Pages

Monday, March 24, 2008

Raw materials for Gelatine

Gelatine is manufactured from three raw materials

Gelatine from GELITA Group is manufactured from selected collagenous raw materials from pigs (pigskin), cattle (split) and their bones. These materials are taken only from animals that have been released for human consumption by the relevant veterinary authorities.

Pigskin

Pigskin


The principal suppliers of pigskin are slaughterhouses and meat processing factories. There, the split is separated from the underlying layer of fat and, depending on the distances involved, transported to our gelatine factories fresh, cooled or deep-frozen. If necessary, the material is stored in our own refrigerated warehouses until required.

Split


The mid-layer of the animal skin is an important raw material in gelatine production. Subsequent to slaughter, the skins are sent to skin-processing factories where they are subjected to intensive washing with milk of lime or other alkaline solutions to remove the hair.

The skin is then separated into three layers:

•

the flesh-containing subcutaneous layer, which is removed

•

the upper skin, which is then processed to leather

•

the remaining mid-layer, which is used for gelatine production


Prior to transporting to the gelatine factory, lime or salt is added as a preservative. Once at the factory, the skins are thoroughly washed and cut into hand-sized portions.

Bones

Bones


Gelatine produced from this source is primarily for photographic and pharmaceutical applications. The raw material is obtained directly from slaughterhouses, general processing and meat-processing factories. A complex process then begins: the bone is first chopped into sugar cube-sized pieces; the fat and any residual flesh adhering to the bone are then removed in a combined process involving water, heat and agitation. The bone is then dried, sorted according to particle size and demineralised, leaving a material known as ossein which is the actual starting material in the manufacture of gelatine.

http://www.gelita.com/dgf-english/gelatine/gelatine_rohstoffe.html?reload_coolmenus

Production Of Gelatin, some Gelatin Haram?

Preparation of raw materials (Gelatin)


Two principal processes are employed in the manufacture of gelatine:

Acid process - for type A gelatine:

The raw material (primarily pigskin) is first subjected to a 3-day digestion process. Here, the material is treated with acid and immediately afterwards the gelatine extraction process can be commenced.

Alkaline process - for type B gelatine:

This process extends over a period of several weeks and gently converts the collagen structure. Only ossein or split can be used. The collagen produced in this way is soluble in warm water.

Extraction

Warm water is then added to the pre-treated material and a multi-stage extraction process commences. The first gelatine fractions obtained, at low temperature, have the highest gellation status; an approximately 5% solution is obtained. The remaining material is then extracted using fresh, warmer water. This process is repeated until the last traces of gelatine are extracted using boiling water. As the pre-treatment carried out is extremely thorough, very little residue remains after extraction.

Extraction

Sunday, March 23, 2008

Alcohol in Flavourings

Most food products nowadays contain some type of flavouring - natural, artificial, or a combination of both. Many of these flavourings contain alcohol, which is used as a carrier or solvent for the flavouring. The actual amount of alcohol in the finished food product may vary, but it is usually around 1% or less, as the alcohol evaporates during the production process. Items such as drinks and ice creams can contain a bit more, since no evaporation takes place. Such a small amount of alcohol is not required to be declared on the ingredients declaration on the packaging of the product.


The Foodguide follows the opinion of major contemporary Hanafi scholars including the venerable Mufti Yusuf Sacha of the UK (highly acclaimed foods expert) and Mufti Ashraf Usmani of Pakistan. The fatwa in our times is that synthetic alcohols (and all alcohol not sourced from dates and grapes) in foods and otherwise is pure (tahir), and permitted to use and consume on the conditions that:

(a) it is not used as an intoxicant;
(b) it is not used as intoxicants as used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little);
(c) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates;
(d) it is not used in vain (lahw).

Courtesy: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

This is the view propounded by the Foodguide service and rest assured that it is of sound Hanafi scholarship. Nevertheless, if you are a follower of a Maz-hab (school of thought) apart from the Hanafi School or you prefer to refrain from such products then that is fine too. We will try to facilitate such persons by indicating which products are affected on this web-site as far as possible.

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=200

Red Bull + Taurine (OX bile??)

Question

I had a query today from a Muslim consumer, whoo said his science teacher told him that is derived from Bull's urine. He said that urine has the strongest potency of taurine. I allayed his fears, that urine is not used as it would not be appropriate.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taurine

Can you confirm that is the case?


Answer


Last Updated: 06/12/2006

Kudos to Red Bull for responding so swiftly

Reply from Red Bull :

Thanks for getting in touch about this.

I can 100% confirm that Red Bull contains no animal derivatives and that all ingredients are synthetically produced and are not extracted from any animal source (so the bull's urine myth is completely untrue!)

Taurine is a conditionally essential amino acid, which naturally occurs in the body of all mammals (including humans.) However, the Taurine that is contained in Red Bull is synthetically produced and contains no animal extracts or derivatives, therefore it is suitable for consumption by
vegetarians and vegans as well as being certified as Halal and Kosher by the relevant federations.

The wikipedia information relates to Taurine in general and the majority of the information (particularly about where it comes from) does not apply to the Taurine in Red Bull.

Best regards
Red Bull UK



http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=199

Red Bull Halal / Haram Issue (alcohol)?

Question
Date: 31/08/2003
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php

please can u tell me if the drink, "Red Bull" is halal? i ask this question as many muslims consume this drink, but doesn't this drink have a "drug" effect on people- it makes people get excited and hyper.(ie it acts like a sort of drug) i hope u understand my question


Answer

Answered: 31/08/2003
Last Updated: 31/08/2003

Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh Respected SisterBrother

Hereunder is the response to your query about the suitability of Redbull energy drink subject to disclaimer. According to the information supplied by the manufacturer Red Bull®:

Red Bull Stimulation and Red Bull sugar free are both suitable for a Muslim diet.

Red Bull does not contain alcohol per se, but does use alcohol as a carrier. Alcohol in foods Fatwa

___________________________________________

1) Ethanol alcohol in foods and sweets.

Question
In one of your answers you said that coke had alcohol and it was halal because it did not come from dates or grapes. Is it then true to say if the same kind of alcohol is found in sweets or in food is it still permissible to eat the food?

Answer
Respected Brother-in-Islam

Assalaamu Alaykum Wa Rahmatullaahi Wa Barakaatuhu

Yes.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
FATWA DEPT.



2) Question

What is synthetic alcohol.
You have previously stated that it is halal to use products that contain alcohol which is synthetic but you did not say what synthetic alcohol was. Could you please kindly explain what synthetic alcohol is and if possible could you give a list of all synthetic alcohols. Jasakhala

Answer

Synthetic alcohol refers to alcohol formulated from chemical substances.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
FATWA DEPT.



Q.) There are foods that incorporate alcohol for flavor, although the alcohol will evaporate during the cooking process leaving the flavor behind. I found some info on this from this website and here is the content: http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/ingredient.htm
"Alcohol is widely used as a carrier in many food flavors. This alcohol will evaporate if used in baked or heat treated products. Some Islamic scholars consider a food product halal if it is made with all halal ingredients including food flavor containing alcohol as a carrier which will evaporate during food processing. But other Islamic scholars do not consider such products halal."

Now based on the above, is it halal or haram? [Anaf]


A.) If the alcohol is not from grapes or dates extract, and is synthetic, then it will not be impure. The food having such alcohol will be halal.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
http://www.albalagh.net/qa/alcohol_in_food.shtml


_________________________________________________

From what we have read about the product, it is not a drug and is merely an energy drink. It is not an intoxicant so permissible.

Information from http://www.redbull.com/faq/index.html

1. Red Bull® Energy Drink is suitable for vegetarians. Red Bull® Energy Drink does not contain any animal products or substances derived from animals.

2. Red Bull® Energy Drink is an energy drink. It has not been formulated to deliver re-hydration. Adequate fluid intake is critical during intense and long lasting physical performance. Without adequate fluid intake, intense physical activities may lead to dehydration. As Red Bull® Energy Drink has not been formulated to deliver re-hydration, we encourage people who engage in sports also to drink lots of water during intense exercise.

