Thursday, April 9, 2009

Fuze Drinks Halal / Haram?

FUZE HEALTHY INFUSIONS

FUZE Healthy Infusions brand of drinks are distributed through coca cola in Canada...


Fuze is available in these following flavors (maybe not all of these are available in Canada)


Fuze Banana Strawberry, Banana Vanilla, Fuze Blackberry, Fuze Blackberry Blueberry Grape, Fuze Blackberry Raspberry, Fuze Cranberry Raspberry, Fuze Dragon fruit, Fuze Fruit Punch, Fuze Mango Orange, Fuze Melon Strawberry, Fuze Peach Mango, Fuze Strawberry, Fuze Tangerine and Fuze Tropical Fruit Punch.

HALAL / HARAM??
I have called the number listed on the product label for Fuze drinks (1-800-208-2653). The customer service rep checked and informed me that the only animal based product used in these drinks (some of them) is milk. The drink I was asking in particular about was "Fuze refresh Banana Colada".

The rep on further inquiry informed that the rest (other then banana colada) of the drinks dont contain any other animal products either and that there is no alcohol being used.

If anyone else has any other information to add to this (or any other post) don't hesitate to comment on this post.

Jazak Allah khair

Eat halal

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

E-numbers (Preservatives Halal / haram?)

Enumber Description Status


E200 Sorbic Acid Preservative Halal
E201 Soduim Sorbate Preservative Halal
E202 Potassium Sorbate Preservative Halal
E203 Calcium Sorbate Preservative Halal
E210 Benzoic Acid Preservative Halal
E211 Sodium Benzoate Preservative Halal
E212 Potassium Benzoate Preservative Halal
E220 Sulphur Dioxide Preservative Halal
E221 Sodium Sulphite Preservative Halal
E222 Sodium Hydrogen Sulphite Preservative Halal
E223 Sodium Metabisulphite Preservative Halal
E224 Potassium Metabisulphite Preservative Halal
E226 Calcium Sulphite Preservative Halal
E239 Hexamine Preservative - other Halal
E249 Potassium Nitrate Preservative Halal
E250 Sodium Nitrite Preservative Halal
E251 Sodium Nitrate Preservative Halal
E252 PotassiumNitrate(Saltpetre) Preservative Halal



E230 Biphenyl / Diphenyl Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent


E231 2-Hydroxybiphenyl Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent


E232 Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl Oxide Preservative

Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent


E233 2-(Thiazol-4-yl) Benzimidazole Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent


E214 Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E216 Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E217 Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E218 Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E219 Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E227 Calcium Hydrogen Sulphite Preservative
Halal, if calcium is obtained from mineral or chemicals. Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.

E213 Calcium Benzoate Preservative
Halal, if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.

E215 Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate,
Sodium Salt Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

e Number haram / halal list for Colours

E-Number Name/Description Halal Status



E171 Titanium Dioxide Color - Inorganic Halal
E172 Iron Oxides and Hydroxides Color - Inorganic Halal
E173 Aluminium Color - Inorganic Halal
E174 Silver Color - Inorganic Halal
E175 Gold Color - Inorganic Halal
E160b Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin Color - Carotene Halal
E150(a-d) Caramel Color/with chemicals Color Halal



E102 Tartrazine Color Mushbooh
E104 Quinoline Yellow Color Mushbooh
E110 Sunset Yellow FCF /Orange Yellow S Color Mushbooh
E122 Carmoisine / Azorubine Color Mushbooh
E123 Amaranth Color Mushbooh
E124 Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A Color Mushbooh
E127 Erythrosine BS Color Mushbooh
E131 Patent Blue V Color Mushbooh
E151 Black PN / Brilliant Black BN Color Mushbooh
E153 Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal) Color Mushbooh
E160a Alpha, Beta, Gamma Color – Carotene Mushbooh
E160c Capsanthin / Capsorbin Color- Carotene Mushbooh
E160d Lycopene Color – Carotene Mushbooh
E161a Flavoxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161c Cryptoxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161d Rubixanthin Color Mushbooh
E161e Violaxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161f Rhodoxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161g Canthaxanthin Color Mushbooh
E162 Beetroot Red / Betanin Color Mushbooh
E163 Anthocyanins Color Mushbooh
E180 Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK Color - Inorganic Mushbooh



*Mushbooh = Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal














E100 Curcumin/Turmeric Color
Halal if pure grind turmeric powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, the solvents has to be Halal. Haram if hidden ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix.



