Becel
Blue Bonnet
Breyers
Ben & Jerry's
Hellman's
I Can't Believe It's Not Butter
Knorr chicken Cubes
Lipton Yellow Label
Ragu
Red Rose Tea
Salada
Slim Fast
Skippy
Dairy Queen International? informed MCG on December 17, 2008 that they will not guarantee about Kosher/Halal status of their products because different stores in USA/Canada buy the food products from different suppliers. Some suppliers provide kosher certified food products and some do not.Following are the ingredients for the Dairy queen Chocolate Sundae:. The sundae contains mono and diglycerides which could be either animal or vegetarian...
INGREDIENTS - Dairy Queen Sundae, Chocolate - Large
Chocolate Topping: Glucose-fructose, cocoa, water, modified corn starch, salt, potassium sorbate, artificial flavour.
Dairy Queen Vanilla Soft Serve: Modified milk ingredients, sugar, glucose, mono and diglycerides, guar gum, polysorbate 80, carrageenan and artificial flavour.
HMC representatives spoke to many exhibitors at the World Food Market Exhibition at the Excel, London on 21st and 22nd November 2007. One of the stands visited was the Kashrut Division – London Beth Din who are responsible for certification of Kosher products for the Jewish community. Following introductions the Rabbi present at the stand posed a thought provoking question, “Why do Muslims eat our kosher products especially meat and poultry when we do not say the name of God at the time of slaughter?” A Jewish Rabbi is worried about the food Muslims consume, but how concerned are we?
We leave the answer to you!
|
WEBSITES:
We do not use any animal bi products in any of our products.Kind Regards,Consumer Relations
Is Nutella® kosher?
Yes, Nutella® is kosher. (source)
|
FEb/25/2010 9:28 AM (0 minutes ago)
By Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Posted: 15 Muharram 1422, 9 April 2001
Q.) Some people in the Arab countries say that as per some hadith whose meaning is something like this "That people asked as to whether we should eat from food offered from people of other religions, as we do not know of if it is Halal or not" upon which the answer from the Holy Prophet was that say Bismillah and eat." I do not know the exact words nor I know this hadith. Please advice. Wassalam. Hasan - Jeddah.
A.) The Hadith in the question is incorrectly quoted.
The Hadith in reference is quoted in Bukhari. The Sahaba, Radi-Allahu anhum, enquired from Rasulullahabout the meat slaughtered by the A’araab (Muslims living in the outskirts). Since they have recently accepted Islam and the Sahaba, Radi-Allahu anhum, did not witness the slaughtering and the Tasmiyah (reciting of Bismillah) during the slaughter, that created a doubt in them.
Upon that, Rasulullahsaid, "You say Bismillah and eat the meat." In other words, you do what you are supposed to do, that is, recite Bismillah before eating and do not have a baseless doubt as the animal is slaughtered by Muslims who must have recited Tasmiyah before slaughtering. The order to recite Bismillah and eat was not as a substitute for the Bismillah at the time of slaughtering. (Fathul Bari; Ibn Hajar)
It is not permissible to purchase meat from non-Muslim outlets and simply recite Bismillah and eat it.
And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
There May be Alcohol in Your Fried RiceKikkoman naturally brewed soy sauce contains alcohol even though ingredient list on the package does not show it.
By Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Posted: 5 Jamad-ul-Awwal 1422, 26 July 2001
Due to the presence of 2% alcohol, a spirit duty is imposed on naturally brewed soy sauce in United Kingdom.The naturally brewed soy sauce is made with soybeans, salt and wheat. The soybeans are steeped in water for 16 hours; then the soaked beans are dehulled and cooked. The beans mixed with wheat flour or grit are inoculated with fungi Aspergillus orzyae and incubated for three days with occasional stirring. This is called the Koji stage. The resulting material is mixed with brine. A ferment dominated by yeasts and lactic acid bacteria then develops, this being Mormi stage. After an incubation of one month to three years, a dark salty liquid with a pleasant savory aroma is drained from the fermentation vessel, clarified, pasteurized and packaged for sale. Yeast growth is vigorous during incubation period and the production of carbon dioxide indicates that an alcoholic fermentation is taking place. Typically, a full brewed soy sauce will contain between 1 and 2 % (V/V) ethanol. Due to the presence of 2% alcohol, a spirit duty is imposed on naturally brewed soy sauce in United Kingdom.
There are two kind of soy sauce is available in USA and Canada. One is naturally brewed soy sauce supplied by Kikkoman Company with 1.7% or more alcohol and the other is the acidified hydrolyzed soy protein soy sauce (All purpose Seasoning) by ConAgra's Company under LA Choy brand name. The Kikkoman Soy sauce (made with soybean, wheat and salt) is a haram product due to the presence of 1.7% or more alcohol. La Choy soy sauce is a halal soy sauce, which is made with water, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup, caramel color and potassium sorbate with kosher symbol K.
Most Chinese restaurants use naturally brewed soy sauce in cooking the Chinese foods such as vegetable fried rice and also provide it in the bottles on the serving tables. Some Chinese restaurants also supply the soy sauce in small packets with ingredient list and have been found to contain acidified soy protein hydrolyzed soy sauce and not the haram soy sauce.