3. It is recommended that the daily consumption including the consumption at one time of Red Bull® Energy Drink should conform to a person's intake of caffeine, and this varies form person to person. The caffeine in one can of Red Bull® equals that of one cup of filtered coffee.


Dear Sir,

In answer to the question below, our international head office has now provided me with the following response:

Q: "...I have read your reply regarding Red Bull. I agree with what you have said, however, have one query. I have read on the Internet that if you have more than 3 cans at a time, "most people cannot under any circumstances be considered sober". I understand that this is one person's opinion, however, if this is the case, it is surely intoxicating and therefore haraam. I would greatly appreciate a reply to this question as soon as possible.

A: Red Bull is a non-alcoholic beverage and is registered as a non-alcoholic beverage in all the countries where it is sold. Red Bull contains less than
0.05% alcohol. To put this into perspective, normal apple juice or currant nectar contain about 0.14% alcohol. Grape juice contains 0.17% alcohol and black currant nectar contains even 0.2% alcohol. That means that also fruit juices are not a 100% free of alcohol.

The traces of alcohol contained in Red Bull come from the flavourings used in Red Bull. Alcohol is used as a carrier for the flavouring substances. This is common practice and done for almost all flavoured soft drinks, not just Red Bull, as flavouring substances normally do not dissolve in water but just in alcohol.

Red Bull only contains traces of alcohol and the alcohol in Red Bull is definitely not an intoxicant.
Furthermore i can confirm that Red Bull is certified as Halal.

I hope this clarifies the matter for you.

Best regards
Nichola Spencer
Red Bull Company Limited

Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service. Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.

... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Was-Salaamualaikum
Foodguide Administrator

Red Bull Halal??

Is Red Bull Energy Drink halal?

Red Bull® Energy Drink is halal. This has been certified by the MUSLIM JUDICIAL COUNCIL. Imaam Y. Harris, Cape Town. Before issuing this certificate the production site and the origin of the ingredients were inspected and checked by an official of the Federation.

(quote from Redbull)

this doesn't make it halal or haram yet but, as per the information on their website the product according to them is Halal/Kosher/Vegan friendly... further questions are being asked...

So far http://eathalalfood.blogspot.com/ has not found any REAL reasons to enlist this product under the haram category...

If somehow someone that actually works inside the company.. specially someone that oversees the manufacturing process provides information, it might be possible to reach a definite conclusion.

http://www.redbull.ca/en/ProductPage.FAQS/htmlProductPage.action?faqIndex=6

Friday, March 21, 2008

Halal is more HUMANE!!!

(excerpt; link for full article below)


Early June 1977 the Clinic for small clawed animals and forensic medicine and mobile clinic of the veterinary university of Hanover published a short report on this research brief (Hazem, A.S., Gross, R., Schulze, W., 1977).


These documents reveal the following: The investigations carried out aimed at providing objective data for the evaluation of ritual slaughter from an animal welfare legislation point of view. As part of the research project the effectiveness of captive bolt stunning was first analysed using EEG. Comparable data about the ritual slaughter were then gained using the same method of deduction and evaluation. The ritual cut experiments were carried out on 17 sheep of the breed “black headed meat sheep” and 15 calves of various breeds. To further investigate the occurrence of low frequency potentials in sheep stunned by captive bolt followed by a bloodletting cut, six sheep were stunned in a second phase of the experiment by captive bolt and then bled at various intervals.


The approach of these studies can be summarised as follows:

Experiments for measuring the heart frequency and brain activity during slaughter conditions were carried out on 23 sheep and 15 calves. After implanting permanent electrodes into the Os frontale the cerebral cortex impulses were measured for 17 sheep and 10 calves during ritual slaughter and for 6 sheep and 5 calves during captive bolt application with subsequent bloodletting. Some sheep were additionally subjected to thermal pain stimuli after the ritual cut.

The investigations had the following results:

a) For slaughter by ritual cut:

1. After the bloodletting cut the EEG initially is the same as the EEG before the cut. There is a high probability that the loss of reaction took place within 4 – 6 seconds for sheep and within 10 seconds for calves.

2. The zero line in the EEG was recorded no later than after 13 seconds for 17 sheep and no later than 23 seconds for 7 calves.

3. Thermal pain stimuli did not cause an increase in activity.

4. After the cut the heart frequency rose for calves within 40 seconds to 240 heart actions per minute and for sheep within 40 seconds to 280 heart actions per minute.

b) For slaughter after captive bolt application:

1. After captive bolt stunning all animals displayed most severe general disturbances (waves of 1-2 Hz) in the EEG, which almost with certainty eliminates a sense of pain.

2. The zero line in the EEG was reached for 4 calves after 28 seconds.

3. For two sheep the cerebral cortex activity only stopped in one half of the brain, whilst it continued in the other in the –region (up to 3.5 Hz) until the bloodletting cut.

4. The bloodletting cut resulted for all animals in a brain activity (e and d waves).

5. Thermal pain stimuli caused an increase in activity in one sheep.

6. The heart frequency rose directly after stunning to values above 300 actions per minute.


In summary the following conclusions are possible:

1. Slaughter after captive bolt stunning

A. Calves

After captive bolt stunning most severe general disturbances (waves of 1-2 Hz) occurred in the EEG, which almost with certainty eliminates a sense of pain.

B. Sheep

Similar disturbances were also seen in sheep, but besides the somewhat higher frequency there are still clearly superimposed waves. For one animal waves could be recorded after pain stimuli until after the 200th second. Apparent cramps were registered for all sheep with the exception of one animal.


2. Slaughter in the form of ritual cut

A. Calves

After the bloodletting cut loss of reaction (loss of consciousness) occurred with high probability within 10 seconds. A clear reaction to the cut could not be detected in any animal. For 7 animals a zero EEG was recorded no later than after 23 seconds. Cramps occurred in the animals regularly only after the brain currents had stopped.

B. Sheep

After the bloodletting cut loss of reaction (loss of consciousness) occurred after 10 seconds the latest. A clear reaction to the cut could not be detected in any animal. The zero line was recorded no later than 14 seconds after the cut. Cramps only occurred after the zero line had been detected and were much shorter than after captive bolt stunning.

The slaughter in the form of ritual cut is, if carried out properly, painless in sheep and calves according to the EEG recordings and the missing defensive actions.

During the experiments with captive bolt stunning no indications could be found for proscribing this method for calves.


For sheep, however, there were in parts severe reactions both to the bloodletting cut and the pain stimuli. A proof of the reliable effectiveness of captive bolt stunning could not be provided using the methods applied.


These first experiments carried out under clinical conditions and the insights for the correlations of sensory physiology during stunning/slaughter of small ruminants initially lead to the following factual and legal considerations for the preparation of legislation:

These experiments on sheep and calves carried out within a clinic show that during a ritual slaughter, carried out according to the state of the art using hydraulically operated tilting equipment and a ritual cut, pain and suffering to the extent as has since long been generally associated in public with this kind of slaughter cannot be registered; the ritual slaughter carried out under these experimental conditions complies with the requirements of article 4 para. 1 TierSchG. The EEG zero line – as a certain sign of the expiration of cerebral cortex activity and according to today’s state of knowledge also of consciousness – occurred generally within considerably less time than during the slaughter method after captive bolt stunning.


CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL ARTICLE

Thursday, March 20, 2008

THE FOOD (MEAT) OF AHLUL KITAB

By Dr. Jaafar Al-Quaderi

All praise is to ALLAH, and the peace and blessings of ALLAH are sent to the Prophet Muhammad, salla ALLAHu alaihi wa sallam, Sayyid of the Messengers and on his family and the Sahaba and those who follow their guidance until the Day of Judgement.

