Monday, May 19, 2008

Haram Soy Sauce (WHY?)

Soya Sauce

There are two kind of soy sauce, one which obtained by fermenting soybean and wheat just like wine and it is called naturally brewed soy sauce containing 2-3% alcohol. The other one is non naturally brewed soy sauce which is obtained without fermentation by blending hydrolyzed soy protein, salt, water, corn surup and sodium benzoate. It is also called all purpose soy sauce.


The naturally brewed soy sauce is made with soybeans, salt and wheat. The soybeans are steeped in water for 16 hours; then the soaked beans are dehulled and cooked. The beans mixed with wheat flour or grit are inoculated with fungi Aspergillus orzyae and incubated for three days with occasional stirring. This is called the Koji stage. The resulting material is mixed with brine. A ferment dominated by yeasts and lactic acid bacteria then develops, this being Mormi stage. After an incubation of one month to three years, a dark salty liquid with a pleasant savory aroma is drained from the fermentation vessel, clarified, pasteurized and packaged for sale. Yeast growth is vigorous during incubation period and the production of carbon dioxide indicates that an alcoholic fermentation is taking place. Typically, a full brewed soy sauce will contain between 1 and 2 % (V/V) ethanol. Due to the presence of 2% alcohol, a spirit duty is imposed on naturally brewed soy sauce in United Kingdom.

There are two kind of soy sauce is available in USA and Canada. One is naturally brewed soy sauce supplied by Kikkoman Company with 1.7% or more alcohol and the other is the acidified hydrolyzed soy protein soy sauce (All purpose Seasoning) by ConAgra's Company under LA Choy brand name. The Kikkoman Soy sauce (made with soybean, wheat and salt) is a haram product due to the presence of 1.7% or more alcohol.
Source
Dont just look at the ingredients... look at the process through which the ingredients themselves are made..

Haram Vegetable Shortening, How is it possible?

Vegetable Shortening can be Haram

Vegetable shortening - Fats and oils of plant origin. As long as the word "pure" or 100% is not used with vegetable shortening, there is no guarantee that animal fats are added to the extent of 5-15%.
Source

* Vegetable or blended vegetable oils can be Haram. Vegetable shortening and margarine's contain emulsifiers again and are described in food as vegetable oil or blended vegetable oils. It is misleading but lawful.

* Vegetable shortening, animal fats and some margarine's are Haram. Animal fats are made by collecting trimming from abattoirs and butcher shops to make fats. As for margarine's, they contain emulsifiers that can be Haram or whey powder made with Haram rennet.
Source

Research research,.... research everthing you eat...