. (source)

Email from Nutella:



Thank you for contacting Ferrero Canada regarding NUTELLA®. We have confirmed with our Product Development team that NUTELLA® 400g and 750 g manufactured by our plant in Brantford for Canada is produced with “vegetarian” whey since modern cheese and whey production does not include animal bi- product.  NUTELLA® is OU Kosher certified.

We have contacted our suppliers of these rennet products and have been given written assurance that no animal products (including ruminant derived materials) are used in their manufacture.

Kind Regards,
Consumer Relations Canada

-------------------------------------------------------------------- 
p.s: As always please check with the company (nutella) YOURSELF and try to get it all in writing.. and also another general rule is to keep updating every few months or so whether their ingredients have changed our not..

11 comments:

Crosby luver! said...

oh that answers a lot of my questions...but wut about the vanilla thing?

lady butterfly said...

em....what about alcohol?
do they put any type of alcohol?
nutella is so tasty~

Anonymous said...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: consumers.uk@ferrero.com
To: turkey151@hotmail.com
Date: Mon, 10 Jan 2011 15:03:28 +0100
Subject: RE: Nutella

Dear Mrs Cinar,



Thank you again for your email.



The Nutella manufactured and imported into the UK is not suitable for vegetarians. Ferrero are currently in the process of changing all our Nutella using the vegetarian sourced whey powder, however, France where the UK Nutella is produced is still to be converted.



I can confirm that Ferrero Rocher is suitable for vegetarians and the whey powder is used is vegetarian sourced.



Yours sincerely,





Georgina Colling

Consumer Relations Department

Ferrero UK Ltd, Building 7, Hatters Lane, Croxley Green Business Park, Watford, Herts, WD18 8PA

Tel: +44 (0) 1923 690300

Fax: +44 (0) 1923 690400

P please don't print this e-mail unless essential




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: h. everest [mailto:turkey151@hotmail.com]
Sent: 06 January 2011 09:50
To: UK Consumers GBR
Subject: RE: Nutella



Hi,
Thank you for your quick response to my querry. One of my friend has sent me your Australia web site which approves that Nutella was halal in 2008, I am not sure now.
http://www.nutella.com.au/products/ingredients/
Also another American website has a competition about Nutella recipes which made me think that the one they consume also must be halal because the website called myhalalkitchen.
http://www.myhalalkitchen.com/2010/02/05/a-nutella-recipe-contest-for-you/

If you are able to give me that information, could you please let me know what countries which Nutella was produced, suitable for halal or vegetarian diet?
Also another request to whom it may concern, Why they don't think of potential consumers who would love to buy Nutella in UK if it was halal or at least suitable for vegetarian diet as we need to find alternatives instead?

If Nutella is not suitable for vegetarian diet, your other product Ferrero Rocher is not suitable as well, or is it edible for vegetarians?

Thank you very much for your time answering my questions.

Kind Regards,
Mrs. H. Cinar




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: consumers.uk@ferrero.com
To: turkey151@hotmail.com
Date: Wed, 5 Jan 2011 17:11:35 +0100
Subject: RE: Nutella

Dear Mrs Cinar,



Thank you for your email regarding Nutella.



I can confirm that Nutella is not suitable for vegetarians and therefore not suitable for halal.



Yours sincerely,





Georgina Colling

Consumer Relations Department

Ferrero UK Ltd, Building 7, Hatters Lane, Croxley Green Business Park, Watford, Herts, WD18 8PA

Tel: +44 (0) 1923 690300

Fax: +44 (0) 1923 690400

www.ferrero.co.uk

P please don't print this e-mail unless essential


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: h. everest [mailto:turkey151@hotmail.com]
Sent: 05 January 2011 16:00
To: UK Consumers GBR
Subject: Nutella



Dear Sir/ Madam
I have heard that Nutella which you are producing-selling in UK is not suitable for vegetarian diet. A friend said that Nutella has HALAL certificate. Could you please also confirm that whether Nutella is HALAL or not?

Kind Regards,
Mrs. H. Cinar








Notice: The information contained in this e-mail and/or documents which accompany it is confidential, may be privileged, proprietary and exempt from disclosure, and is intended for the exclusive use of the person or persons to whom it is addressed. If you are not the intended recipient or if you have received this message in error for any reason, please advise us immediately by reply e-mail and delete both the message and the copy thereof contained in reply. Thank you.

carouseLP said...

dated: 22-sept-2011

i emailed nutella-usa a day or 2 back and got this reply -- cheers to everyone who likes nutella and ferrero rochers :D

"[EMAIL –Please do not reply to this email]

Dear Ms. Tabassum:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us with your question regarding our products.

Nutella & Rocher do not contain alcohol or animal by products. They whey is derived from milk but demineralized to filter out raw whey mixture.

We are dedicated to providing consumers with the highest quality products to enjoy and are grateful for loyal consumers like you. We hope that you will continue to enjoy our Nutella® hazelnut spread as well as our other excellent products.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.

Sincerely,

Ferrero U.S.A., Inc.
Consumer Relations
________________________________
From: globalcms@ferrero.com [globalcms@ferrero.com]
Sent: Tuesday, September 20, 2011 9:35 PM
To: USA_Info (Mail_In)
Subject: Nutrition/Ingredient Information - Nutella"

khursheed said...

Hi I TOTALY dont know is nutella of UK is halal or haram because it have Whey powder in the ingriedent and I read in this page tow answers wich in one of them said its hala or suitable for
vegetarians and ather one is said its not suitable for vegetarian and its haram

khursheed said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said...

What if the product is made in different country or places for example,Indonesia.is it also haraam? Did they put the same ingredients for the ferrero@nutella products that are manufactured in uk? I hope for a quick reply please.thanks

husseinkhadem said...

please in one word dos nuttela ferrero halal or haram

M Raz said...

Nutella Website says:

Its absolutely Vegetarian.

Link: http://www.wakeuptonutella.co.uk/faqs.php

Fizzah Tariq said...

http://www.wakeuptonutella.co.uk/faqs.php

on the UK website it says it is suitable for vegetarains

Maroun Milan said...

need to know the whey powder percentage and the sugar percentage in a 1 kgs of nutella

Post a Comment