Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Imaginary Kosher Certification

I've always been a promoter of not believing in any Kosher (or any other non muslim certification whatsoever). Its ironic when the people that really care about what's going in their stomach will not trust most "Halal" certifications, but will without any investigation believe a product is ok to consume just because some Kosher agency is "supposed" to have certified it.

The theory of jews not mixing milk with meat is not as black and white as most people would believe and have you believe.. This is the reply i got from a Rabbi recently..

MY QUESTION:

Question: I was wondering if it is possible in any way shape or form...
for a product to have meat.. (any part of an animal) in a product whilst
having some dairy ingredients in it also... and.. still be labelled Kosher..


Im asking this because I read this article at www.kashrut.org..
http://www.kashrut.com/articles/DryBones/

(scroll down to the 9th paragraph where it talks about \"kolatin\" and it
being permissible with dairy products)..


Rabbi XYZ of Bckosher.org's answer:

Hello,
Your question actually deals with some complex areas of Jewish law.
Basically most products may not contain Dairy and meat derivates.
There are very few exceptions when the meat derivate loses its meat status
due to the manufacturing processes.
Yours,
Rabbi xyz



so the "exceptions" are there... so you will be eating haram... VERY VERY few times.... very very satisfying indeed...

and if that wasn't it...

amongst other Halal/kosher related problems... here is another one...

this article is from http://www.ener-g.com/


Imaginary Kosher Certification or How to Tell Who’s Who
Rabbi Yosef Wikler, Kashrus Magazine (March 2007)

Imaginary Hashgachos There are so many kosher certifications now being used by kosher-certified companies that the consumer has already been imagining them into being. Take the following as an example.

There is any obviously Russian product for sale that bears a “K” inside a Q. This does not have the same appearance as Rabbi Aryeh Spero’s Quality Kosher symbol (a Chof inside a Q). Still, it has a “K”. Perhaps that means kosher, or so goes the logic, but not the fact.

Imported stouts, both flavored and unflavored, have been spotted displaying an “OK”. They do not have a “K” in the circle, but rather they hae an “O” next to a “K” with a plus sign following. But it says “OK+”; so isn’t that okay?

No, it is not “OK”-certified.
Full article here

wake up people... !!

Sunday, June 15, 2008

kosher gelatin from BEEF... ALLOWEd with MILK!!

Meat and Milk cannot be mixed according to Kosher rules?? THINK AGAIN!!..

With such important needs to be met, several companies have recently developed Kosher gelatins that meet the rigorous requirements of virtually all authorities. One company has developed a product called Kolatin� - a beef gelatin made from Glatt Kosher beef hides, which was the process that was originally approved for Kosher gelatin production forty years ago.

The only Halachik concern with such a product would be its Pareve status, an issue that was indeed dealt with at that time. Rav Moshe Feinstein ruled that clean hides from Kosher animals are not considered meat as regards the rules of Basar B'Chalav M'Doraissa (on a Biblical level). Therefore, if they are processed in such a way as to render them essentially tasteless - as is the case with gelatin - the product is considered Pareve. Rav Aharon Kotler, while disagreeing with this concept, nevertheless allowed its use in milk where it constitutes less than 1/60 of the product (similar to the Halacha of using Kosher animal rennet to make cheese). The Bais Din of the Agudas Yisroel in Yerushalayim also ruled that such material would be considered Pareve. The only practical problem with the product is that its production is tedious and therefore more costly than conventional gelatin. First, only part of the production in a Kosher slaughterhouse is indeed Kosher - some animals are Treifa (having damaged internal organs) and others are not slaughtered properly (Neveila), both of which are not Kosher. As such, hides from Glatt Kosher animals must be monitored and segregated for gelatin production. Second, the hides must be soaked and salted ("Kashered") to remove blood, just as all Kosher meat is processed. Third, the hides used in conventional gelatin production are generally the trimmings and other by-products of the leather industry, which can be purchased at heavy discounts; Kosher hides are prime material and must be purchased at full price. Fourth, the equipment used to produce Kosher gelatin must be completely Kashered from their normal non-Kosher production, a time-consuming and expensive process. In addition, the entire process must be supervised. Nevertheless, Kolatin is used to make true gelatin deserts and real marshmallows, both of which are available with a reliable Kosher certification under the Elyon label.


