Sunday, June 28, 2009

Aquafresh Toothpaste halal or Haram?

Dear XYz,

We have received your e-mail and we are happy to respond to your question regarding Aquafresh® toothpaste.

Aquafresh® toothpaste products do not contain animal derivatives. The toothpaste does contain glycerin; however, the glycerin is derived from a vegetable source.

We're glad you took the time to contact us and hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

-----
GlaxoSmithKline Consumer
Healthcare


Source

Tropicana Pure Premium drinks, Orange Juice Halal or Haram?

This refers only to Tropicana Pure Premium drinks which can be found on this page


To make matters clear - some of their flavors contain cochineal/carmine, the insect coloring

Their orange juices containing Omega - 3 contains fish oil and fish gelatin which is permissible for us, alhamdulillah.

XYZ:

We'd be delighted to answer your questions about Tropicana Orange Juice.

With regards to animal derived ingredients being included, most of Tropicana's juice products are vegetarian/vegan. There are a few juices which contain cochineal/carmine (which will be listed in the ingredients if contained in a product) and Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice containing Omega-3.

We began listing carmine, a natural color, several years ago on the ingredient labels of those juices containing this ingredient. Primarily, carmine is used in our non-refrigerated juices. However, Tropicana's packaging is clearly labeled and complies with current government regulations.

The source of Omega-3's used in Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice is called MEG-3 (fish oil and fish gelatin). It contains tilapia, sardine and anchovy.

We hope this information is helpful, Lazeena. Thank you for your business and interest in our products.

"M"
Tropicana Consumer Relations

The website does not contain an ingredients list for each flavor, so you'll have to check at the supermarket, here is a list of the Tropicana Pure varieties to check for the dye in them:
  • Pulp Free
  • Some Pulp
  • High Pulp
  • Pulp Free Calcium + Vitamin D
  • High Pulp + Calcium
  • Healthy Kids
  • Antioxidant Advantage
  • Healthy Heart With Omega-3
  • Low Acid
  • Golden Grapefruit
  • Ruby Red Grapefruit
  • Ruby Red Grapefruit With Calcium
  • Orange Strawberry Banana
  • Orange Tangerine
  • Orange Pineapple
  • Grape
  • Cranberry Juice Cocktail
  • Orchard Style Apple

Source

SuperMoist Cake Mixes Halal or Haram?



Betty Crocker's SuperMoist cake mixes are animal ingredient free - this includes all flavor varieties.


Source

JIF Peanut Butter Halal or haram??


Don't freak out! This is just to confirm that Jif PB is halal inshaAllah.

Dear Ms. Hosain,

This letter is in reference to your recent contact with Jif. We appreciate the time you have taken to contact us and most certainly enjoy hearing from consumers who enjoy our products.

In response to your inquiry, the Jif Peanut Butter does not contain any animal derivatives.

Sincerely,
"SC"
Consumer Relations Representative

Source

Ovaltine Halal / Haram??




"...Ovaltine is Kosher OUD. This means it contains dairy but no other animal products..."

(This includes all their varieties: Rich Chocolate, Chocolate Malt, & Classic Malt)

Source

Gatorade Halal / Haram??

Gatorade

Believe it or not, just the other day I heard people condemning others for drinking Gatorade. Why? They told them it contained HORMONES! hahahaha

Okay this beverage contains electrolytes and vitamins, geared to refuel the body and keep you properly hydrated. This is why when we're sick, sometimes the doctor may tell us to drink Gatorade to add extra vitamins and minerals into our body. There are some added things in Gatorade which cannot be found in water.

So nooo, there are no hormones in Gatorade! But to set the record straight for people who follow rumors:

XYZ:

You will be glad to know that there are no animal derived ingredients in any of the varieties of Gatorade Thirst Quencher, Gatorade Endurance Formula, Propel Fit Water or the Gatorade Energy Drink.

"G"
Gatorade Consumer Relations


Source

Skippy Peanut Butter Halal or haram?