E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) Color
Mushbooh (Haram if from pork liver & Kidney, Halal if 100% plant material



E132 Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color
Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haram



E141 Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color
Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent



E142 Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Color
Halals if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal



E160e Beta-apo-8-carotenal Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier



E160f Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8- cartonoic acid Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier



E161b Lutein Color
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form



E170 Calcium Carbonate (Chalk) Color - Inorganic
Halal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal

Oreo Cookies Halal? (email UPDATE)

IsItHaram.com

to me
show details 9:42 PM (16 hours ago)

We saw that someone had posted a comment on your blog, in response to your reposting of a portion of SPOTLIGHT HALAL: OREO COOKIES. "Anonymous" said that Lowfat Oreos were 'haram'. We believe that his comment is because low-fat Oreos in the U.S. contain glycerin. Glycerin allows Oreos to reduce the fat content of the cookie, while maintaining the 'fat feel' on the eater's tongue.

We looked into it further, and found that the Reduced Fat version of Oreos are certified kosher by the Orthodox Union, which means that the glycerin is not pork-derived. In addition, currently, glycerin is allowed in food imported into Saudi Arabia.

Hope this helps.

--IsItHaram.com


This email is from the people at IsItHaram.com and is pretty selfexplanatory... referring to the following article.. Click here

Saturday, April 4, 2009

FRITO LAY CANADA (LAYS CHIPS) SEASONED PRODUCTS MADE WITHOUT PORCINE (PORK) ENZYMES

Products Made and Distributed in Canada

Last Update 09/29/2008






BAKED! CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavoured Snacks

CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavoured Snacks

CHEETOS® Puffs Cheese Flavoured Snacks

DORITOS® Bold BBQ Flavoured Tortilla Chips

DORITOS® Cool Ranch Flavoured Tortilla Chips

DORITOS® Sweet Chili Heat! Flavoured Tortilla Chips

FRITOS® BBQ Flavoured Corn Chips

LAY'S® Bar-B-Que Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Dill Pickle Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Fries & Gravy Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Ketchup Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Old Fashioned BBQ Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Roast Chicken Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Salt & Vinegar Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Sea Salt & Pepper Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Smokey Bacon Flavoured Potato Chips (artificial bacon flavor)

LAY'S® Sour Cream & Onion Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY'S® Spicy Curry Flavoured Potato Chips

LAY’S® STAX® BBQ Flavoured Potato Crisps

LAY'S® STAX® Cheddar Flavoured Potato Crisps

LAY'S® STAX® Original Potato Crisps

LAY’S® STAX® Ranch Flavoured Potato Crisps

LAY’S® STAX® Salt & Vinegar Flavoured Potato Crisps

LAY’S® STAX® Sour Cream & Onion Flavoured Potato Crisp

LAY'S® Wavy Old Fashioned BBQ Flavoured Potato Chips

RUFFLES® All Dressed Flavoured Potato Chips

RUFFLES® BBQ Flavoured Potato Chips

RUFFLES® Sour Cream & Bacon Flavoured Potato Chips (artificial bacon flavor)

RUFFLES® Sour Cream & Onion Flavoured Potato Chips

SMARTFOOD® White Cheddar Cheese Flavoured Popcorn

SUNCHIPS® French Onion Flavour Multi-Grain Snacks

SUNCHIPS® Garden Salsa Flavour Multi-Grain Snacks

TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style with a Hint of Lime Flavoured Tortilla Chips

TOSTITOS® Spinach Flavoured Dip


Information contained in this document should be copied or reproduced in its entirety.


We make every effort to maintain this list to the best of our knowledge. All Frito Lay products are labeled accurately with the most current ingredient information. Ingredients and their components are subject to change at any time. We maintain this list to assist our customers in making snack choices. If you need assistance, please contact Frito Lay Canada Consumer Response Centre toll-free at 1-800-376-2257 Monday through Friday between 10:00 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. Eastern Standard Time.