A Chinese restaurant on Devon Ave. in Chicago made Chinese food with zabiha meat but cooked with --- and supplied for table use--- haram soy sauce from Kikkoman Company.
Ask your Chinese Restaurant what Soy Sauce they use.Muslims are advised to inquire about the use of Kikkoman soy sauce in preparation of Chinese foods such as vegetable fried rice and soy sauce supplied in bottles on serving tables.
Seal Meat
By Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Q.) Is the meat of Seal Halal? If yes, then how about the extracts from its glands? [Ayub]
A.) According to the Hanafi Madhab, all water creatures besides those falling in the category of fish (Arabic samak) are impermissible. (Shaami vol.6 pg.306-7; HM Saeed)
The Seal, being a carnivorous mammal is not classified as a fish, hence not permissible. Below is an excerpt taken from the Encyclopaedia Britannica:
"...In Zoology, any of numerous species of carnivorous aquatic mammals that live chiefly in cold regions and have limbs modified into webbed flippers for use in swimming. Together with Walruses, Seals make the suborder Pinnipedia of the order Carnivora."
And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
By Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Q.) Is it permissible to use alcohol based medicine if it eases pain? My mother-in-law suffers from arthritis of the back and does not like taking tablets as these have side affects, but the gel that she has been prescribed by the doctor has alcohol in it. The gel eases a lot of the pain which helps when she in praying her salat. Usually she has to pray most of her salat sitting down.
A.) Since it is a Gel, we assume that it is for external use only. It is permissible to use alcohol based medicine for external use. And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best.
| Ingredients from MSDS/Label | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
| Q.) What are the orders of Shar'iah regarding the chicken and meats cooked and served in Saudi Arabian restaurants? These stuff are imported from New Zealand and Australia. They claim that these stuff is butchered there in accordance with Shar'iah. Many ulemas and mashaaikh do not eat these in Makkah and Madinah, during Hajj and Umrah time. Is it permissible to eat that? I would be highly obliged for your guidance. Mohmedali Bhaidu [Brampton, Canada] |
More on Synthetic AlcoholsPosted: 18 Safar 1424, 20 April 2003
I wish to explain the nature of a synthetic alcohol. As the name suggests it has not been extracted from the fruits such as grapes, dates etc. but is synthesised chemically.
Cetyl alcohol is a long chain alcohol which is solid hence obviously not drinkabale nor does it cause intoxication if at all ingested. Therefore, it is halal to use in cosmetic products. It is also not absorbed through the skin when applied as a cream.
However, Synthetic Ethyl Alcohol, which is a short chain alcohol (C2H5OH) and is a liquid, is not halal. Because it causes intoxication when ingested. As the Ulema say anything that causes intoxication even in a very small quantity will therefore be haram.
Fruits such as dates and grapes when they are putrified, produce Ethyl Alcohol which is the intoxicating agent and that is why it makes Khamr a haram drink.
Ethyl Alcohol is also used in many cosmetic agents both for men (Aftershave Lotion) and for female perfumes. Ethyl Alcohol is absorbed through the skin. It then passes through the flesh into the blood vessels and finally mixes with the blood and circulates throughout the body. Once in the blood it is as good as if one has ingested through the mouth. As a small quantity of any intoxicant is haram therefore, as mentioned earlier, all liquid cosmetic products containing Ethyl Alcohol are prohibited. Other names given to synthetic Ethyl Alcohol are, Ethanol, Methylated Spirits (contains 5 percent Methyl Alcohol and 95 percent Ethyl Alcohol). Products containing these ingredients therefore will also be prohibited.
I was Research and Development Manager/Senior Scientist working for reputable pharmaceutical companies (Searle, Wyeth, Roche, Aventis) in Britain for 33 years until my recent retirement. I have developed many medicinal products of which a number of them have worldwide patents. I have thoroughly studied ingredients and worked on many liquid products to avoid using Synthetic Ethyl Alcohol as a dissolving medium so that our Muslim brothers/sisters may be able to use them without any concern. At the same time I am Alhamdu-Lillah a practising Muslim living in London.
I thought it will be beneficial to send this Email message through Albalagh Newsletter for many of my Muslim brother/sisters to understand the position of Synthetic Ethyl Alcohol.
Jazakomulla Khairan Ahmed Saeed Mughal
| Views: 1160474 | Last Updated: 05/02/2010 |
| Question |
|---|
| Walker's Snacks - 2010 |
| Answer |
|---|
Last Updated: 05/02/2010 The following are all Halaal |
| Answer |
|---|
Last Updated: 05/02/2010 The following are Halaal. Quaker OatsQuaker Oats Organic Real Fruit Porridge Oats So SimpleOriginal Apple & Blueberry (Alcohol Flavouring) Golden Syrup Raspberry Sultana, Raisins,Cranberry & Apple Sweet Cinnamon (Alcohol Flavouring) Nut Seeds & Orchard Fruit |