Friday, January 29, 2010

ISNA vs HMA (Toronto) brief comparison of practices..

ISNA® Canada HALAL/ZABIHA STANDARDS:

The following conditions for Halal/Zabiha certification by ISNA® Canada are the standards to be followed by the Abbattoires and other Food Manufacturing Industries in order to produce Halal Food for the Muslims:
  • Animals will be blessed by Muslims recommended and authorized by ISNA® or by its designated agent;
  • Any stunning shall be only to render the animal unconscious momentarily and is not to cause death. This is established by Agriculture Canada requirements and sworn to by the Veterinarian in charge for slaughter operations.
  • The animals are to be cut immediately after stunning to ensure bleeding time in excess of 90 seconds.
  • The Halal identification is to be monitored and strictly regulated to ensure it is affixed only to the products from the Zabiha animals.
  • ISNA® is to have the right of access to the business premises without prior notice to ensure that the requirements are being adhered to.
  • Any Halal certification shall be limited to only the Halal operations and not a blanket certification of all meat producing operations.
  • will terminate the Halal certification if the producer fails to make its products Halal.
In its standards for Halal certification, ISNA® will treat all producers and distributors equally, whether they are Muslim or Non-Muslim. (<-----How can this be the case.???)

HMA
How is the HMA halal certification distinct from other halal certifying agencies?

We emphasize the fact that the system is NOT based on merely issuing certificates to the halal establishments after approval but rather, each and every animal will be thoroughly inspected through the HMA procedure of having inspectors physically present which involves inspection of chicken and meat from the source to the point of being slaughtered through to its packaging and up to the point of delivery, then finally stamped/tagged to be HMA approved Halal. At the point of sale the buyer will have to merely demand from the butchers and halal outlets to provide him/her with the chicken, meat and products that bear an "HMA Halal" label or stamp on it.

HMA Structure..
Is stunning the only thing the HMA monitors, and are abattoirs that do not apply stunning methods automatically approved?

Stunning is not the only problem which confronts the Halal meat industry. There are many conditions and requirements of slaughter which if not adhered to can render it Haram/unlawful. As well as ensuring that animals are not stunned, the HMA certification system also constantly monitors at the site of slaughter that;
  • Animals are manually slaughtered,
  • A Muslim does the slaughtering,
  • The slaughterer verbally mentions the name of Allah on each slaughter,
  • All the necessary veins are cut,
  • No cross-contamination of non-certified meat/poultry or their parts takes place,
  • The temperature of the dip tank remains within a certain level, etc.
Since the only way to ascertain that all of these conditions are met is by physical monitoring, HMA approval and certification can only be accorded where this has taken place. Unfortunately, there are many places where due to the speed of the killing line or some other reasons, some of the above conditions are not met which can render some or all products non Halal.

THE MAIN DIFFERENCE AND THE MOST IMPORTANT ONE!!

is that Hma inspectors are ALWAYS present at each and every single location which they have certified, each and every time they perform any slaughter which is to be labelled HALAL by the HMA. Unlike other such agencies (Namely ISNA) where a system is placed and monitored (hopefully) in ALLAH knows what interval periods, as the ISNA website states: Randomly.  And it doesn't stop there.. ISNA further certifies the outlets that carry this MEAT and they have a whole list of certified HALAL meat retailers CLICK HERE. This is definitely requires more effort on the part of the certifying authority namely HMA, but makes the life of the muslim consumer much easier.We thank Allah and make du'a for the Ulama and the volutneers and workers of HMA for this great service to the muslims of Toronto.

Campbell halal certified soups and other products (ISNA)

*NOTE although ISNA has not been traditionally the hallmark of Halal certification (without getting into details) this is still welcome news that companies are trying to cater to muslims; be it for their monetary gains or what not...

Therefore it would be still advisable to do your own checking to make sure...
Following is from Cambell's website...


Introducing Campbell Halal-certified Products
As part of Campbell Canada's commitment to diversity and extraordinary, authentic nourishment for all, we are pleased to introduce a selection of Halal-certified products to help you meet your Islamic dietary requirements.
Quick Facts on Campbell Halal-certified Products
  • There are a variety of Campbell Canada products that are now Halal-certified so you have more food options to enjoy with your friends and family.
  • These products are certified by the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA), the largest non-profit, religious, educational, and non-political Islamic organization in North America. ISNA’s Halal Certification Program was established in conjunction with professionals in the field of Islamic foods and nutrition, and with Islamic scholars. The program includes the review of ingredients, formulas, manufacturing and sanitation processes.
  • Our Halal-certified products have been chosen specifically to suit the flavour preferences of the Muslim community.
  • In the coming months, all our Halal-certified products will have the ISNA logo directly on their labels, so you can easily identify them at your grocery store.
  • You can find our Halal-certified products at all major grocery stores.
We are very excited to offer these products and hope you enjoy them with peace of mind.
For more information on Halal and the Halal Certification Program, please visit the Islamic Society of North America website.
At Campbell Canada, we take great care to ensure that these products are and remain Halal and have an on-going certification agreement with ISNA. If you have questions about Campbell Halal-certified Products please call the Campbell's Consumer Response Center at 1-800-410-7687