Skippy says that when buying their peanut butters, to look out for the following ingredients as they may come from animal sources:

  • Meat
  • Fat
  • Extract
Yes... very vague and I doubt they would be exactly listed as such on the label. The person who replied back didn't seem that friendly. In the question I sent I just mentioned that I was Muslim and that I follow a certain diet (due to religious laws) and they responded weirdly to it... or maybe it's just me!

Hi XYZ,

Our products are formulated for use by the majority of consumers and not specifically for those on restricted diets.

Ingredients derived from animal origins may be listed as meat, fat and extract (e.g., chicken, beef or natural flavors).


Changes in existing products can occur without notification. We suggest reading all ingredient labels carefully.


Hope this information is helpful!
Your friends at Skippy

UHMM....?? Maybe I'll try again and maybe someone else may respond and make more sense!



Source

KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese Halal or haram?





HALAL - microbial rennet is used to make it


Source

Sunny Delight (Orange Juice Drink) Halal or Haram


Good Afternoon,

Thank you for contacting Sunny D.

None of our Sunny D versions contain animal fats or animal by-products.


Thank you again for your inquiry.

Have a wonderful day!


Sincerely,

Sunny Delight Beverages Co
Consumer Relations Department

Source

Nesquik Halal or Haram?


This includes all flavors of the beverage.

Dear XYZ,

We have reviewed your email and researched your inquiry.

Our Ready to Drink product is Kosher OUD which indicates dairy only. "Kosher OUD" also means no other animal products.


Sincerely,
"BW"

Consumer Response Representative
Source

Ricola halal or haram?



Dear XYZ,

In response to your question, Ricola does not contain any ingredients derived from animal ingredients or alcohol.


Sincerely,
Ricola USA Inc.
"FF"

Customer Relations
Source

Ensure Drink Halal or haram?



Hello XYZ,

Thank you for contacting Abbott Nutrition.

Ensure(R) products do not contain animal ingredients aside from cow milk proteins.

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
"L"
Consumer Relations
Abbott Nutrition


Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa Halal or haram?

All but the flavors with marshmallows are okay.


Dear XYZ,

The mono & diglycerides in Swiss Miss products are all plant derived.

The marshmallows in varieties that contain marshmallows are made with gelatin derived exclusively from North American Pork.


Sincerely,

"E"

Source

Coffee-Mate Creamers Halal or Haram??

Nestle says that none of their creamers contain any animal derived ingredients *phew* alhamdulillah. The only thing in it animal derived is something from milk, and milk is okay for us.


Dear XYZ,

The only animal derivative in our products is sodium caseinate, a milk derivative, as stated on our label...

Sincerely,
"BW"

Source

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Haagen Dazs Ice Cream halal / Haram?

Haagen Dazs Ice Cream

The only Haagen Dazs ice cream which are not permissible to eat, are any with marshmallows, also Bailey's Irish Cream and Rum Raisin contain alcohol.


Here is the email that was sent to me:

Dear XYZ,

Thank you for your email requesting nutritional information on HÄAGEN-DAZS® Ice Cream. In an increasingly health-conscious society, I am always pleased to respond to our consumers' questions regarding our products.

Milk and egg are animal derived. However, aside from the gelatin in the marshmallows and marshmallow variegates, we have no other ingredients which are animal derived. Please be advised, there may also be eggs in some inclusions, like cookie dough.

HÄAGEN-DAZS® Bailey's ® Irish Cream contains a small amount of alcohol as a flavor -- approximately 0.5% weight of alcohol per serving. The amount of alcohol in the Rum Raisin is less than 1 gram per serving

We hope that this information is useful to you and we appreciate your taking the time to contact our company to share your concerns.

Sincerely,
"NM"
Consumer Response Representative

Biore Facial Products Halal/haram?


XYZ:

Our Biore products have only plant derived or synthetic ingredients.


Thank you for the opportunity to be of service.


Cordially,


Kao Brands Consumer Relations Dept.

Ban Biore Curel Jergens John Frieda

Source

Jergen's Lotion

Jergen's Lotion

XYZ:

We are always pleased to hear from our consumers and your comments are very important to us.