These days, it has become common for Muslim communities to de-emphasize food to the point that many are observed eating in restaurants or fast food establishments, indulging in foods that should be avoided. Even more bizarre is that if these same Muslims were back in their home countries, they would accept the decisions of the government officials or Islamic organizations in those Muslim countries to decide for them what is Halal and what is not. In non-Muslim countries, they don't seem to take things as seriously as required. Don't the Islamic rules apply in the non-Muslim West? Or do the Islamic rules change from place to place? Or is it simply a written law, which need not be followed? This is what we see and hear, but ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, ordained for us a specific way of life and encouraged Muslim believers by saying:


O you who believe! Eat of the good things that WE have provided for you and be grateful to ALLAH, if it is HIM you worship. (Al-Baqara: 172)

In fact, ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, did not limit HIS instructions to the believers alone. HE also instructed all HIS Messengers, alaihim assalaam, to:


O you messengers! Enjoy (all) things good and pure, and work righteousness: for I am well acquainted with (all) that you do. (Al Mu-minun: 51)

The Arabic word Tayyibaat here, translated as 'good and pure', is a general and all-encompassing word about all foods, including meats, grains, fruits and vegetables, etc. However, when ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, discussed meat, HE was exact in instructing us to pronounce HIS name on the meat, as follows:


So eat of (meats) on which ALLAH's name has been pronounced, if you have faith in HIS Signs. (Al-An'aam: 118)

ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, did not instruct us to pronounce HIS name when HE spoke about foods in general. He instructed us to "eat of the Tayyibaat (good and pure)" foods. Then ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, addressed us by asking:


Why should you not eat of (meats) on which ALLAH's name has been pronounced, when HE has explained to you in detail what is forbidden to you, except under compulsion of necessity? But many do mislead (men) by their appetites unchecked by knowledge. The Lord knows best those who transgress. (Al-An'aam: 119)

Then ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, forbade us from eating meat upon which HIS name has not been pronounced, by saying:


Eat not of (meats) on which ALLAH's name has not been pronounced: that would be impiety. But the evil ones ever inspire their friends to contend with you if you were to obey them, you would indeed be Pagans. (Al-An'aam: 121)

In interpreting this aya, Imam Al-Fakhr Al-Razi said, it has been related that 'Ata had said: all food and drink upon which ALLAH's name has not been pronounced is haram (forbidden), based on the guidance of this aya.

However, all the other scholars agreed that this aya was specific to meat only. Imam Al-Razi used the opinions of 3 schools of thought to explain this aya. The first is that of Imam Malik, which states that the meat from any slaughter upon which ALLAH's name is not pronounced is haram, regardless of whether it is intentional or by error. Ibn Sirin and a group of theologists agree with this viewpoint.

The second is that of Imam Abu Hanifa, which states that the meat from any slaughter where the name of ALLAH is intentionally not pronounced is haram. If the slaughterman forgets to pronounce the name of ALLAH at slaughter, then the meat is Halal.

The third is that of Imam Al-Shafi'i, which states that the animal carcass is Halal, even if the name of ALLAH is not pronounced at the time of slaughter, regardless of whether it is intentional or forgotten, as long as the slaughterman is a qualified person, i.e., a sane Muslim. And after a long discussion on this final opinion, Imam Al-Razi said (this is important for us) it is best for a Muslim to avoid eating meat from animals when ALLAH's name has not been pronounced at slaughter, because the guidance from this aya is strong. This means Muslims should avoid meats slaughtered without the pronouncing of the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter.

As to the main question, the slaughter of Ahlul Kitab, we find guidance in the following aya:


This day are (all) things Good and pure made lawful unto you. The food of the People of the Book is lawful unto you and yours is lawful unto them... (Al-Ma-idah: 5)

And the word Ta'aam (food) in this aya has been interpreted in 3 ways. First, the animals which are slaughtered by Ahlul Kitab are Halal for Muslims. Second, only the bread, fruits, vegetables, fish and all foods not requiring slaughter are Halal for Muslims. (This is the opinion of some of the Imams of the Zaidi school of thought.) This opinion holds that the meat of the Ahlul Kitab is haram. Third, is all foods, those which are slaughtered and those which are not slaughtered are Halal for Muslims. The majority of scholars have not accepted the second and third opinions. They hold that the word Ta'aam (food) in this aya means the animals which are slaughtered because it does not become food until after it is slaughtered. They added that all foods not requiring slaughter are already Halal, whether it is owned by Ahlul Kitab or not. Meaning there is no reason to favor the food of Ahlul Kitab in this matter.

So, if we conclude that the meaning of the word Ta'aam is the animals requiring slaughter, does it mean all animals eaten by Ahlul Kitab or is it specific to certain ones? We know that some of the Ahlul Kitab eat animals which are haram for Muslims regardless of how they were slaughtered, such as pork. There is no disagreement among Muslim scholars that pork is haram. Therefore the meaning of the word Ta'aam cannot be any food, rather it means the Halal animals which are slaughtered by Ahlul Kitab. The final question is: Can Muslims eat the meat of Halal animals slaughtered by Ahlul Kitab only on the condition they pronounce the name of ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, at the time of slaughter, without any conditions?

It is useful to consider that in the earlier days, it was customary for the people to slaughter only for their personal needs. If they slaughtered a large animal and were unable to use all the meat, they would share it with their friends and neighbors. This is clear from the Ahadith. It was not customary to slaughter many animals for sale or trade. So when they slaughtered for their personal needs, they used to pronounce the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter. Nowadays our needs are different and unlike in the past, markets are commonplace. So now, slaughtering is divided into two categories, slaughtering for sale and slaughtering for personal use. Most of the available meat is of the first category, meat that has been slaughtered for sale. With this backdrop, let us review the opinions of the scholars in answer to the question: Is it permissible to eat the meat slaughtered by Ahlul Kitab with or without Tasmiyyah?

Ibn Katheer said, "This is the matter on which the Ulema agreed upon, that the slaughter of Ahlul Kitab is Halal for Muslims to consume because they believe in the prohibition of slaughtering in a name other than ALLAH, and they pronounce no name on their slaughter except that of ALLAH." In response to this, we must weigh the current evidence. It is our observation that neither all Jews nor all Christians pronounce the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter. In fact, some pronounce a name other than ALLAH. Shaikh Al-Aloosi, author of Ruh Al-Ma'ani said: Al-Hassan, rahimahullah, has said Muslims should not eat the meat slaughtered by a Jew or Christian who slaughters in a name other than ALLAH.

Shaikh Al-Qurtubi has said that a group of Muslim scholars believes that if you hear the Kitabi (Jew or Christian) pronounce a name other than ALLAH at the time of slaughter, then do not eat the meat. In agreement with this from among the Sahaba of the Prophet, salla ALLAHu alaihi wa sallam, are Syedina Ali, Syedatina 'Aisha, Syedina Ibn Umar, radiya ALLAHu anhuma, and also Tawoos and Al-Hassan, rahimahumallah. From this, it is evident that it is haram to eat meat that has been slaughtered while pronouncing a name other than ALLAH. Furthermore, it is evident that Jews and Christians have been ordered to pronounce the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter; however, some of them have abandoned this requirement. In fact, some began to slaughter in a name other than ALLAH.

In our present day, the behavior of Ahlul Kitab has changed dramatically and they no longer abide by the laws revealed to them, especially in the matter of slaughter. This is clear since Christians do not pronounce any name upon slaughter, neither that of ALLAH nor that of anyone else. If you ask the Christian slaughterman, as I have done, what he says at slaughter, the response is: I do not say anything. They say there is no connection between slaughtering and religion. They say they are employees doing a job and they just do it. This is in regard to the animals slaughtered for sale in the marketplace, which is what concerns us.

As for the Jews, we personally attended a slaughter facility where there were 3 rabbis. They all met before starting the slaughter and recited something. Then they separated and each went to a different area to perform their duties. The first was the slaughterman and he performed the slaughter. The second examined the organs of the carcasses to check for any indications of disease. If he detected any, he discarded the organ. If not, he passed the organ on to the third rabbi. The third rabbi stamped the organs and wrote something in Hebrew on them.