Source: www.kashrut.com


Libellula & Cissy, I may be able to help.

Torah does prohibit cooking meat with milk, but does not prohibit eating cooked meat with milk.
That was a hedge to protect us from failing Torah.

So beef products mixed with milk products CAN be kosher, if prepaired right.

Source: www.veggieboards.com

Friday, June 13, 2008

Another Coke=Haram article...

The Mujlisul Ulama of South Africa has established beyond any doubt that Coca Cola as well as all other soft drinks contain very small quantities of alcohol. In this fact there is no doubt and the manufacturers of these minerals cannot and do not dispute this claim. Attached hereto are papers which testify to the validity of our claim.Some of our bretheren dispute our stand and not only disagree with our findings, but actively, practically and sarcastically advocate and encourage Muslims to consume these minerals.

While they are entitled to their opinions based on Shar'i proofs if indeed they do possess any such proofs, we must stress that they are not discharging their duty as Ulama-e-Haqq on account of their negligent and childish attitude in this matter. Every Aalim of Truth should be aware of Rasulullah's (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) advice that Muslims should abstain from mushtabah (doubtful) things. A mushtabah thing becomes such not on the basis of one's personal feeling, likes or dislikes. A thing will become mushtabah where there exists valid Shar'i Dalaa-il . When a group or even a single Aalim acting on the basis of valid Shar'i Dalaa-il proclaims an item unlawful, then a valid doubt has been introduced. The item becomes mushtabah and in terms of Rasulullah's (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) exhortation the mu'min should abstain therefrom.

Hence, even those Ulama who claim that Coke is absolutely halaal should not step out of their way to encourage people to consume such minerals.



Read the full article here...

Thursday, June 12, 2008

Wrigleys GUMS

This serves as an update to an article taken from www.eat-halal.com found on this blog..link


From: PR@wrigley.com [mailto:PR@wrigley.com]
Sent: June 12, 2008 2:00 PM
To: Aamir Mehmood
Subject: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000393439A

Dear Aamir,

Thank you for writing requesting information regarding our a Wrigley product. We appreciate your interest in our company and our products.

In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in Canada are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. Glycerin is the most common ingredient in our gum products. Glycerin can come from animal, vegetable or synthetic sources. The glycerin we use comes from vegetable sources only.

At present, the only exceptions are Extra® Polar IceTM, Altoids® mints, Juicy Fruit Twisted Green, Lifesavers Gummies, Excel Cool Blast mints and Lifesavers Cremesavers.

Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavour beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. This brand is not to be confused with Excel ® Polar Ice, which does not contain gelatin. Juicy Fruit Twisted Green gum uses shellac (also known as Confectioner's Glaze) as a coating agent.

In addition, the different varieties of our ALTOIDS® mints, Lifesavers Gummies and Excel Cool Blast (liquid-filled) mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mints. When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process. Lifesavers Cremesavers brands use dairy products.

Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin, but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality consumers expect of our products.

Another common question concerns whether glycerin or sugar alcohols are true alcohols or not. Glycerin is an alcohol but this type of alcohol is a natural byproduct of most plants, fruits and vegetables or it sometimes has a synthetic source. Sugar alcohols refers to the group of ingredients that are artificial sweeteners. We would like to point out that these alcohols are NOT the same as the ethyl alcohol found in alcoholic beverages.

Your interest in the Wrigley Company is greatly appreciated, Aamir. We hope this information is helpful to you.

Sincerely,

Angela Brooks
Consumer Affairs Representative

Please do NOT reply to this email. If you would like to respond to this message, click on the link below.

http://www.econsumeraffairs.com/wwj/wrigley/ContactUs









*If mr Aamir or anyone else for that mat
ter has any other updates.. or any other material regarding Halal / Haram status of any product ... please do inform / comment without hesitation..