Source

Tim hortons soups for vegetarians?? halal or haram>>

The following chart outlines the type of animal content in each of our soups.  Please check for updates periodically as this information is subject to change.  For allergen information or a list of ingredients, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616.
SOUP
TYPE OF ANIMAL CONTENT
Baked Beans (Quebec Only)
Pork
Cauliflower & Cheese
Milk
Chicken Noodle
Chicken, Egg, Milk
Chicken Vegetable Rice
Chicken, Milk
Chili
Beef
Clam Chowder
Fish and Shellfish, Milk
Cream Of Asparagus
Milk
Cream Of Broccoli
Milk
Creamy Field Mushroom
Milk
Hearty Mixed Vegetable
No animal content
Italian Florentine
Chicken, Beef, Milk
Minestrone
Pork/Beef (flavor), Milk
Potato Bacon
Pork (Bacon), Milk
Split Pea With Ham
Chicken, Pork (Ham), Milk
Tomato Parmesan
Milk
Turkey & Wild Rice
Turkey, Chicken, Milk, Egg, Gelatin (Pork), Beef
Vegetable Beef & Barley
Beef























Source

Tim hortons for Lacto Vegetarians

Lacto Vegetarian: A person following a Lacto-Vegetarian diet does not eat meat or egg products but can consume dairy products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of ingredient transfer.
A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:
  • Yeast Donuts (Apple Fritter, Blueberry Fritter, Boston Cream, Canadian Maple, Dutchies, Powdered Filled Donuts, Chocolate Dip, Honey Dip, Maple Dip and Vanilla Dip)
  • Cinnamon Rolls 
  • Oatcakes (cookie)
  • Low Fat Muffins (Cranberry, Blueberry)
  • Bagels 
  • Sandwich Buns
  • Soup Rolls
  • Tea Biscuits (excluding Ham and Cheese)
Source

Tim Hortons products for Vegans

Vegan: A person following a Vegan diet will not eat meat of any kind and will not consume any dairy or egg products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of ingredient transfer. A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:

. Bagels
. Sandwich Buns
. Soup Rolls
. Oatcakes (cookie)

Source

What is in Tim Hortons coffee?

Tim Hortons coffee is a premium blend of 100% Arabica coffee beans, with absolutely no additives. The "Always Fresh" policy of brewing fresh coffee every 20 minutes guarantees our customers coffee with the best flavor and aroma possible.
Source

Seems like it is as it sounds... nothing else added except water  and coffee...  Only thing to check is if in the processing of the coffee itself they use anything.. while some people might scoff at this notion.. others; specially those with a food sciences background will definitely understand food flavouring is an industry where the consumer will be amazed to find the amount of procedures an ingredient(s) has to go through before it comes in the form of a finished product in front of you...

Tim Hortons - baked goods produced without use of animal by-products or fats

(Tim horton's Website checked for reference on Jan/29/09)









 

From the Tim Hortons corporate web site:
http://www.timhortons.com/ca/en/menu/menu_info.html
The following Tim Hortons baked goods have been produced without the use of animal fats and by-products (including gelatin and rennet). Please note these products may contain milk or egg.
. Donuts & Timbits
. Danishes & Croissants (excluding Cheese)
. Muffins
. Tea biscuits (excluding Ham & cheese)
. Cookies
. Bagels
In addition:
. All donuts are cooked in 100% vegetable based fats
. All donut glaze is completely vegetable based
. All L-cysteine is from a synthetic source
. The mono- and diglycerides of all Tim Hortons products are vegetable based.
If you require any further nutrition or allergen information, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616 (Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time).

HMA Certified Halal meat store - AlMadina Halal Meat Packers

AlMadina Halal Meat Packers (in Bombay Bazar - Lawrence -  Toronto - Canada)

Monitored & Certified Products
All Fresh Beef, Veal, Lamb, Sheep, Goat and Chicken only

NOTE: Frozen Meats are NOT certified by HMA 
Address:
Almadina Halal Meat Packers (in Bombay Bazar)
2875 Lawrence Ave. E
Scarborough, ON,  M1P 2S8
Tel: 416 266-2197, 416 893-3002

Source

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

The Kebob (Mississauga Location) HMA HALAL Certified

The Kebob (Mississauga Location) (3650 Views)

Monitoried & Certifed Products
All dishes and menu items prepared  with fresh chicken, beef, veal, lamb and goat
Address:
3417 Derry Road East,
Mississauga, ON
L4T 1A8
Tel: 905 678 2324
Fax: 905 678 2647
This location only

Source

Sources of Sauces Halal or Haram??