During the slaughter operation, the first rabbi, the slaughterman, conversed with us and answered our questions as he was slaughtering. On this day, they were to slaughter approximately 450 cows. After a time, they announced they were near the end of the day's slaughter. The three rabbis met again and recited something in Hebrew and then dispersed again to slaughter the last animal for the day.

During this visit we observed that Jews recite something at the beginning and at the end of the slaughter and they do not recite anything on the animals during the slaughter. On this day, 450 animals were slaughtered and the only recitation performed was prior to the start and prior to slaughtering the last animal. In spite of this, all 450 head slaughtered were labeled as kosher. Do we consider this to be the meat of Ahlul Kitab? Ibn Katheer has said: "ALLAH's concession for eating the meat of Ahlul Kitab does not include that meat upon which the name of ALLAH has not been pronounced at the time of slaughter. This is because Ahlul Kitab are required to pronounce the name of ALLAH during their ritual slaughter. Because of this, ALLAH has not made it Halal for Muslims to consume the meat of other peoples", besides Ahlul Kitab, since the other peoples do not pronounce the name of ALLAH at slaughter. Therefore the condition which must be met to allow Muslims to eat the meat of Ahlul Kitab, as opposed to other peoples, is that they should pronounce the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter. If this condition is not met, then the permission to eat their meat is not granted. Let us return to what Imam Al-Razi has said, "It is best for Muslims to avoid eating meat which was not slaughtered while pronouncing the name of ALLAH because the aya (Al-An'aam: 121) is very strong." We should keep in mind that Imam Al-Razi himself followed the Shafi'i school but he was not comfortable in this case with the Shafi'i school's opinion.

Finally, most of the Muslim nations do not accept the mistaken opinion that allows the consumption of the beef, lamb, and poultry found in restaurants operated by Ahlul Kitab.

We ask ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, to guide us to the right path, always and forever, and to forgive our mistakes, for HE is ALL-Hearing and close. And peace to all who follow The Guidance.


SOURCE

Apple Juice Haram?

Apple Juice is made from Halal fruit Apple and the ingredients statement says it is 100% apple juice. However, during the processing of apple juice, the colloidal material and coarse suspended solids cause cloudiness to apple juice. In order to make apple juice clear, a clarification process is needed. Pork or beef gelatin tannin precipitation is used for this clarification.

Many apple juice producers still use this method. An apple juice company’s 800 number can be found on an apple juice package, which does not have a kosher symbol on it. If you call this number, the operator will say that their apple juice does not contain animal derived ingredients and alcohol. However, the pork gelatin-tannin is a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient. This juice becomes Haram because of a contamination of pork gelatin.


muslimconsumergroup.com
http://www.muftisays.com/qa.php?highlight=%20assalamo&question=787&viewpage=viewQA

Monday, March 17, 2008

Foam Cups not to be used?

DART CONTAINER CORPORATION

Dart Container Corporation is using pork/beef fat Zink Stearate as a lubricant on the molds to make their foam cups. Please avoid Dart Container Corporation's Styrofoam cups.


Contact Information for Dart Container Corportaion:

United States
Ph: 800-248-5960
Fax: 517-676-3883

Canada
Ph: 800-527-3004
Fax: 517-676-3883

List Of Dart Container Manufactured Product UPC Codes

Dart Container "Contact us" page

(Please comment if you have any updates regarding this issue)

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

Infant Formula Mushbooh?

NUCLEOTIDES IN INFANT FORMULA

Nucleotides are made from yeast cells including torula yeast and brewer yeast. One of the larger manufacturer of nucleotides is using a specific strain of torula yeast and growing on alcoholic beverages such as beer and wine to manufacture the Nucleotide. But the residual of amount of alcohol in nucleotide is very minimum such as 200 part per millions (PPM).

Nucleotides are now adding to infant formulas such as in Similac and Enfamil brands. Islamic dietary laws considered alcoholic beverages are Haram. Nucleotide is considered as Mushbooh ingredient by MCG.


http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

RED BULL ENERGY DRINKS ARE NOT HALAL?

ALERT: RED BULL ENERGY DRINKS ARE NOT HALAL

Although the Red Bull energy drinks are Kosher certified, the company refuses to provide information on solvent use in artificial flavors. The company did provide the ethyl alcohol content less than 0.05% rather than zero. It means the solvent used in artificial flavor is ethyl alcohol because the rest of the ingredients in the Red Bull soft drinks do not provide any source for alcohol, so where this minute alcohol comes from, it is definitely contributed by artificial flavor in the energy drinks.

12/04/04

ISNA shameful incompetence

ISNA FAILS AGAIN IN PROVIDING HALAL FOOD PRODUCTS AT THEIR CONVENTION IN CHICAGO

Once again ISNA fails to check the Halal status of snacks supplied by the venders at their convention in Chicago. Two years back they allowed KFC to sell machine slaughtered chicken to those Muslims who eat only hand slaughtered chicken.

1. They allowed Non Halal and Non Kosher certified Gold Medal's # 5277 El Nacho Grande cheese sauce for Muslims who trust ISNA for providing only Halal food products at their convention.

The ingredients statement of Gold Medal Nacho Grande Cheese sauce on the package obtained by MCG is as follows:

Water, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean oil, Modified Food starch, Malto dextrin, Cheddar cheese (Culture, milk, salt, enzyme), Jalapeno peppers, Natural Flavor, Salt , Sodium Phosphate, Vinegar, Lactic & citric acids, Mono & diglycerides, yeast extract and natural color.

MCG contacted the Gold Medal Company and found out that this cheese sauce is not Halal or Kosher certified according to Food Technologist Todd Sunderhause. There is the possibility that cheddar cheese could be made with pork enzyme, non Halal starter culture media. The natural flavor could be made from non Halal sources and may contain alcohol as a solvent. The yeast extract is obtained from brewer's yeast from beer making which provides meaty flavor.

2. The Elgin Dairy Inc. has provided the 4% Vanilla Soft Serve Ice cream and one of the ingredients of ice cream was natural flavor. Elisa Locant QA Manager of Elgin Dairy told MCG that ethyl alcohol was used as a solvent in natural flavor.

3. The Ice cream Cones are made by Keebler Company and vanilla was used as a flavor, and the presence or absence of alcohol was not confirmed. It means the cones are Mushbooh items.

4. The cheese pizza was supplied by Deliccouse, a unknown company. The Halal status of crust, pizza sauce and cheese was not known. Chicago has pizza stores owned by Muslims. The Little Caesar cheese and Papa John regular cheese pizza are known to be Halal. ISNA lacks the help of food industry professionals to judge the Halal status of cheese pizzas.

ISNA is now providing Halal certification services. The question is how Muslim consumers will trust ISNA if they do not even provide Halal food products to Muslims at their convention.

09/09/05

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

Kosher = Halal?? WRONG>>...

NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL

Not all Kosher Certified food products are Halal because they do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain the following ingredients:

(1) Gelatin

(2) Kosher Gelatin

(3) L-Cysteine made from human hair

(4) Wine

(5) Liquor

(6) Beer batter

(7) Rum flavor

(8) Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list

(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects

(10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce

(11) Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer’s yeast, a by product of beer making

(12) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol

(13) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea

(14) Vanilla Extract

(15) Wine Vinegar

(16) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors.

01/24/2006

Cheesy Problems

how to figure out if cheese is Halal or Haram?

Things which have to be Halal if used during manufacture of cheese:

1) Mother Culture Media
2) Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures)
3) Enzymes such as Lipase
4) Dairy flavors containing Enzymes

If the rennet is microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer’s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN USA & CANADA?

WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN USA & CANADA

Lot of Muslims calls Frito Lay Company to find out the Halal status of Doritos and Cheetos products. The 800 personnel are trained by the company to tell consumers that their cheeses are made with microbial rennet enzyme. But many Muslims are not aware that the rennet is not only thing, which decide the Halal status of a cheese.

