Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Loreal Lipsticks Halal or Haram??

Following statement sent from L'Oreal in feb 2009:

Thank you for your recent email,

In regards to animal derived ingredients in our products:
Some of our products may contain derivatives of sheep's wool (LANOLIN - though no animal is sacrificed to obtain this) and some of our products also contain beeswax, honey or silk amino acids, fish products (collagen and oil) and fowl products (eggs and feather keratin). These can all be identified in the ingredients lists on each product. Some of our lipsticks however may contain carmine, which gives it it's red colour from carminic acid which is derived from insects. L'Oréal actively monitors all issues that could lead to questions concerning the safety of its products and the ingredients used in their manufacture. The ingredients are always strictly selected in observance of the legislations in effect, and are safe for consumers based on the most recent scientific knowledge.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any further advice or assistance concerning our products through one of the channels below.


With regards to the above information GMWA website had the following remarks..

Last Updated: 14/04/2009

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Carmine in lipsticks is not permissible.

The use of carmine in lipsticks, more commonly known as C.I. 75470 in the cosmetic industry is impermissible. This is because there is the risk of licking the lips or somehow swallowing the carmine.

"Carmine (IPA: /ˈkɑːmɪn, ˈkɑrmaɪn, -miːn/), also called Crimson Lake, Cochineal, Natural Red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright red color obtained from the carminic acid produced by some scale insects, such as the cochineal and the Polish cochineal, and is used as a general term for a particularly deep red color. Carmine is used in the manufacture of artificial flowers, paints, rouge, yogurt, cosmetics, food additives, and crimson ink."

Carmine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crimson_lake

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk


Source

Ferrero Rocher 2009-2010 (Halal or Haram?)

Halal:


TIC TAC SPEARMINT Halal
TIC TAC EXTRA STRONG Halal
TIC TAC MINT Halal








Halal (because of)
GMWA Ruling on Alocoholic Flavorings):


FERRERO ROCHER Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER SURPRISE Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER MAXI SURPRISE (Easter egg) Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER CHOCOLATE 12.5g Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER MAXI 21g Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER BUENO Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER BUENO WHITE Halal (alcohol flavorings)








Halal (because of):
a) GMWA Ruling on Alocoholic Flavorings
b) Calf Rennet permissible in Hanafi Fiqh


Ferrero Collection box -
including Ferrero Rocher Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
RAFFAELLO Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
GIOTTO Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER HAPPY HIPPO Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
NUTELLA Halal* (alcohol flavorings)


* calf rennet








Haram:


TIC TAC LIME/ORANGE Haram (E120)
TIC TAC ORANGE Haram (E120)
MON CHERI Haram (Added Alcohol)