Sauces are one of the most versatile innovations in man's love affair with food.
Very few foods indeed are eaten without some kind of sauce, be it a tomato sauce with a burger, as soya sauce with stir fry, chutney and relishes with chicken tikka and kebaabs, a base or topping sauce of a pizza, a basting sauce or marinade for a braai, mayonnaise and vinegar as salad dressing and caramel sauce for dessert.
The function of a sauce is to enhance flavour and act as a binder or thickener to prevent separation and increase the appeal of the dish. Its versatility makes it a firm favourite with cooks as it is available in powder, paste and liquid; in thick, medium or thin textures. It can be cooked separately or utilized as a cook-in-sauce.
More than three thousand substances are intentionally added to foods and drinks to produce a desirable effect.

LEAF UK 2010 - Awaiting updated info

LEAF UK 2010 - Awaiting updated info

Views: 425247 Last Updated: 10/01/2010
Question
 
Please do not refer to the following list.
The following are Halaal
Chewits - Strawberry Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Blackcurrant Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Fruit Salad Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Orange Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Lemon Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Lime Flavoured Stickpack
Vimto Flavour Chews Stickpack
Chewits - Xtreme Apple Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Xtreme Lemon Flavoured Stickpack
Chewits - Xtreme Tutti Frutti Flavour Stickpack
Chewits TwistWrap Bag 250g
Chewits Multipack  5stick
Chewits Multipack 7 stick
Vimto Chews Multipack 7 stick
Chewits Citrus Multipack 5 stick
Chewits Chunky Chews Bag
Chewits Ministick Bag 330g
Chewits Fruit Multipack 5+2 free
Chewits Citrus Multipack 5+2 free
Chewits Mixed Chunky Chew Bag
Chewits Strawberry & Vimto Multipack
Chewits Minis Mix Bag 250g
Chewits Strawberry Laces Bag 250g
Chewits Strawberry Whips x60
Chewits Apple Whips x 60
Chewits Cola Whips x 60
Chewits Orange Whips x 60
Chewits Skipping Ropes x 30
Chewits Strawberry Laces Bag x100g
Chewits Vampire Teeth 200g
Chewits Strawberry Twisters 120g

Company Statement about alcohol flavourings:
Please note that some flavourings (an ingredient in Chewits) do contain alcohol as a carrier/solvent. However flavouring is only a small percentage of the recipe and       
due to the temperature of the product when flavour is added, the alcohol will 'flash off' thus leaving the product alcohol free."      

They have not told us which products contain the alcohol flavouring, so we cannnot advise any further you in that respect, if you wish to refrain.  However, our ruling is below.
Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
 
Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.
 

Mars 2010 (list of halal and haram) UK

Last Updated: 25/01/2010
These are Haraam
M&Ms Peanut- E120
M&Ms Chocolate- E120
M&Ms Crispy- E120
 
ALL THE FOLLOWING ARE HALAAL 
 

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Exemptions to mandatory nutrition labelling. (Health Canada)

 Are there any exemptions to mandatory nutrition labelling?
Do exempted foods ever have Nutrition Facts information?
Is there nutrition information for foods that are not prepackaged?

Click below for answers to these questions.. From the Health Canada Website..

Monday, January 18, 2010

Islamic Law Regarding Gelatin (JuCanada.org) Shaykh yusuf badat


Islamic Law Regarding Gelatine
 
If the source of Gelatine is derived from a Halaal source then its usage is permissible, whilst if the source is Haraam or Mashqook [doubtful] then it will be considered Haraam. The hide matrix or gelatine protein is basically a piece of skin, which is hydrollised, washed, melted and extracted, purified, evaporated, sterilised, chilled, dried and granulated for further shelf life and easy use. Alkaline treatment tends to remove amide groups present on certain amino acid residues on the collagen protein chains resulting in a lowering of the isoelectric point and consequently an alteration not a transformation of the chemical and physical properties of the protein occurs. Despite the above method of changing a raw product into gelatine under tremendous chemical pressure still retains much of its chemical equation. The collagen triple helix structure is lost during this procedure but the resultant Gelatine product retains the original coil structure. The aspect of Tabdeel-e-Mahiyyat does not take place.
 