There are other things which has to be Halal if used during manufacture of a cheese such as Mother Culture Media, Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures), other Enzymes such as Lipase and finally dairy flavors containing Enzymes, if the rennet is from microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer’s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.


We explained to Frito Lay Nutritionist supervisor Ms. Nina Ferguson about the requirements for Halal cheese and other ingredients. She is not aware of what are Halal and its requirements for Doritos and Cheetos products. We offered our help to educate them about Halal status of their products.

Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal because of the following reasons:

1. The ingredients they used are not Halal or kosher certified.

2. The products are made on the same line where animal derived ingredients (including pork) containing products are manufactured.

3. Cheese used in Doritos and Cheetos products is not Halal or kosher certified. So cheese in Doritos and Cheetos is not Halal.

4. Dairy ingredients used in Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal or kosher certified. So Doritos and Cheetos products are not made with Halal dairy ingredients.

5. Natural and Artificial flavors used are not Halal or kosher certified. These flavors may have contained animal derived ingredients and alcohol as a solvent.

6. Artificial Liquid colors used are Halal or kosher certified (Pork glycerin can be used as a solvent in FD&C liquid colors).

7. Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal or kosher certified, so there is no protection for Muslim consumers. The source of ingredients can be change at any time without informing Muslim consumers.

Muslim Consumer Group does not recommend Muslims to consume Doritos and Cheetose products because of the above facts.

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

EatHalal.ca

Purpose For Creating www.eathalal.ca

EatHalal.ca is a free for the public website geared towards the North american market. The primary purpose of this website is to provide consumers with information pertaining to food and other household products; so as to help them make informed decisions regarding the permissibility of using such products.

In the first phase (few months) of the developement of this site the focus will be on finding out all possible problems with the current Halal/haram issues in North America with added emphasis on foodstuffs. Once the majority of problems are identified and explored then we can focus on finding out possible solutions / alternatives.

Sunday, March 16, 2008

TIM HORTONS BAGEL INGREDIENTS

TIM HORTONS BAGEL INGREDIENTS

12 Grain Bagel
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, grains (sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, cracked wheat, oat flakes, buckwheat flour, flax seed meal, whole barley flour, rye flour, millet, triticale flour, cornmeal, rice semolina), wheat bran, glucose-fructose, soybean oil, honey, salt, cornmeal, yeast, molasses, L-cysteine, wheat gluten, malted barley flour, sodium propionate (preservative). (O-dec-04).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, 12-grain mix (sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, wheat flakes, rye flakes, rolled oats, barley flakes, cornmeal, millet, triticale flakes, rice flour, milled flax seed, buckwheat flour), sugar/glucose-fructose (high fructose corn syrup), wheat bran, vegetable oil (canola oil or soybean oil), honey, salt, yeast, blackstrap molasses, malted barley flour, calcium propionate (preservative). May contain traces of soybean, egg and sulfites. (CB-jan-05).

Blueberry Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water,sugar/glucose-fructose, blueberries, artificial blueberry bits (sugar, corn syrup, corn cereal, modified corn starch, partially hydrogenated cottonseed and soybean oil, algin, artificial flavour, salt, artificial colour), salt, canola oil, yeast, malt barley flour, wheat gluten, cornmeal, artificial flavour,sodium propionate or calcium propionate (preservative), enzymes. May contain traces of sesame seeds and egg. (CB-dec3-02).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, blueberries, glucose-fructose, artificial blueberry pieces [sugar, hydrogenated vegetable oil (soybean, cottonseed), wheat flour, malic acid, sodium citrate, artificial flavor, color (Blue 1/brilliant blue), soy lecithin, citric acid], salt, soybean oil, cornmeal, yeast, L-cysteine, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, natural and artificial flavor, sodium propionate – preservative, maltodextrin, algin, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides. Topping-cornmeal. May contain traces of sesame, egg and nuts. (O-dec-04).

Cinnamon Raisin Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water,raisins, sugar/glucose-fructose, canola oil, salt, yeast, cinnamon, malt barley flour, wheat gluten, caramel colour, cornmeal, sodium propionate or calcium propionate (preservative). May contain traces of sesame and egg. (CB-dec3-02).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, raisins, glucose-fructose, soybean oil, rye flour, salt, yeast, cornmeal, L-cysteine, cinnamon, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, caramel color, sodium propionate – preservative, maltodextrin, algin, soylecithin, mono- and diglycerides. Topping: Cornmeal. May contain traces of sesame, eggs and nuts. Contains sulphites. (O-dec-04).

Everything Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water,sugar/glucose-fructose (high fructose corn syrup), toasted onions, salt, sesame seeds, poppy seeds, vegetable oil (canola oil or soybean oil), malt barley flour, yeast, wheat gluten, garlic powder, cornmeal, dough conditioners (ascorbic acid, L-cysteine, azodicarbonamide, amylase), sodium propionate or calcium propionate (preservative), artificial flavour. May contain corn syrup solids. May contain traces of egg and sulphites. (CB-may-5-04).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, sesame seeds, dehydrated onion, glucose-fructose, poppy seeds, salt, yeast, soybean oil,cornmeal, L-cysteine, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, garlic powder, sodium propionate –preservative, maltodextrin, algin, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides. Topping: sesame seeds, poppy seeds, cornmeal. May contain traces of egg and nuts. (O-dec-04).

Flax Seed Bagel
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, wheat bran, flaxseed, sugar, soybean oil, salt, yeast, cornmeal, fancy molasses, wheat gluten, maltedbarley flour, sodium propionate (preservative), maltodextrin, algin, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides, L-cysteine, amylase (enzyme).
OR
Enriched Wheat Flour, Water, Wheat Bran, Glucose-Fructose/Sugar, Whole Flaxseed, Milled Flaxseed, Vegetable Oil (Canola Or Soybean), Salt, *Yeast, Cornmeal, Black Strap Molasses, Malted Barley Flour, Corn Syrup Solids, Calcium Propionate. *Order May Change.

Onion Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water,toasted onions, sugar/glucose-fructose, salt, canola oil, yeast, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, cornmeal, sodium propionate or calcium propionate (preservative), natural flavour. May contain traces of sesame seeds and egg. (CB-dec4-02).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, dehydrated onion, glucose-fructose, salt, yeast, soybean oil, cornmeal, L-cysteine, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, sodium propionate – preservative, maltodextrin, natural flavor, algin, canola oil, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides. Topping: cornmeal. May contain traces of sesame, egg and nuts. (O-dec-04).

Plain Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water,sugar/glucose-fructose, light rye flour, salt, canola oil, yeast, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, cornmeal, sodium or calcium propionate (preservative). May contain traces of sesame seeds and egg. (CB-dec3-02).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, rye flour, glucose-fructose, salt, soybean oil, cornmeal, yeast, L-cysteine, malted barley flour, diacetylated tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides, sodium propionate – preservative, wheat gluten, maltodextrin, algin, canola oil, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides. Topping: cornmeal. May contain traces of sesame, egg, and nuts. (O-dec-04).

Poppy Seed Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid) water, sugar/glucose- fructose, light rye flour, poppy seeds, salt, canola oil, yeast, malted barley flour, wheat gluten, cornmeal, sodium or calcium propionate (preservative), corn syrup solids. Maycontain traces of sesame seeds and egg. (CB-dec4-02).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, poppy seeds, rye flour, glucose-fructose, salt, soybean oil, cornmeal, yeast, L-cysteine, malted barleyflour, diacetylated tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides, sodium propionate – preservative, wheat gluten, maltodextrin, algin, canola oil, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides. Topping: poppy seeds, cornmeal. May contain traces of sesame, egg and nuts.

