Saturday, February 23, 2008

L-cysteine in No Name english muffins Haram

(August 4, 2002) An eat-halal.com investigation into No Name english muffins has found that the l-cysteine in the product is from human hair. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and therefore the product should be avoided. L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, feathers (from chickens and ducks) and synthetic materials. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed

loblaw.com
http://www.eat-halal.com/updates/2002.htm

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

why is it haram?

Anonymous said...

Assalaamu alaikum, Here's an Email and response from D'italiano bread company. I was especially worried about their Bread and the use of Sodium Stearoyl-2 Lactylate in them. Have a look

-----------------

This email is to acknowledge that none of our bakeries use any animal bi-products in our bread and rolls. All fats, shortenings and micro ingredients (such as mono/di-glycerides and dough conditioners) are of vegetable source or origin.
You will need to read the ingredient declaration/allergy statement on the bread and rolls and there will be listed whether or not the product contains eggs or milk. Our packaging has a "Precautionary Allergen Warning" which says "may contain... (whatever allergen is present/or not in the product).

Should you have further questions concerning any of our products, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Corporate Compliance Department




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: noreply@ditaliano.ca [mailto:noreply@ditaliano.ca]
Sent: Tuesday, February 09, 2010 3:54 PM
To: Weston Foods Customer Service (WFEC)
Subject: D'Italiano - Contact Us


Date: 2/9/2010 3:53:31 PM

First Name: Aqeeq
Last Name: Ansari
Email: aqeeq@live.com
Regarding: product


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi This is regarding your bread-products, especially your sliced breads and sausage buns. My question is, do they have any animal bi-products in them? My query is especially regarding the inclusion of Sodium Stearoyl-2 Lactylate, which may or may not be derived from animal-origins. Any reply in this regard would be appreciated. Thanks, Aqeeq

--------------

Trusted Creation said...

Wa alaikum as salam..

Jazak Allah khair brother Aqeeq.. Great service to the people when someone checks out the status of a product and shares it with others..

One person cannot check all ingredients and all products... But when only a few people get together on this and start checking ingredients and sharing information like you have done.. it becomes very achievable..

Jazak Allah khair once again.. and any further products ingredients you find out about please share with us..

Post a Comment