Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Imaginary Kosher Certification

I've always been a promoter of not believing in any Kosher (or any other non muslim certification whatsoever). Its ironic when the people that really care about what's going in their stomach will not trust most "Halal" certifications, but will without any investigation believe a product is ok to consume just because some Kosher agency is "supposed" to have certified it.

The theory of jews not mixing milk with meat is not as black and white as most people would believe and have you believe.. This is the reply i got from a Rabbi recently..

MY QUESTION:

Question: I was wondering if it is possible in any way shape or form...
for a product to have meat.. (any part of an animal) in a product whilst
having some dairy ingredients in it also... and.. still be labelled Kosher..


Im asking this because I read this article at www.kashrut.org..
http://www.kashrut.com/articles/DryBones/

(scroll down to the 9th paragraph where it talks about \"kolatin\" and it
being permissible with dairy products)..


Rabbi XYZ of Bckosher.org's answer:

Hello,
Your question actually deals with some complex areas of Jewish law.
Basically most products may not contain Dairy and meat derivates.
There are very few exceptions when the meat derivate loses its meat status
due to the manufacturing processes.
Yours,
Rabbi xyz



so the "exceptions" are there... so you will be eating haram... VERY VERY few times.... very very satisfying indeed...

and if that wasn't it...

amongst other Halal/kosher related problems... here is another one...

this article is from http://www.ener-g.com/


Imaginary Kosher Certification or How to Tell Who’s Who
Rabbi Yosef Wikler, Kashrus Magazine (March 2007)

Imaginary Hashgachos There are so many kosher certifications now being used by kosher-certified companies that the consumer has already been imagining them into being. Take the following as an example.

There is any obviously Russian product for sale that bears a “K” inside a Q. This does not have the same appearance as Rabbi Aryeh Spero’s Quality Kosher symbol (a Chof inside a Q). Still, it has a “K”. Perhaps that means kosher, or so goes the logic, but not the fact.

Imported stouts, both flavored and unflavored, have been spotted displaying an “OK”. They do not have a “K” in the circle, but rather they hae an “O” next to a “K” with a plus sign following. But it says “OK+”; so isn’t that okay?

No, it is not “OK”-certified.
Full article here

wake up people... !!

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

I'm not sure how eating kosher meat derivatives with dairy products renders something 'haram'?

Anonymous said...

"Imaginary Kosher Certification"

Seems to me that these imaginary kosher certifications are the same as imaginary halal certifications...one should only be aware of which ones to trust and which ones not to trust...however...it is important to note that it is almost unheard of to find kosher certified meat that is not actually kosher...the imaginary certifications are usually found on processed foods...not raw meat.

Post a Comment