Sesame Seed Bagel
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid) water, light rye flour, sesame seeds, sugar/glucose-fructose (high fructose corn syrup), salt, vegetable oil (canola oil or soybean oil), yeast, malted barley flour, cornmeal, wheat gluten, dough conditioners (ascorbic acid, L-cysteine, azodicarbonamide, amylase), sodium propionate or calcium propionate (preservative). May contain corn syrup solids. May contain traces of sulphites and egg. (CB-oct20-04).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, sesame seeds, rye flour, glucose-fructose, salt, soybean oil, cornmeal, yeast, L-cysteine, malted barley flour, diacetylated tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides, sodium propionate – preservative, wheat gluten, maltodextrin, algin, canola oil, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides.Topping: sesame seeds, cornmeal. May contain traces of egg and nuts. (O-dec-04).

Sundried Tomato Bagel
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, glucose-fructose, soybean and canola oils, sundried tomatoes, salt, cornmeal, l-cysteine, yeast, color (caramel, FD&C yellow 5/tartrazine, FD&C red 40/allura red), malted barley flour, sodium propionate- preservative, wheat gluten, dehydrated vegetables (green bell pepper, red bell pepper, tomato, jalapeno), spices, sugar, onion powder, garlic powder, citric acid, artificial flavor. (O-jun15-05)

Wheat & Honey
Enriched flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid) water, wheat bran, sugar/glucose -fructose (high fructose corn syrup), honey, vegetable oil (canola oil or soybean oil), salt, yeast, wheat gluten, malted barley flour, cornmeal, dough conditioners (ascorbic acid, L-cysteine azodicarbonamide, amylase), sodium propionate or calcium propionate (preservative). May contain corn syrup solids. May contain traces of sesame seeds, sulphites and egg. (CB-oct20-04).
OR
Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, wheat bran, glucose-fructose, honey, soybean oil, yeast, salt, cornmeal, wheat gluten, malted barleyflour, sodium propionate – preservative, maltodextrin, L-cysteine, algin, soy lecithin, mono- and diglycerides, amylase. (O-dec-04).

This information is accurate to the best of our knowledge, no warranty is expressed or implied regarding itsaccuracy. The user must determine its suitability for his own use. Please note the date of this information, and be sure to update your files periodically. It is possible that we have added new products or that changes have been made to existing products that could cause the information to change. Please call the toll free customer service number at 1-888-601-1616 for updated information. Tim Hortons Research & Development 228 Wyecroft Rd., Oakville, Ontario, Canada L6K 3X707/12/06


All of the mono- and di-glycerides used by Tim Hortons are vegetable-derived.

http://www.veggieboards.com/boards/archive/index.php/t-61934.html

Thursday, March 13, 2008

EatHalal.ca

New website up and running... EatHalal.ca

more detailed and upto-date information will be available shortly on http://www.EatHalal.ca InshAllah...

Coke= Haram?? (Another article...)

Source: http://books.themajlis.net/node/287


The Mujlisul Ulama of South Africa has established beyond any doubt that Coca Cola as well as all other soft drinks contain very small quantities of alcohol. In this fact there is no doubt and the manufacturers of these minerals cannot and do not dispute this claim. Attached hereto are papers which testify to the validity of our claim.Some of our bretheren dispute our stand and not only disagree with our findings, but actively, practically and sarcastically advocate and encourage Muslims to consume these minerals.

While they are entitled to their opinions based on Shar'i proofs if indeed they do possess any such proofs, we must stress that they are not discharging their duty as Ulama-e-Haqq on account of their negligent and childish attitude in this matter. Every Aalim of Truth should be aware of Rasulullah's (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) advice that Muslims should abstain from mushtabah (doubtful) things. A mushtabah thing becomes such not on the basis of one's personal feeling, likes or dislikes. A thing will become mushtabah where there exists valid Shar'i Dalaa-il . When a group or even a single Aalim acting on the basis of valid Shar'i Dalaa-il proclaims an item unlawful, then a valid doubt has been introduced. The item becomes mushtabah and in terms of Rasulullah's (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) exhortation the mu'min should abstain therefrom.

Hence, even those Ulama who claim that Coke is absolutely halaal should not step out of their way to encourage people to consume such minerals.

Uprighteousness demands that they advise their followers to abstain and since they do not accept the finding of prohibition they will be acting correctly if they do not proclaim minerals to be unlawful. However, since they have not even bothered to enquire of the basis and the proofs of those who proclaim Coke to be unlawful, they have failed in their duty and we can say that they are regarding these minerals to be lawful purely on the basis of their personal opinion and liking. While they may have written a letter or two to the manufacturers to enquire about the alcohol content of Coke, they have accepted the word of the manufacturers as being the final verdict. While they condemn us behind our backs for our stand, they never, as uprighteous Ulama, bothered to enquire from us the basis of our stand.

It is alleged that we are being unnecessarily hard ( mutashaddid ) in having declared Coke unfit for Muslim consumption. It is claimed that we are imposing difficulties on people by having branded Coke and other soft drinks. A little unbiased thought will dispel these observations.

Firstly, Coke is not a necessary item of diet. No one will suffer any detrimental effect by abstaining from Coke. Secondly, Coke is a luxury drink from which even millions of non-Muslims in this country and other countries abstain. Thirdly, Coke and other minerals are detrimental to the health. Abstention from these minerals is thus a blessing and a favour rendered to oneself. Fourthly, no one will suffer in anyway whatever if he/she abstains from Coke and other soft drinks. Fifthly, a large variety of fresh fruit juices are available on the market which are far better substitutes for the carbonated soft drinks.

In view of the above mentioned facts, there is no substance in the claim that a difficulty is being imposed on Muslims by asking them to abstain from soft drinks.

Some claim that our contention of alcohol in soft drinks is without proof. However, this is the weakest and the most baseless argument since investigations prove conclusively that soft drinks do contain small quantities of alcohol as the annexures hereto confirm. Therefore, those who assert that Coke and other soft drinks do not contain any alcohol are in fact making baseless claims for which they have no proof whatever.

At our inspection of our local Coca Cola plant the bottling process was shown and explained to us. It was emphasised by the management that no alcohol whatever is used in the production. However, we pointed out that the concentrate or the essence the vital and fundamental ingredient, was alcoholic. Surprise was expressed by the plant's officials who were conducting the tour with us. We asked to be shown the concentrates. These were shown to us at request. We again mentioned that the concentrates contained approximately 20% alcohol by volume. The officials at the plant claimed to be ignorant of this fact I but promised that enquiries will be made. Refer to annexures A1, and A2; .

The concentrates from which soft drinks are produced contain about 20% alcohol by volume. It is from such alcoholic concentrates that Coke and other minerals are made. In the final product, viz. the soft drink, small quantities of alcohol remain. Refer to annextures B , C and D . It is, therefore, unreasonable and utterly baseless to deny the alcohol-content of Coke and other soft drinks. These minerals are made from only alcoholic concentrates and the final product contains minute quantities of the alcohol.

It is also alleged that since non-khamr alcohol is used in soft-drink manufacturer soft drinks should not be branded unlawful on account of the fact that according to Imaam Abu Hanifah (rahmatullah alayh) and Imaam Abu Yusuf (rahmatullah alayh) non-khamr alcohol is taahir and if taken in non-intoxicating quantities remains halaal. This argument is not acceptable for several reasons.

(1) It is accepted that the alcohol (ethanol) used in soft drink manufacture is not khamr. However, since the past 14 centuries the Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab has been on the view of Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh), viz. all alcohol, be it non-khamr, is haraam and najis . The Hanafi Fuqaha have for the past 14 centuries issued the Fatwa on this view of prohibition. Today there exists no pressing need to reverse this Muftabihi view of the Hanafi Math-hab. There is no valid reason for the desire to cancel the official and standing Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab in regard to alcohol and issue a new Fatwa in so far as minerals are concerned. Yes, it is conceded that there is such a need in regard to medicines since it is almost impossible to find any alcohol-free medicine. On account of the real need in regard to medicine, the Fatwa of permissibility based on the viewpoint of Shaikhain (rahmatullah alayh), issued by our senior Ulama is understandable and acceptable. But, there is no such need in regard to minerals.