For Jergens, our Naturals Renew, Naturals Hydrate and Naturals Refresh are free of animal derived ingredients

However, for our other products, we cannot guarantee the lack of animal derived ingredients because we use multiple suppliers for a variety of our materials who can change sources at any time due to market conditions.

Thank you for the opportunity to be of service.

Cordially,

Kao Brands Consumer Relations Dept.
Ban Biore Curel Jergens John Frieda


So from the Jergen's Natural's collection of Lotions, 3 of the 4 are okay - Natural Soothes are NOT. Aside from the Natural Collection, they also have a Soften, Smooth, Enhance, Nourish and Preserve collection of lotions which all seem to have animal bi-products.

The links are provided for the different collections, so if you use Jergen's you can double check and compare the bottle image on the site to the one you have to be sure if you're using an okay one or not.



Source

Smucker's Jellies, Jams, and Preserves Halal or Haram?



Dear XYZ ,

In response to your inquiry, Smucker's Jelly, Jam and Preserves do not contain any animal derivatives or alcohol.

Sincerely,

"TG"

Source

Sensodyne Toothpaste Halal or Haram?

Sensodyne Toothpaste


Dear XYZ,

We have received your e-mail regarding Sensodyne® toothpaste.

Sensodyne® toothpaste products do not contain animal derivatives. The toothpaste does contain glycerin; however, the glycerin is from a vegetable source.


Sincerely,

"R"

GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare

Source

Nature's Own Breads Halal or haram?



Dear XYZ:

There are no alcohol containing ingredients used in our Nature's Own formulas.

Some of our products do contain butter from cows and some contain honey.


L-cysteine is not an ingredient in the Nature's Own formulas.


The Double Fiber 20 ounce bread contains Omega 3 from a fish oil source.


Thank you for your interest in our products.


"CM"

V P Technical Services/Quality Assurance/Regulatory Flowers Foods


This response is for all their products (their breads, muffins, English muffins, bagels, buns, and rolls). If yo visit their website and select a specific product, it will list the ingredients there for you.

Source

Nestle Hot Chocolate Halal or Haram?



A lot of hot chocolates contain MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES and/or WHEY.

This is what Nestle had to say about their hot chocolate:

Dear XYZ,

None of the Nestle Hot Cocoa flavors contain any animal derivatives except the products with marshmallows, as the gelatin comes from pork.

Sincerely,
"BW"
Consumer Response Representative

Lipton's Soups halal / haram??

Lipton's Soups

A red flag with this brand, which will now queue us to be more careful with other brands is that in their soups they may list NATURAL FLAVORS in the ingredients section, which can be derived from animals. So the next time you see NATURAL FLAVORS on anything you buy... be wary...



Hello ,

Thanks for writing!


Most of our soups contain meat, meat derivatives, or dairy products.


Here are some exceptions :


MEAT, DAIRY & EGG FREE:


RECIPE SECRETS:

- Onion

- Onion Mushroom

- Vegetable


MEAT FREE, WITH DAIRY AND/OR EGGS:


CUP-A-SOUP:

- Broccoli & Cheese

- Cream of Mushroom

- Spring Vegetable

- Tomato


Ingredients of animal origin may be listed as meat (e.g., chicken or beef), fat (as in chicken fat), extract (such as beef extract, broth, or natural flavors).

But, we checked with our brand management, and they informed us that the natural flavors may or may not be derived from animal origin. There are many mixtures that we purchase from hundreds of flavor suppliers. If you are uncomfortable about the natural flavorings used they recommend that you do not use the product as we cannot guarantee that it is not of animal origin.
We hope this information is helpful.

Kind regards

Your friends at Unilever

Here are the safe ones as mentioned above:



Source

colgate toothpaste halal.. but is it healthy??

COLGATE TOTAL CLEAN MINT ANTICAVITY FLUORIDE & ANTIGINGIVITIS TOOTHPASTE

last updated: 03/15/09 brand: Colgate by Colgate-Palmolive Company


ngredients in this product are linked to:
yesCancer
yesDevelopmental/reproductive toxicity
yesViolations, restrictions & warnings
yesAllergies/immunotoxicity
yesOther concerns for ingredients used in this product:
Neurotoxicity, Endocrine disruption, Persistence and bioaccumulation, Organ system toxicity (non-reproductive), Miscellaneous, Multiple, additive exposure sources, Irritation (skin, eyes, or lungs), Enhanced skin absorption, Contamination concerns, Occupational hazards, Biochemical or cellular level changes
Click here to read about the rest of the disaster

Coolgate toothpase Halal??

