Tuesday, April 7, 2009

e Number haram / halal list for Colours

E-Number Name/Description Halal Status



E171 Titanium Dioxide Color - Inorganic Halal
E172 Iron Oxides and Hydroxides Color - Inorganic Halal
E173 Aluminium Color - Inorganic Halal
E174 Silver Color - Inorganic Halal
E175 Gold Color - Inorganic Halal
E160b Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin Color - Carotene Halal
E150(a-d) Caramel Color/with chemicals Color Halal



E102 Tartrazine Color Mushbooh
E104 Quinoline Yellow Color Mushbooh
E110 Sunset Yellow FCF /Orange Yellow S Color Mushbooh
E122 Carmoisine / Azorubine Color Mushbooh
E123 Amaranth Color Mushbooh
E124 Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A Color Mushbooh
E127 Erythrosine BS Color Mushbooh
E131 Patent Blue V Color Mushbooh
E151 Black PN / Brilliant Black BN Color Mushbooh
E153 Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal) Color Mushbooh
E160a Alpha, Beta, Gamma Color – Carotene Mushbooh
E160c Capsanthin / Capsorbin Color- Carotene Mushbooh
E160d Lycopene Color – Carotene Mushbooh
E161a Flavoxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161c Cryptoxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161d Rubixanthin Color Mushbooh
E161e Violaxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161f Rhodoxanthin Color Mushbooh
E161g Canthaxanthin Color Mushbooh
E162 Beetroot Red / Betanin Color Mushbooh
E163 Anthocyanins Color Mushbooh
E180 Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK Color - Inorganic Mushbooh



*Mushbooh = Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal














E100 Curcumin/Turmeric Color
Halal if pure grind turmeric powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, the solvents has to be Halal. Haram if hidden ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix.



E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) Color
Mushbooh (Haram if from pork liver & Kidney, Halal if 100% plant material



E132 Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color
Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haram



E141 Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color
Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent



E142 Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Color
Halals if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal



E160e Beta-apo-8-carotenal Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier



E160f Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8- cartonoic acid Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier



E161b Lutein Color
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form



E170 Calcium Carbonate (Chalk) Color - Inorganic
Halal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

E120 is also haram. From a type of insect. Red colouring.

Post a Comment