Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Ferrero Rocher 2009-2010 (Halal or Haram?)

Halal:


TIC TAC SPEARMINT Halal
TIC TAC EXTRA STRONG Halal
TIC TAC MINT Halal








Halal (because of)
GMWA Ruling on Alocoholic Flavorings):


FERRERO ROCHER Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER SURPRISE Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER MAXI SURPRISE (Easter egg) Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER CHOCOLATE 12.5g Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER MAXI 21g Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER BUENO Halal (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER BUENO WHITE Halal (alcohol flavorings)








Halal (because of):
a) GMWA Ruling on Alocoholic Flavorings
b) Calf Rennet permissible in Hanafi Fiqh


Ferrero Collection box -
including Ferrero Rocher Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
RAFFAELLO Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
GIOTTO Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
KINDER HAPPY HIPPO Halal* (alcohol flavorings)
NUTELLA Halal* (alcohol flavorings)


* calf rennet








Haram:


TIC TAC LIME/ORANGE Haram (E120)
TIC TAC ORANGE Haram (E120)
MON CHERI Haram (Added Alcohol)


4 comments:

malaysian muslim said...

ferrero rocher i think is haram. Not because of the alcohol flavouring but because of the whey powder that it contains. refer:

http://www.angelfire.com/ma4/mcch/docs/halal.html

Anonymous said...

I'm not a Muslim, but it seems that different Islamic scholars have different opinions on whey powder. Some scholars believe that calf rennet (used in the making of cheese and whey powder) is halal (because it is not "dead"), while others believe it should be considered haram for purposes of consumption (because it might be contaminated with moisture from the stomach of an animal). In that case its halal/haram status is approximately equivalent to that of cheese.

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

In any case it seems that the whey powder used in Ferrero Rocher is not derived from pork products - they use calf rennet, not pig rennet. So it is not "definitely haram".

Anonymous said...

I'm a Muslim, but it seems that different Islamic scholars have different opinions on whey powder. Some scholars believe that calf rennet (used in the making of cheese and whey powder) is halal (because it is not "dead"), while others believe it should be considered haram for purposes of consumption (because it might be contaminated with moisture from the stomach of an animal). In that case its halal/haram status is approximately equivalent to that of cheese.

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

In any case it seems that the whey powder used in Ferrero Rocher is not derived from pork products - they use calf rennet, not pig rennet. So it is not "definitely haram".

nash-Wa said...

For Muslims, Pig is absolutely Haram.

But in case of cattle/cow/chicken, they turn out to be Halal or Haram.
If they are being slaughtered, then they would become Halal.
But if they are not slaughtered, they would become Haram.

Post a Comment