Just had a conversation with a colgate/palmolive specialist regarding their toothpastes and whether they contain any animal based ingredients or animal byproucts..

and according to her
There isn't any colgate toothpaste brand that contains any animal ingridients whatsoever..



Supposed to receive a letter soon stating that in writing..


phew...

Colgate toothpaste products include:

Colgate Total
* Colgate Total Advanced Health™
* Colgate Total Clean Mint
* Colgate Total Fresh Stripe
* Colgate Total Plus Whitening
* Colgate Total Advanced Fresh™


Colgate Visible White™
* Colgate Visible White™ Spearmint
* Colgate Visible White™ Sparkling Mint


Colgate Sensitive Whitening
* Colgate Sensitive Whitening Cool Mint
* Colgate Sensitive Whitening Fresh Stripe


Colgate Cavity Protection
* Colgate Cavity Protection Regular
* Colgate Cavity Protection Regular Gel
* Colgate Cavity Protection Winterfresh


Colgate Tartar Control
* Colgate Tartar Control Mint Paste


Colgate Luminous
* Colgate Luminous Crystal Clean Mint
* Colgate Luminous Paradise Fresh™


Colgate MaxFresh
* Colgate Max Fresh Cool Mint
* Colgate Max Fresh Clean Mint
* Colgate Max Fresh Kiss Me Mint
* Colgate Max Fresh Burst Peppermint
* Colgate Max Fresh Burst Spearmint


Colgate 2in1
* Colgate 2in1 Whitening


Colgate Sparkling White
* Colgate Sparkling White Mint Zing
* Colgate Sparkling White Baking Soda & Peroxide
* Colgate Sparkling White Cinnamon Spice
* Colgate Sparkling White Vanilla Mint


Children’s Toothpaste
* Colgate SpongeBob SquarePants™
* Colgate Kids 2in1 Bubble Gum
* Colgate Kids 2in1 Watermelon

Aquafresh Toothpaste

I've been using this stuff exclusively for years...

Dear Lazeena,

We have received your e-mail and we are happy to respond to your question regarding Aquafresh® toothpaste.

Aquafresh® toothpaste products do not contain animal derivatives. The toothpaste does contain glycerin; however, the glycerin is derived from a vegetable source.

We're glad you took the time to contact us and hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

-----
GlaxoSmithKline Consumer
Healthcare


Source

colgate total toothpase ingredients

ChemicalCAS No / Unique IDPercent
Sorbitol000050-70-4
Glycerin000056-81-5
Propylene glycol000057-55-6
Sodium saccharin000128-44-9
Sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS)000151-21-3
Sodium hydroxide001310-73-2
Triclosan003380-34-5
Sodium fluoride007681-49-4
Water007732-18-5
Carrageenan009000-07-1
Carboxymethylcellulose sodium009004-32-4
PVM/MA copolymer009011-16-9
Titanium dioxide013463-67-7
Hydrated silica (Silica gel)112926-00-8
Flavor(s)


Source
999999-56-2


Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Pig Enzymes in bread

Last Updated: 31/05/2009

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.

A key point here is that the Paper does not reference any hard evidence for the claims made. Many a time, pressure groups, or organisations "scaremonger" the public to adopt the views and beliefs of their respective ideoligies, or indeed to sell their own products to further their aims.

We have received a reply from the following major bakers in the UK, from which we conclude that they contain no animal enzymes.

As we receive correspondence from Bakers, we will upload the information Insha-Allah Ta'ala.

HOVIS STATEMENT

ALLIED BAKERS STATEMENT

WARBURTONS STATEMENT

ASDA STATEMENT

The Vegetarian Society have made their own investigations, which can be viewed here:

Veggie Bread News 2009

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk

Please subscribe to our Foodguide Newsletter from the Web-Site.