(2) By declaring soft drinks made from alcoholic concentrates halaal, a door to future fitnah is being opened up. In fact the stage is being prepared for future legalization of liquor as has been predicted by Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam).

(3) The Ruling (Fatwa) of the Hanafi Math-hab being on the view of Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh) is based on the principle of blocking the avenue for future fitnah. Ignoring this ruling and principle in regard to the unnecessary luxury of Coke, etc., the door for fitnah is being opened in that other drinks which are generally regarded as unlawful by all our Ulama, will also come within the scope of permissibility which has been accorded to soft drinks. Barbican Beer and similar other supposedly alcohol-free beers too contain the non-khamr ethanol. Although Barbican Beer, etc., are advertised ?alcohol-free' they do contain ethanol-alcohol in small quantities. In view of the alcohol in very small quantities, the authorities permit such beverages to be advertised ?alcohol free'. See Annexure 'D '. To the best of our knowledge none of our Ulama has ventured to proclaim these ?alcohol-free' beers halaal. Yet, these beers contain ethanol in the same quantities as do the soft drinks. In fact, Barbican Beer contains a lesser quantity of alcohol than some soft drinks. Annexure 'D1 and Annexure 'D2 ' states that Barbican Beer contains .03% alcohol. According to Annexure C Sparletta Lemonade contain .04% alcohol; Raspberry contains .033%; Pineapple contains .04% and Cream Soda 05%. Thus, all these flavours have more alcohol than some of the beers which our Ulama regard to be haraam.

Therefore, those who claim that Coke, etc., are halaal, have no logic and no reason for maintaining that Barbican Beer and other similar beers are haraam since the soft drinks (some or most of them) contain a greater quantity of the non-khamr ethanol-alcohol than these haraam beers. Hence, in proclaiming soft drinks halaal,the door has already been opened for declaring Barbican, etc. halaal.

(4) Let us take this argument a step further. Laager and Castle Beer are unanimously regarded as haraam by our Ulama. However these beers too contain the non-khamr ethanol. While Laager beer contains about 3.6% ethanol, soft drinks contain .058 ethanol. The difference is only in quantity. But, both contain the non-khamr ethanol. Laager and Castle beer taken on the basis of the principle employed by the legalizers of soft drinks, can also be declared ?halaal'. Thus, the avenue for fitnah has been expanded to bring Laager, Castle and similar beers within the scope of the permissibility which has been applied to soft drinks.

(5) Let us progress further with this argument. Gin and Whiskey are unanimously proclaimed haraam by our Ulama. No Aalim so far has said that a small quantity of Gin and Whiskey is halaal. Yet, these liquors contain the self-same non-khamr ethanol which soft drinks contain. Gin and Whiskey taken in small quantities do not intoxicate. On the basis of the principle employed by the legalizers of soft drinks, Gin and Whiskey too should be ?halaal'. Thus, the door for fitnah has been opened even wider to accommodate even Gin and Whiskey. The same argument will extend to Vodka and many other liquors which contain non-khamr ethanol and which do not intoxicate if taken in small quantities.

(6) It should be understood that Rasulullah's (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) prediction about the ?legalizing of liquor' will not take place overnight. It will be a gradual process ? a process which has already been initiated by those who regard soft drinks to be halaal. The modernists and the ulama-e-soo' will sooner or later set into motion the technicalities of Fiqhi principles to legalize all liquor on the basis of the non-khamr alcohol content and on the principle of small quantities which do not intoxicate. It is only short-sighted persons and those who are not concerned much with the morals of the Ummah who will venture to be so careless and proclaim soft drinks permissible without even having properly investigated the matter and without thinking of the future and of Rasulullah's (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) prediction.

Of importance regarding this issue is the fact that the view of even the Shaafi, Maliki and Hambali Math-habs conforms with the verdict of the Hanafi Math-hab, namely, all types of alcohol are najis and haraam.

Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) said:

"Whatever intoxicates in a large quantity, even its little quantity is forbidden."



"Every intoxicant is haraam."

It does not behove the Ulama to issue such verdicts which are of neither worldly nor spiritual benefit to the Ummah and serve only the purpose of boosting the monetary interests of the kuffaar.

Annexure ?E' is extracts from an article, GOING TO HELL IN A SHOPPING BASKET which appeared in a book BIG SECRETS.

These pages present some interesting facts in the history of Coca Cola. The facts came to light during a supreme court trial regarding the ingredients of Coca Cola. It is conclusively proven in this article that Coca Cola contains alcohol.

We trust that we have sufficiently explained our stand in regard to soft drinks.

Was-Salaam

A.S. DESAI

Majlisul Ulama of South Africa

Annexure ?E'

The Pemberton product did not have an altogether agreeable taste, it was unstable, it contained too many things, too much of some ingredients and too little of others.

Father's pharmaceutical knowledge convinced him that the formula had to be changed in certain particulars to improve the taste of the product, to insure its uniformity and its stability. Some of the ingredients were incompatible with others in the formula; the bouquet of several of the volatile essential oils previously used was adversely affected by some ingredients. Several needed materials, one notable for its preservation virtue, were added. The first thing he did was to discontinue the use of tin can containers for shipping. On account of the inclusion of a very desirable constituent in the formula, the use of tin cans was dangerous.

Here the "people to whom he had paid hard-earned cash" would include Walker, Dozier, and also the Pempertons, who retained an interest in Coca-Cola for several years. The second ingredient Candler hints at, the one that doesn't go with tin cans, is easy to guess. It's phosphoric acid. Phosphoric acid eats through tin, forming poisonous tin phosphate. (Currently, Coke uses stainless-steel containers.)

That means that the phosphoric acid was Candler's innovation and wasn't in the original formula. But Charles Candler says in the same book that the Pemberton formula included "an acid for zest." Perhaps this acid was one of the ingredients Candler took out of the formula. Or it could have been lime juice.

Lime juice is one of the ingredients that has been reported in chemical analyses of Coke. Several analyses of Coke were offered as evidence in the United States v. Forty Barrels and Twenty Kegs of Coca-Cola trial. In 1909 the federal government seized the latter quantity of Coca-Cola syrup en route from Atlanta to a bottling plant in Chattanooga and charged Coca-Cola with violation of the Pure Food Act. Trial and appeals ran about a decade. One analysis of the syrup claimed:

Caffein (grains per fluid ounce) 0.92?1.30

Phosphoric acid (H 3 PO 4 ) (percent) 0.26?0.30

Sugar, total (percent) 48.86?58.00

Alcohol (percent by volume) 0.90?1.27

Caramel, glycerin, lime juice, essential oils,and plant extractives Present

Water (percent) 34.00?41.00


Another analysis from the trial ran:

Caffeine 0.20 per cent or 1.19 grains per ounce.

Phos. Acid 0.19 per cent.

Sugar 48.86 per cent.

Alcohol 1.27 per cent.

Caramel, glycerine,

Lime Juice, oil of cassia

Water about 41 per cent.

There seems little doubt that Coca-Cola contained lime juice circa 1909. To confirm its presence in Coke today, Big Secrets wrote to the Coca-Cola Company asking about lime juice. Bonita Holder of Coca-Cola replied: "While we are unable to comment specifically on the various flavors utilized in Coca-Cola, I can nonetheless confirm for you that Coca-Cola contains no lime juice, or any fruit juice."

Lime juice is perishable and somewhat cloudy; it varies with each season's crop. Coke therefore might have wanted to replace it with a more stable substitute. A mixture of citric acid and some of the flavouring principles of lime juice (which are distinct from those found in the oil of lime peel) might have been substituted for the original lime juice without anyone noticing much of a change in the taste of Coca-Cola. Citrus juices are easy to fake. Coca-Cola produces such soft drinks as Hi-C Orange, Hi-C Lemonade, Hi-C Punch, and Hi-C Grape, which don't contain any fruit juice either.

