Monday, March 17, 2008

Cheesy Problems

how to figure out if cheese is Halal or Haram?

Things which have to be Halal if used during manufacture of cheese:

1) Mother Culture Media
2) Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures)
3) Enzymes such as Lipase
4) Dairy flavors containing Enzymes

If the rennet is microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer’s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.

http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/allalerts.shtml

No comments:

Post a Comment