Source

REd bull contains cocaine?? (NOT!)

Statement Red Bull Deutschland GmbH
May 25th, 2009, 2:30 pm


German authorities have raised concerns regarding Red Bull Cola due to the use of a decocainized coca leaf extract in the product.


Decocainized coca leaf extracts are used as flavouring in foodstuffs around the world and are considered to be safe (e.g. FDA Gras Status, Council of Europe). Red Bull Cola and other foodstuff containing such extracts may therefore be sold legally.


The assessment commissioned by Red Bull from the Austrian Belan Institute was unable to detect any trace of cocaine, and consequently clearly contradicts the assessment furnished by the LIGA (North Rhine Westphalia Institute for Health and Labor).


To clear up any concerns, we met today (Monday) with the relevant local authority, the Bavarian Ministry for Environment, Health, and Consumer Protection. Based on this meeting, the Ministry has decided to officially investigate the existing examination results. We are sure that we will be able to clear up the facts very soon.

Source
ALERT: FALSE CLAIM OF HMA CERTIFICATION:
The following stores/ outlets have falsely claimed HMA certification. Please note that these outlets and their products are NOT HMA
certified nor monitored by the HMA. We advise the public to exercise caution. Please visit our website for updated information:

1) Chef Bombay Aliyas Foods
(41 Broadway Blvd. Alberta)

2)Abdullah Halal Meat
(1094 Danforth, Toronto)

3)Makkah Halal Meat Shop
(4-735 Twain Ave, Mississauga)

Source

ALERT- Places no longer HMA certified

Certification Canceled / Withdrawn:

The below mentioned is a list of outlets recently revoked or canceled for HMA certification. Please exercise caution:

Lindsay Zabiha
(1255 Durham Rd.-13 Sunderland)

Abdullah Halal Meat

(1094 Danforth, Toronto)

Chef Bombay Aliyas Foods

(41 Broadway Blvd. Alberta)

Bombay Bazaar (Ismail Meat)

(2875 Lawrence Scarborough)

Zum Zum Superstore

(2860 Denison, Markham)

Bombay Bazaar (Al Tawakkul)
(7657 Kennedy Rd, Markham)

WHITE VEAL MEAT PACKERS
Toronto
35 Fenmar Drive
Weston, Ontario M9L 2W5
Tel.: (416) 745-7448
Fax: (416) 740-5018

Montreal
414 Route 201
St-Stanislas-de-Kostka, Qu�bec J0S 1W0
Tel.: (450) 371-0421
Fax: (450) 371-3411

*Please note that due to owner's choice of non renewal of contract, HMA approval has accordingly been withdrawn.

Source1

Source2

Press Release: Response To Pakeeza Article

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Re: Halal Issues

The below mentioned is in response to an article that appeared in “The South Asian Voice (Pakeeza International) ” dated March 11, 2009 written by Iqra Khalid of Mississauga (the article can be viewed <here>).
The Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA) thanks Iqra Khalid for bringing the awareness of Halal to the general public by means of the article. However, we would like to point out the following:

Fair Journalism

What Is Considered Extreme?

Machine Slaughter

Technology

HMA Standards

Bruno’s Meat Supplier and Sargent Farms

Media Contact:
Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA of CCMT)
Spokespersons: Shaykh Omar Subedar 416 917-3760
or Shakh Yusuf Badat 416 402-8542

View the Press Release and the Article in PDF: click here


Full Article / Source

Al Tawakkul (in Bombay Bazar Markham) No Longer HMA

Al Tawakkul (in Bombay Bazar Markham) No Longer HMA (301 Views)
March 8, 2009

HMA CERTIFICATION WITHDRAWN

Please be advised that the below mentioned facility is NO longer HMA certified:

Al Tawakkul Halal Meat
(in Bombay Bazaar, Markham)
7657 Kennedy Road (in Bombay Bazaar)
Markham, Ontario,
L3R 0L7
Tel: 905 940-2082

Kindly be advised that due to non compliance of HMA standards, the HMA certification has accordingly been withdrawn.

EXERCISE CAUTION!

Source

For a list of our certified products and outlets CLICK HERE