Pages

Sunday, January 4, 2009

Chocolate Liquor

WHAT IS IT?
Chocolate Liquor, also known as ‘cocoa liquor’ and ‘cocoa mass’ is a smooth, thick, liquid form of chocolate. It is the purest form of chocolate, produced by grinding cacao beans. Chocolate liquor contains roughly 50% cocoa solids (cocoa powder) and 50% cocoa butter, the pale-yellow vegetable fat of the cacao bean. When it is cooled and molded into blocks, chocolate liquor is known as unsweetened baking chocolate.

Chocolate Liquor is the key ingredient in chocolate. It is used as the base for cakes, brownies, cookies and candy bars. Chocolate in its most familiar form is made by mixing chocolate liquor with (more) cocoa butter or cocoa, sugar, soy lecithin and, often, milk. The cocoa to cocoa butter ratio determines the darkness and flavor intensity of the chocolate being produced. As with dark chocolate, the higher the cocoa content, the darker and richer the flavor. The higher the cocoa butter and milk content, the lighter the color and creamier the texture of the resulting chocolate. A prime example of a chocolate with a high cocoa butter and milk content is white chocolate. White chocolate contains no cocoa.


HOW IS IT MADE?Chocolate Liquor is produced by taking cocoa beans that have been fermented, dried, roasted, and separated from their shells. The fermentation process is to remove the fleshy, fruity pulp that surrounds the beans; the fatty beans, themselves, do not ferment. Grinding the processed beans releases the smooth, thick chocolate liquor from their centers. Cocoa should not be confused with the coca plant, which can be used to create cocaine.

MYTH: "Chocolate Liquor contains ALCOHOL."False.Chocolate liquor is distinct from ‘chocolate liqueur’, a chocolate flavored alcoholic beverage. Chocolate liquor contains NO ALCOHOL; it is simply a liquid form of chocolate. However, ‘chocolate liqueur,’ also known as ‘crème de cacao,’ is a sweet alcoholic beverage flavored with chocolate. The alcoholic content of this liqueur can vary, but 20–25% alcohol by volume or 40–50 proof is common.

Source

21 comments:

  1. the above doesn't say whether it is halal or haram, can someone please answer.

    ReplyDelete
  2. it's halal my dear according to other sources and according to this source because it does not contain alcohol.

    ReplyDelete
  3. thanx so much..
    my friend bought me few bars of choc.
    and i read that the ingredient - choc liqour..so i search for it here..

    ReplyDelete
  4. THANX FOR THE INFO!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm very thankful whoevr posted this information it ws very useful as one of my friend gifted me godiva gems aftr eating I ws very nervous that I ate liquor choc but I'm happy nw n will nt throw other choc's. Thanks so much.keep doing gud wrk

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yes now I can have my mint patties!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks for the efforts. However, there is something that I'm not sure about. The article mentions that the beans are fermented, and I'm wondering whether or not this fermentation process produces any kind of alcohol or any other intoxicating substances. Can any body verify this please?
    Thanks

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is an interesting subject. The last comment, about "Fermentation" needs to be checked, but we mustn't forget that the same process, "fermentation" is used in producing bread.

    "Fermentation is also employed in the leavening of bread (CO2 produced by yeast activity)"
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fermentation_(food)

    AFAIK, the intention of the person "using" the alcohol is important. If they intend to act against Allah's (SWT) rules, they deserve punishment. But using alcohol for cleaning things (as used in hospitals) there shouldn't be a problem. Of course this is my humble opinion.

    ReplyDelete
  9. @ika same for me here...

    ReplyDelete
  10. thanks alot :) now i can eat my valentine chocolates! <3

    -Halimah M.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Chocolate liqour is halal and chocolate liqueur is haram.

    ReplyDelete
  12. That is exactly what the article states in the last paragraph.

    That "chocolate liquer" is something different.

    Chocolate liquer is definitely haram, it is also known as :

    Liqueur
    Cream Liqueur
    Crème de Cacao

    ReplyDelete
  13. I Love Cookies but once i found out it had chocolate liquor i stopped for like a year, but from this article i found out i can eat cookies now yay!!!! :D TY So much for the info

    ReplyDelete
  14. In English it's liquor and in French it's liqueur. That's what I found on a choco box at a french store. The ingredients were written in both languages. .

    ReplyDelete
  15. Yes as Rula, said that's just the translation. "Chocolate liquor = le liqueur de chocolat. The same for crème de chocolat = chocolate butter. It seems the same thing two different languages.

    ReplyDelete