Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Dairy Queen (USA / Canada)

The following is taken from MCG's Canadian website:
 Dairy Queen International? informed MCG on December 17, 2008 that they will not guarantee about Kosher/Halal status of their products because different stores in USA/Canada buy the food products from different suppliers. Some suppliers provide kosher certified food products and some do not.
Following are the ingredients for the Dairy queen Chocolate Sundae:. The sundae contains mono and diglycerides which could be either animal or vegetarian...


INGREDIENTS - Dairy Queen Sundae, Chocolate - Large
Chocolate Topping: Glucose-fructose, cocoa, water, modified corn starch, salt, potassium sorbate, artificial flavour.

Dairy Queen Vanilla Soft Serve: Modified milk ingredients, sugar, glucose, mono and diglycerides, guar gum, polysorbate 80, carrageenan and artificial flavour.

Source
Source for ingredients

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Calypso 2010 UK - Haram / Halal List

List of Calypso Halal - Haram Products For the UK 2010



Haraam
Cognac Tablet - contains alcohol
Irish Coffee Tablet - contains alcohol
Cointreau Tablet - contains alcohol
Petits Dessert Boxes 200g/400g - contains alcohol
Swiss Tradition De Luxe Assortment - contains alcohol


The following are permissible - Halal
Wafer bar
Nocciolatte Bar
Excellence 70% Cocoa
Excellence Extra Creamy
Excellence Macadamia Nut
Excellence 85% Cocoa
Excellence White Coconut    (Calf Rennet)
Excellence Natural Vanilla   (Calf Rennet)
Excellence Natural Orange  
Excellence Crunchy Caramel
Excellence Intense Orange
Excellence Natural Orange  
Petits Desserts Tarte Citron
Petits Desserts Dark Orange
Petits Desserts Crème Brulee
Lindt Milk Hazelnut
Lindt Dark Hazelnut
Lindt White Almond  (Calf Rennet)
Lindor Milk Chocolate Truffles   (Calf Rennet)
Lindor Assorted Chocolate Truffles
Swiss Tradition Mixed Assortment
Gold Bunny/Gold Reindeer/Santa
Kerry the Kitten
Bobby the Bunny
Bernie the Bear
Golf Balls
Milk raisin Hazelnut Gold Bar
Milk Hazelnut Gold Bar
Milk Gold Bar
Cherry Bar
Strawberry Bar
Pistache Bar
Swiss Thins Milk
Swiss Thins Dark
Swiss Thins Orange
Calypso Exotix Mango
Calypso Exotix Passionfruit
Calypso Exotix Guava

Calf Rennet Clarification:
Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:
Is Whey Rennet Haraam?  (no!)
 http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20


Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:

Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

Read the full article here:
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=200


 Last Updated: 07/03/2010

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Brazilian halal (haram) meat export....

Shockwaves from Brazil РAn Expos̩
In October 2007, HMC was approached by a Global meat supplier and manufacturer to investigate and inspect on its behalf the Brazilian ‘Halal’ market. Brazil, along with Australia and New Zealand are the world’s largest exporters of meat and processed products feeding the global hunger for Halal Products. Much of these supplies head to the Middle Eastern countries including Saudi Arabia; UAE, Dubai, Oman, Qatar,
Africa and Europe.

This month we reveal the shocking and confidential findings of our man from his trip through the wild west of Brazil and the practices from a continent apart. Nevertheless, meat and poultry finds its way to our palates in a global world where distances have shrunk and we the Ummah consume blindly in good faith – Allah forgive us all for our lack of knowledge and shortcomings.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

To kosher or Not to Kosher...

Rabbi wants you to eat Halal!
HMC representatives spoke to many exhibitors at the World Food Market Exhibition at the Excel, London on 21st and 22nd November 2007. One of the stands visited was the Kashrut  Division – London Beth Din who are responsible for certification of Kosher products for the Jewish community. Following introductions the Rabbi present at the stand posed a thought provoking question, “Why do Muslims eat our kosher products especially meat and poultry when we do not say the name of God at the time of slaughter?” A Jewish Rabbi is worried about the food Muslims consume, but how concerned are we?
We leave the answer to you!

Source

Sunday, March 14, 2010

HMA Alert: Watto Supermarket No Longer HMA

HMA CERTIFICATION WITHDRAWN
Please be advised that the below mentioned facility is NO longer HMA certified. Products sold here are no longer monitored nor certified by the HMA:

Watto Supermarket
6120 Montevideo Rd. Unit #1
Mississauga, ON, L5N 3W5
Tel: 905 369-04563

Kindly be advised that due to change of ownership in business, and new owner not interested in adhering to HMA Halal standards, the HMA certification has accordingly been withdrawn.

EXERCISE CAUTION!

Saturday, March 13, 2010

HMA Alert: Bilal Farms (Ottawa) No Longer HMA

Monday January 18, 2010

HMA APPROVAL WITHDRAWN

Please be advised that the below mentioned facility is no longer an HMA approved slaughter plant and supplier.


BILAL FARMS
1924 Landry Street
Clarence Creek (Ottawa Region)
ON., K0N 1N0

47 Farmfield Crescent
Kanata
ON., K2M 2S8
http://www.bilalfarms.com/


Please note that due to owner's choice of non renewal of contract and owner's choice to not follow HMA guidelines, HMA approval has accordingly been withdrawn.