Muslims should avoid choosing Haraam and doubtful ingredients. If a comparable medication is available in tablet or liquid form it would be advisable to ask for them instead of taking capsules. In the area of food we have such a vast selection of products whereby foregoing a certain brand containing Gelatine should pose no problem. In the UK it is a legal requirement to list ingredients in products and a reference to this guide will indicate what can be consumed or not. Muslim countries as well as local associations should provide finances to initiate and promote research to develop alternate forms to Gelatine to overcome this problem.
 
And Allah Knows Best
Shaykh Yusuf Badat
Darul Iftaa of CCMT

Monday, January 11, 2010

Toronto - Downtown HMA Certified Halal Meat Stores

List of HMA Certified Halal Meat stores in Downtown Toronto
  • Iqbal Halal Foods
  • Sarker Foods 
  • Marhaba Super Market (Danforth St.)
  • Marhaba Super Market (Parliament St.)

HMA certified meat store - Kabul Bazaar (Scarborough - canada)

Monitored & Certified Products
All Fresh Beef, Veal, Lamb, Goat and Chicken only
 
NOTE: Frozen Meats are NOT certified by HMA 
Address:
Kabul Bazaar
2683 Lawrence Ave. E.
(next to Jami Abu-Bakr Masjid)
Scarborough
416-757-5225

Hma Certified Meat store - Makkah Halal Meat (Scarborough-Toronto)

Makka Halal Meat & Grocery
5650 Sheppard Avenue East, 
Scarborough, ON M1B 5P6
 (416) 412-7215

Link for Directions / map (GOOGLE)



Monitored & Certified Products
All Fresh Beef, Veal, Lamb, Sheep, Goat and Chicken only
 
NOTE: Frozen Meats are NOT certified by HMA 


(This is current valid on the date of posting.. JAN/11/2010)

please keep updating / checking periodically... this blog and the Hma website..

HMA TORONTO WEBSITE
SOURCE




Sunday, January 10, 2010

Joseph Dobson & Sons Ltd 2010 (halam /haram)



Last Updated: 19/12/2010 J Dobson's Statement: "All our products are animal free (suitable for vegetarians) and we add no alcohol."
All Joseph Dobson Products in this case are permissible according to the information provided.  List follows below.
 SOURCE


Joseph Dobson & Sons LTD.


Boiled sweets

Pepsi Tango Robinsons (Britvic) 2010


1. PEPSICO
The following PEPSICO products are Halaal:
Pepsi Cola
Diet Pepsi Cola
Pepsi Max
Pepsi Twist
7Up
7Up Light

Pepsi Raw
7 Up,
7 Up Free,
Gatorade
and V Water

All Pepsico products are suitable for vegetarians and contain no added alcohol

2. BRITVIC
The  following are Haraam:
Robinsons High Juice Blood Orange Soft Drink(E120)


Alcohol Statement - Britvic Products


"All products that contain any level of ethanol as a solvent have been declared as 'carrier', even if this level is extremely low.  The level present in all the products using ethanol as a carrier will not be significant - it is comparable with the level of ethanol that may naturally be found in fruit juice.

All products that contain a significant level of ethanol, due to this being deliberately present from an ingredient, are declared as 'Added'."


Products which use a carrier are permissable.  Alcohol used as carriers are common food industry techniques and are permissible due to necessity on condition that they do not intoxicate i.e. negligible (trace) amounts of alcohol are present.
Please refer to full product list below to ascertain Halaal according to the Added (HARAAM) and Carrier (Halaal).
  
Added Alcohol Products
All Products with Added in the alcohol status are expressly forbidden thus: 

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft
Drink With Beer 2 L PET Bottle



added

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft 
Drink With Beer 275 ml Glass Bottle
added

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft 
Drink With Beer 330 ml Can
added

Bass Shandy Lemon Flavour Soft 
Drink With Beer 330 ml Glass Bottle
added



Alcohol Statement - Britvic Products
All products that contain any level of ethanol as a solvent have been declared as 'carrier', even if this level is extremely low.  The level
present in all the products using ethanol as a carrier will not be significant - it is comparable with the level of ethanol that may naturally be found in fruit juice.

All products that contain a significant level of ethanol, due to this being deliberately present from an ingredient, are declared as 'Added'.

To conclude, all Products with Added in the alcohol status are expressly forbidden.  Products which use a carrier are permissable.  Alcohol used as carriers are common food industry techniques and are permissible due to necessity on condition that they do not intoxicate i.e. negligible (trace) amounts of alcohol are present.
Please refer to full product list below to ascertain Halaal according to the Added (HARAAM) and Carrier (Halaal).