The analyses mention three other ingredients: alcohol, glycerin, and oil of cassia. Evidently glycerin is the preservative Candler described. It is a customary ingredient in soft-drink syrups. It is believed to prevent separation of essential oils on standing.

Coke syrup is about 2 proof. The alcohol probably only enters in as a solvent for the "plant extractives." Oil of cassia seems to be one of the essential oils that provide Coke's flavoring. Cassia is a form of cinnamon, sometimes called Chinese cinnamon to distinguish it from true or Ceylon cinnamon. Most of the stick cinnamon sold in supermarkets is Ceylon cinnamon. Most of the cinnamon used in commercial baked goods such as coffee cakes is cassia.

Conspicuously absent from the above analyses is any mention of coca or kola. This was one of the main issues of the United States v. Forty Barrels and Twenty Kegs of Coca-Cola trial. Coca leaves contain cocaine; ergo, it was claimed that Coca-Cola must either contain that recently outlawed drug, or the coca must have been dropped from the formula. In the latter case, the government charged, it was mislabeling to use "Coca" in the name. Further, it was charged the kola in Coca-Cola was an imposition?a trace ingredient added only so that the company could claim it was there. Thus the "Cola" part of the name was misleading, too.

Indeed, there is precious little coca or kola in Coca-Cola. None of the chemical analysts consulted at the trial were able to detect coca or kola. But there are traces of coca and kola present, in what Coca-Cola calls merchandise no. 5. At the time of the trial, merchandise no. 5 was manufactured by a contractor, the Schaeffer Alkaloid Works of Maywood, New Jersey. Its president, Dr. L. Schaeffer, described the manufacture of Coke's fifth ingredient:

Q. Now, Doctor, do you make Merchandise No. 5 for the Coca-Cola Co.?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. From what substance do you make that Merchandise No. 5?

A. Of the Coca leaf and the Cola nut, and of dilute alcohol sir.

Q. What do you use the alcohol for, what is the purpose of putting in the alcohol ?

A. To extract from the bodies mentioned the extractive matter.

Q. Do you use anything else in that compound except the extracts from the coca leaves and cola nuts and dilute alcohol ?

A. No, I do not use anything to speak of, or essentially.

Q. Now just state the process, Dr. Schaeffer, by which you manufacture this Merchandise No. 5?

A. The process consists of two parts. The first part is to decocanize the coca leaf, the second part is to use the decocanized coca leaf and cola nut, both of which are in powdered form, to make the infusion, that is, the same extract made by percolation with dilute alcohol .... The proportions which are used in the process as follows: 380 lbs. of coca leaf, 125 lbs. of cola nuts and 900 gallons of dilute alcohol of about twenty per cent strength ...

The cocaine was removed from the coca leaves by rinsing with toluol, a solvent. Cocaine dissolves in toluol ; repeated rinsing leaches away the cocaine.

According to Dr. Schaeffer's testimony, there was wine in Coca-Cola. The alcohol used in making merchandise no. 5 was usually a mixture of California white wine and 95 percent commercial alcohol. But Dr. Schaeffer sometimes used an alcohol-water mixture "if California wine is too high in price. It is altogether a matter of price of the wine or of the alcohol. "

Merchandise no. 5, according to testimony, was a dark, winey liquid. Several of the witnesses were given samples of merchandise no. 5. One thought it tasted and smelled no different from the wine it was made from. One Coca-Cola witness claimed it had the characteristic odor of coca but proved unable to describe the odor. Another witness said it smelled like toluol, the toxic solvent that isn't supposed to be present in the final product at all.

An experiment was performed for the benefit of the court. Coca-Cola made up a special batch of syrup containing no merchandise no. 5. Witnesses thought it tasted the same as the regular syrup.

In short, neither coca nor kola has much, if anything, to do with the taste of Coca-Cola. Both substances, in fact, have unpleasant, bitter flavors wholly unlike that of Coca-Cola.

Pemberton, remember, was concocting a medicinal syrup. Because his two active ingredients had unpleasant flavors, he masked them with other flavors?the way a codeine cough syrup might be cherry-flavored.

As it happened, Coca-Cola became successful for its flavor rather than for any medicinal value. Dozens of imitations sprang up, most with "Cola" in their name. Thus "cola" became the generic term for soft drinks similar to Coca-Cola. Most?though not all?of these imitations contained kola nuts. But as with Coke, the kola really didn't contribute to the flavor.

Cherry cough syrup tastes like cherries. The "cola" flavor tastes like...nothing familiar. That raises two possibilities. Cola flavor may come from an exotic substance, otherwise unknown to Western taste buds. Or it may be what the soft-drink industry calls a "fantasia" flavor, a new flavor created by the artful combination of other flavors.

The basics of cola flavor are no mystery.

Caramel (32 fluid ounces)

Lime juice (32 fluid ounces)

Glycerin (16 fluid ounces)

Alcohol 95 percent (12 fluid ounces)

Cola flavor base (12 fluid ounces)

Kola nut extract (12 fluid ounces)

Caffeine solution (2 ounces of caffeine in 10 fluid ounces of water)

Vanilla extract (2 fluid ounces)

These are mixed to produce 128 ounces (1 gallon) of cola flavor. Four ounces of this cola flavor, plus .5 fluid ounce of diluted phosphoric acid (one part 85 percent phosphoric acid to seven parts water), are used to flavor a gallon of sugar syrup. The composition of the cola flavor base and the kola nut extract are given in accompanying recipes.

This recipe suggests the identities of the unknown merchandise. Merchandise no. 1, sugar, is the syrup to which the cola flavor is added. Nos. 2 and 3, caramel and caffeine, are in the recipe, caffeine in a water solution. No. 4, phosphoric acid, is added to the sugar syrup. No. 5, in Coca-Cola's recipe, is coca and kola extract in an alcohol-water solution. This corresponds to two ingredients in the Merory recipe: the kola nut extract and the 95 percent alcohol. The kola nut extract is to be prepared according to another Merory recipe, MF 237. This requires that kola nuts be extracted with a solvent, propylene glycol, most of which is then distilled off. Water is added, so the result is a water-based extract of kola. Were alcohol added to this extract, you'd have a sort of merchandise no. 5 (without the coca, though). Of course, the alcohol and kola extract can be treated as separate ingredients?which is how Merory lists them.

There are four remaining ingredients in Merory's list?and four remaining merchandises of the nine Candler claimed. Merory's four are lime juice, glycerin, a cola flavor base, and vanilla extract. Of these, the first two were reported in lab analyses of Coke (though Coke now denies lime juice). The last, vanilla extract, is a generally acknowledged component of the cola flavor.

It is tempting if not compelling to identify these four with merchandise nos. 6 through 9. We can't be sure that Coca-Cola doesn't mix together glycerin and vanilla extract.

According to the Merory recipe for flavor base, the above mixture of oils (100 grams) is mixed with 22 fluid ounces of 95 percent alcohol and shaken. Five ounces of water are added, and the mixture is left to stand for twenty-four hours. A cloudy layer of terpenes will develop; only the clear part of the mixture is taken off and used in recipe MF 241.

There may be other ingredients in the Coca-Cola oil mixture. In The Big Drink , E. J. Kahn, Jr., mentions the possibility of lavender as an ingredient. The alternate Merory cola recipe, which uses citric acid and less orange oil, suggesting a Pepsi-like product, includes coriander in lieu of nutmeg. (Coriander is a spice found in Danish pastries.) Perhaps there is a trace of coriander in Coca-Cola. In another of the occasional breaches of industry closemouthedness, flavorist, A. W. Noling published a pamphlet on colas in 1952. The Hurty Peck Pamphlet on Cola attributed the secret of cola flavor to extracts of decocanized coca leaves and kola nuts, oils of lime, lemon, orange, cassia, nutmeg, neroli, cinnamon, and coriander, and lime juice and vanilla. Noling's analysis seems to have been directed specifically at Coca-Cola. Among modern cola drinks, only Coca-Cola is known to use the coca leaves.



Source: http://books.themajlis.net/node/287