PLEASE EXERCISE CAUTION

Friday, March 12, 2010

Ferrero Rocher / Rafaelo / Kinder Surprise (Halal / Haram??)

Seems like this is a week of good news..

Just received another email from the people at Ferrero Rocher who make:

Nutella / Ferrero Rocher chocolates/ Kinder Surprise Chocolates / Rafaelo that all their products are animal products free (except for milk ofcourse)!!...


Now only thing left is a few other people to research / inquire also and corroborate this.. Any takers??


UPDATE (Mar-15-2010):
 Apparently some of their products have E120 (needs to be confirmed). And also alcoholic flavourings.. .. the second comment on this post also contains the link to the ruling on alcoholic flavourings, also you can find the information related to alcohol if you click the link below ...
 
Please refer to this older list for reference..
Ferrero Rocher Haram / Halal (2009)


Email from Ferrero Rocher

FerCan ConsumerRelations CA




We do not use any animal bi products in any of our products.
Kind Regards,
Consumer Relations
WEBSITES:
http://www.ferrero.com/
http://www.nutellausa.com/  (Goto faqs.. certified kosher)
http://www.ferrerochocolatesusa.com/
http://www.tictacusa.com/  (check out the FAQ no animal by products!!)

Euro-Fer Ferrous Fumerate Capsules Halal or Haram??

Euro-Fer-Iron-Supplement-Capsules
Just talked to the company (Euro Pharm) manufacturing these capsules and found out that they Contain Gelatin from Cattle skin hides.

An alternative is to buy the other over the counter -top Iron supplements which are in tablet form, because the gelatin is used in the capsule .. not in the iron supplement itself.

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Haram list Updated Mar-2010

 Haram / Mushbooh list Mar -2010

Any of the following ingredients can possibly be Haram or are Mushbooh.. research / investigation is needed on the part of the consumer to call / email the manufacture/ producer of the product in question and ask if the problem ingredient fits into the criteria that would make it haraam for us to consume....

We are working on a list of article which can be clicked from this list to demonstrate how each one of these ingredients could possibly be a source of concern..

NOTE:- something to worry about is the newer form of labelling where a bunch of ingredients are categorized into a lump sum. Such as artificial flavours, Natural Flavours, Modified milk ingredient(S)..... something to watch out for..

HMA Alert: Mecca Halal Thorncliffe No Longer HMA

HMA Alert: Mecca Halal Thorncliffe No Longer HMA (430 Views)

September 19, 2009

HMA CERTIFICATION WITHDRAWN

Please be advised that the below mentioned facility is NO longer HMA certified. Products sold here are no longer monitored nor certified by the HMA:

    Mecca Halal Meat
    25 Overlea Boulevard unit # 6
    Toronto, Ontario, M4H 1P9
    Tel: 416 467-7867
    

Kindly be advised that due to non compliance of HMA regulations, the HMA certification has accordingly been withdrawn.

EXERCISE CAUTION!

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Nutella Hazelnut Spread - Halal or Haram??

Nutella Ingredients






















      

 Over 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz. Ja
 Contains No Artificial Colors
 Contains No Artificial Preservatives

ingredients: sugar, modified palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skim milk, reduced minerals whey (from milk), soy lecithin: an emulsifier, vanillin: an artificial flavor.

I just received an Email from Nutella (canada) confirming they whey in their ingredients is not from any animal source but rather from vegetarian source.According to the consumer affairs spokesperson they have contacted their suppliers and have been told that the rennet is free from animal products / by products.

Also that their product is certified OU / Kosher in canada, this can be seen on their website as well:

Is Nutella® kosher?
Yes, Nutella® is kosher. (source)

Email from Nutella:



Thank you for contacting Ferrero Canada regarding NUTELLA®. We have confirmed with our Product Development team that NUTELLA® 400g and 750 g manufactured by our plant in Brantford for Canada is produced with “vegetarian” whey since modern cheese and whey production does not include animal bi- product.  NUTELLA® is OU Kosher certified.

We have contacted our suppliers of these rennet products and have been given written assurance that no animal products (including ruminant derived materials) are used in their manufacture.

Kind Regards,
Consumer Relations Canada

-------------------------------------------------------------------- 
p.s: As always please check with the company (nutella) YOURSELF and try to get it all in writing.. and also another general rule is to keep updating every few months or so whether their ingredients have changed our not..

Monday, March 1, 2010

Balsamic Vinegar and Alcohol..(HALAL?? or Haram??)

Foodguide Services UK

show details Feb 25 (3 days ago)


In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

It  is permissible. (Balsamic vinegar)

Ingredients such as white wine, cider and spirit  vinegars are permissible.

Vinegar is produced by two successive microbial processes. The first being an alcoholic fermentation (which is Haraam) and the second an oxidation of alcohol by aceto bacter, when it's molecular structure is changed and it ceases to be an intoxicant. Other varieties of vinegar are produced from beetroot, tarragon and alcoholic spirits. In vinegar the intoxicating factor is destroyed by the microbial process of oxidation hence it becomes permissible. Islam permits any variety of vinegar to be used as a condiment or preservative. (Muslim Food Guide - Page A26/27)

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk

Please subscribe to our Foodguide Newsletter from the Web-Site.